We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chocolate cakes and coffee in Nong Khiaw” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delilah's Place

Delilah's Place
On the west side of the river close to the post office and bridge, Nong Khiaw, Laos
+856 20 54 395 686
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Nong Khiaw
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best chocolate cakes and coffee in Nong Khiaw”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stumbled across Delilah's on our first night in Nong Khiaw and had a beautiful slice of chocolate and banana cake with Laos coffee and it was beautiful. Harps, the new owner is a really cool, laid back guy and bakes all of the cakes and bread himself. He seems very passionate about food and his plans for Delilah's cafe and bakery.
We had breakfast there the next morning (the fruit salad with yoghurt, maple syrup and cinnamon is delicious) and slowly drank our tea and coffee's whilst chilling out on the comfy over sized cushions. Delilah's soon became our daily hang out - breakfast in the mornings and cake and coffees in the afternoon. Ask Harps to make you one of his specialties - hot milk with maple syrup; perfect to wash down a coconut and chocolate ball. We also took advantage of the take away menu for our bus journey back to Luang Prabang. Yummy.
A must visit when in Nong Khiaw.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    13
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Huizen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cross the bridge for Great Chocolate Cake!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

If you love homemade chocolate cake, this is the place to go!
Harps is the new owner and a very nice and helpful guy!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New management, great food and service!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

A wonderful place under new management starting out on the right foot. Awesome service from the staff and delicious breakfast. I'd recommend the omelette, it was exquisite!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Exciting things ahead for this little gem across the river.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

On a bike ride around the town we passed Delilah's place and popped in, the owner had just taken over so was not fully up and running in the kitchen at the moment but promised if we came back for breakfast the next day we wouldn't be disappointed and i'm pleased to say the breakfast "fresh fruit, yogurt & muesli" were quite honestly the best and most varied i'd had so far in Laos.

I'd be happy to eat my breakfast here every morning, the muesli i had was 20,000 kip so it was cheaper than most places in Nong Khiaw, it has a different vibe to most of the other places, floor seating, outside seating, large tables for a group or for socialising, tonnes of games to play while you eat and relax but still had that homely feel with the ambient music lightly playing in the background. The owner spoke of his plans for the place all of which sounded great and i'm sad i won't be around to see them come to fruition.

The food is grown from local farms (organic) around the area and sourced from Luang Prabang, I had a great muesli consisting of apple, raisin, pineapple, watermelon, papaya, banana and homemade yogurt with a sprinkle of cinnamon really set this place apart. The coffee also comes in huge glass mugs so it's worth the walk and the money. Go to this place, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place worth the walk across the bridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Run by a great guy who cooks the best omelette and chips (fries) in Asia... Actually double cooks the chips the way they should be done...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delilah's Place also viewed

Nong Khiaw, Luang Prabang Province
Nong Khiaw, Luang Prabang Province
 
Nong Khiaw, Luang Prabang Province
Nong Khiaw, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Delilah's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delilah's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.