We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sabai Sabai

Sabai Sabai
Ban Nong Khiaw village | Mueng Ngoi district, Nong Khiaw, Laos
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 12 Restaurants in Nong Khiaw
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Face au temple du village de Nong Khiaw, un joli restaurant construit tout en matériau naturel qui ne manque vraiment pas de charme surtout le soir avec ses lumières tamisées. Installés sur des coussins autours d'une table basse, ou plus occidental, table haute, nous testerons la cuisine traditionnelle Laotienne comme par exemple le bambou farci au porc, qui laisse un souvenir impérissable, le lapp au poulet envoûtant de saveur, la soupe de potiron au lait de coco et a la citronnelle,  le tout accompagné de riz gluant. Un détail de taille pour l'Asie : serviette de table en tissus ! Ça change du PQ !Aussi le jeune hôte de ces lieux nommé hôme, est d'une grande convivialité et pas avare de conseils de balades aux alentours.Cet établissement propose également des bains de vapeur aux herbes, et des massages Lao totalement décontractants.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not that good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Pro: nice setting in the centre, relaxed music

Cons: our food was not that good, we had a curry that didn't taste like a curry. Staff barely speaks english. Spa was closed :-(

Wouldn't go there again for the food, maybe for a beer...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    5
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic massage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

An hour's massage was included in the waterfall trip booked in the travel agent next door and we didn't really have any expectations of it. But, it has to be one of the best massages I've ever had. It's a proper Lao massage (so not oils if you're from the UK) and because we'd been trekking and kayaking all day, we asked for 'gentle'. Even so it was a rigorous massage of shoulders, arms, legs and head, using her feet against me, even standing on me (she wasn't heavy). It was just what I needed! Excellent

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I was the less fortunate I guess”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely not impressed with the stand in masseur who is probably a family member. It was a disaster. Im certain they have good masseurs and when they are short handed. Any female family member will qualify I guess.
The owner and his son are very friendly and nice. Herbal steam bath seems heavenly too. Just ensure your masseur has a sabai sabai polo tee on and im sure you are in good hands.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good service, tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We like eating in nearby restaurants rather than where we are staying. Trip advisor guided us here, over the bridge and on the right hand side up some steps. There was not a menu outside as there are usually, but we decided to eat there anyway. A quiet waiter to take our order, but the Lao owner delivered our curry and checked that everything was ok. He has excellent English.
Banana pancakes were a hit with the boys.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing and chilled out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This place was so chilled out, set in a beautiful green area near the river, surrounded by spectacular mountain scenery. Hom, the owner, is a great guy and was always had some good stories to tell us! The herbal sauna was also excellent. I ended up staying longer than expected because of this place and hope to return one day.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabai Sabai also viewed

Nong Khiaw, Luang Prabang Province
Nong Khiaw, Luang Prabang Province
 
Nong Khiaw, Luang Prabang Province
Nong Khiaw, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Sabai Sabai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabai Sabai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.