We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded existing reviews. Wonderful, caring hosts.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cowscot House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkby Malzeard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cowscot House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Back Lane, Kirkby Malzeard HG4 3SR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded existing reviews. Wonderful, caring hosts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We were looking for a B&B in the York-Ripon-Fountains Abbey area and chose Cowscot House in Kirkby Malzeard from the complimentary reviews on the B&B websites. It was our experience that this B&B even exceeded those reviews. Cowscot House easily accommodated our large group of eight (8) adult family members, and our en-suite rooms were spotless, very comfortable and well appointed. Hosts Liz and Mike are suc a very caring and helpful couple. We immediately considered them to be our friends. This is an excellent B&B to which we will happily return when visiting Yorkshire.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Myself and my partner booked a weekend away at Cowscot House, we had read other reviews and this formed the basis for our booking. We weren't disappointed, from the moment we set off from home, in a horrific downpour, Liz had texted my partner to let us know the roads were passable with care, this attention to detail epitomised everything we could expect upon arrival.
Liz met us with umbrellas to shield us from the downpour and to show us to our room, we were the only guests staying that weekend and the room was superb. As was the hot drinks and homemade cake we had delivered to our room shortly after unpacking. Nothing was too much for Liz, she was home alone at the time, but took her time to tell us where we could eat, what pubs were in the locality, a fab first night was had in Kirkby Malzeard.
Breakfast the following morning was great, cooked exactly as we asked, Liz also advised us on taxis to take us into Masham as we were visiting the Black Sheep Brewery, she also offered advice as to other things to do in the vicinity.
My partner and I had a great day and afternoon in Masham, and had a fab taxi driver (local from Kirkby Malzeard) to boot.
On our second and final morning, breakfast again was cooked exactly as we requested, and the warmth Liz extended to us both on our departure, is one of the many reasons why we would recommend Cowscot House to anyone. Fantastic stay, fantastic house, fantastic breakfast - wouldn't change a thing!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwynedd
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at Cowscot House as we had a family wedding nearby. I can only agree with all of the previous positive reviews. Very friendly and welcoming hosts, fantastic home-made food, clean and comfortable rooms, lovely surroundings ........the only negative is that we weren't staying for longer!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Liz and Mike made us so welcome and the property could not be faulted. Immaculate room and service and an awesome breakfast. We even bought one of Mikes paintings :-) Kirkby Malzeard is a Great centre to visit more of that beautiful part of Yorkshire. You are only a few miles from the edge of Nidderdale.
Fountains abbey is just down the road ( a whole day out) and Brimham rocks is well worth the visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Cowscott House is just an outstanding B&B with a lovely immaculate room, delightful, helpful and welcoming hosts, and a gorgeous breakfast with home made everything!

What else is there to say to get to the minimum 200 words? just book now

We will be back as soon as we can

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We arrived on a sunny afternoon, follow the directions on the web site which will get you there perfectly as opposed to the Sat nav! The hosts were lovely, offering us coffee when we arrived. The rooms were spotlessly clean, lovely and comfy, with added extras such as the home made biscuits and fresh milk (hurrah!). We were only there for one night as we were going to see Macbeth at Fountains abbey. The Cowscot is in a beautiful poisiton in the countryside and so very peaceful. And the breakfast was one of the best I have had. The owners happily reversed our cars out into the lane as it was a tricky one! Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have stayed Cowscot House a few times and every time it has been truly wonderful. We took friends with us on this occasion and they loved it all .We always come away thinking how soon can we return and our friends felt just the same. The owners make you feel so welcome and you are greeted with tea and homemade cakes or biscuits. The rooms as always are superb and spotless. Sleep quality is first class and so peaceful. Breakfast are delicious with lots of homemade treats and locally sourced food. Nothing is too much trouble from help in finding places to eat or interesting sites to see. Liz and Mike are wonderful hosts and run an exceptional b & b Thank you so much for a wonderful stay we had a super time kind regards and look forward to returning soon Rita and Graham and Maureen and Martin - Lincolnshire

Room Tip: All rooms superb. Rooms 3 & 4 are outside in courtyard/garden area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cowscot House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowscot House

Address: Back Lane, Kirkby Malzeard HG4 3SR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirkby Malzeard
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Malzeard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cowscot House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cowscot House offers a high standard of accommodation in a sympathetically converted stone barn and stables on the edge of the popular village of Kirkby Malzeard, 6 miles from Ripon. All the en-suite bedrooms are on the ground floor and were refurbished in early 2009 offering light and airy accommodation with many original features. Cowscot House provides an excellent base for touring and exploring the Yorkshire Moors and Dales. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cowscot House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cowscot House to your Saves list