We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible time - twice was not enough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Xotolar

Rancho Xotolar
Camino a Zona Arqueologica, Canada de la Virgen, Municipio de Allende. | Rancho El Xotolar, San Miguel de Allende 37755, Mexico
4151052622
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Horseback Riding Stables, Ranch & Farm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to a Working Ranch "El Xotolar", Experience the wide open spaces of rural Mexico not like a tourist, but as a member of the Morín Ruiz Family on Xotolar Ranch. You will ride through spectacular countryside with breathtaking views and stunning landscapes.Guides Tomás and Felíx Morín share their vast knowledge and skills while keeping your safety in mind.After your ride, enjoy an authentic ranch "comida" (luncheon) of delicious, freshly prepared specialties of Xotolar Ranch along with a cold "cerveza" (beer).We are not a commercial tour company, but family owned and operated. We offer a variety of beautiful scenic rides in the mountains outside of San Miguel de Allende. We are located adjacent to ancient Pre-Hispanic Toltec Pyramids, that you will be able to clearly watch from the distance. We can prove with ID and history, that all the staff that makes the tours are the true native. Activities: Horseback Riding adventures, Ranch and Rodeo Demonstrations, Camping, Sunset and Evening Adventures Rides, Cattle Drives for Experienced riders. Hiking tour at Cañada de la Virgin Pyramid and much more, ASKING!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
“Incredible time - twice was not enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

My family and I feel this is the best reason to visit San Miguel de Allende. Some ranches offer horseback riding in the tranquil flatlands, but Rancho Xolotar is in the gorgeous mountains. I'm allergic to horses, so I went on hikes with Pedro. Excellent time that I'll not forget. Meanwhile, my family rode on trails that provided vistas of the surrounding mountains, deep water-filled canyons. and of SMdA. Everyone there was the friendliest and attentive to our desires and safety. My wife grew up on a Arabian horse ranch in a mountainous region of California and says Xolotar was truly and authentic experience and was thrilled to go there twice. The lunch they served was the best food we had in SMdA, and we got to make the cheese we ate! If it wasn't for the Spanish lessons in SMdA we had committed to, we'd have gone to Xolotar a third time. Hurray and thanks to Tomás and family for a wonderful time.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    6
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Sure footed, extremely well trained horses. Wonderful staff. Half day ride through amazing terrain, down into a canyon and through a tiny village with an ancient chapel. The absolute highlight when my daughter came to visit. Not for the faint of heart, I might suggest.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommend this authentic experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I have twice visited this wonderful ranch for a horse riding adventure. Even inexperienced riders will enjoy this experience. The ranch is owned by the Morin family and visitors are made to feel at home. After a wonderful guided tour on horseback through the hills and fields, an authentic meal is served back at the ranch. Tortillas are made from corn grown on the ranch and cheese is made there too.
Transportation to and from the ranch is included. The experience is suitable for all ages.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xotolarranch, Owner at Rancho Xotolar, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We are happy to know that enjoy our service, we appreciate them coming back to enjoy with us the Ranch and the activities performed. Our food is made ​​especially for you, our visitors and to enjoy this unique style.

Thank you for all your comments and recommendations.

Regards Tomas Morin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mountain Ride & History = AWESOME !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Rancho Xotolar was the PERFECT CHOICE for a day trip! We called & spoke with Tomas, made a plan for the following day. They pick you up, drive you up to the mountain and the horses are waiting! No problem if you are inexperienced as Tomas & family give you detailed, easy instruction and the horses are gentle. Several extra family members ride with the group for safety. The ride is very enjoyable and Tomas is an amazing tour guide as well as "mountain life historian". The natural beauty of the mountain is overwhelming on horseback. There were many little stories along the way. They guys picked up the pace a bit after being assured everyone was confident in their saddles. Tomas was in charge of our camera all day and took amazing pics of us going thru the streams and canyon ledges. We rode for almost 3 hrs since it was just 2 of us! Upon arrival at the family ranch, we were introduced to his family who prepared us a beyone amazing lunch from everything raised, grown and made at the ranch. Got a tour of the main house & grounds. The ranch is a no-electricity and no running water, fully operating ranch and the family strives to keep its authenticity as it was 100 years ago when their grandfather purchased the land. It was a very beautiful day, fabulous ride and a true learning experience. Tomas & family are gracious hosts and enjoy telling visitors about their families heritage. It was worth every penny and I'd do it again when I return!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xotolarranch, Propietario at Rancho Xotolar, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thanks for your comments, we are happy to know that they liked our service were very good students . You did very well all indications to ride.

We encatara view the photos, hopefully can compratirlas us and together we remember the beautiful views and landscapes.

All my family will send a warm greeting !

Tomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I are novice riders but we had a wonderful two hour ride down a steep canyon, along the base of the canyon and then back to the ranch for lunch. We were accompanied by Felix, Rosario and Chema, who were consummate professionals. Beforehand we milked a cow and were shown around the ranch. Lunch was delightful and delicious. Chema gave us lots of interesting bits information about the running of this very self sufficient ranch. Having visited San Miguel before, we were looking for something a bit different to get us out of town. This was a perfect day. I highly recommend a trail ride at Xotolar Ranch.

Liz and Ed Virginia, USA

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xotolarranch, Owner at Rancho Xotolar, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Liz and Ed

Nice to meet you, we enjoyed your company and we are pleased that enjoyed the ride, thanks for your comments and recommendations.
We look forward to seeing you again if you decide to return to San Miguel.

Greetings Morin Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho Xotolar also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Rancho Xotolar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Xotolar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.