We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Otel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added L'Otel to your Saves list
L'Otel
Chiquitos 1A Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico (Formerly Oasis)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great Place to Relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

Great hotel---owner and staff create very relaxing and intimate environment. Although only 4 rooms you never feel like you have to tip toe around---it is like staying at a good friends really great home. Martin-Silvia-Juan and the rest of the staff really make this place. Breakfast is great-huge! Nice that they serve it so late. Breakfast on the rooftop daily with perfect weather was a highlight. Great location -on a quiet street but easy walk to everything. Eat at El Correo--really good and right around corner.
SMA is beautiful and relaxing but we spent the bulk of our time either on the rooftop of the hotel having breakfast or drinks-or in our room with doors open, fireplace on and doors open onto our water wall.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
71
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

Let me preface this by saying I'm very picky about hotels when paying over $300 a night. We stayed in the nomad, which is a beautiful, relaxing room with THE most comfortable bed to rival the four seasons. I'm a 5 hour sleeper and this bed turned me into a 10 hour sleeper. Martin was the best host, had directions for everything, set up our horseback riding and drew us maps for any destination we wanted--he even set up our spa appointments at a local spa where we got two 1.5 hr massages for $95 us dollars total!

amazing place, amazing service. would return in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — the room's decor was very unique, and the bed
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
71ray
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2007

My wife and I just returned from 3 nights at the Oasis based on tripadvisor reviews. The four bedroom hotel is everything you read about on this site. The atmosphere is great and the decor is first class, but what makes this place special is the staff. You feel like you have your own private concierge. We booked the Nomad suite which is worth the extra money if you can reserve it, which may be difficult due to its rising popularity. Don't forget to order a margarita, which are made with fresh squeezed lime juice. Ask for it to be served on the roof top terrace overlooking the Plaza while the sun sets. Thanks Martin, Juan, Sylvia and all the rest of the onsite staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2007

My husband and I wanted a relaxing small hotel in this art-based town where we would be treated as special guests. We found this experience at the Oasis Hotel. There are only four rooms -- all are very spacious with designer touches and art throughout. The hotel staff essentially outnumbers the guests and the owner, who is an American, lives just down the street, so she keeps a careful eye out for a quality experience. She understands what her guests expect in the way of service -- such as warm milk and my husband's favorite cookies waiting in our room on return from dinner. She also organized day trips with informed guides and located a curator who took us on private collection tours and artists' studios. The cook makes the best breakfasts in town which you can eat in the dining room or on the roof deck. The location of the hotel is on a quiet street but easily accessible to restaurants, the market, and all the sights. All in all a great experience and we would gladly return!

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

Let's start with the one, single negative - no A/C. We went in September, so not sure how anyone could have coped in the summer...

Okay, now that's stated, the rest. Simply one of the most beautiful, tranquil, restful boutique hotels on earth. And believe me, I have stayed at many around the world. The rooms are so beautifully appointed, the bathrooms are spacious and the courtyard is a pleasure just to lounge in. The location is great, just off the main square, and the little touches within the hotel make it a real pleasure to stay there. The best things about the hotel are: (a) the staff - so helpful it's crazy; and (b) the breakfast - it's out of this world (especially the fresh juices and Chilequiles).

Overall, I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. It's truly wonderful.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Grande, FL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2007

We loved the Oasis!! The English-speaking staff were wonderful and so very helpful. They went out of their way to make our stay as inviting and comfortable as possible. The hotel is very centrally located; walking distance to everything in town. The full breakfast which is included was terrific - we tried something different each day and it was all delicious. Our beautifully furnished suite was very spacious with a fireplace and separate dressing room. A lovely large bathroom with hairdryer and robes provided, also great soaps and lotions. The rooftop garden has spectacular views of the city and it was a great place to have a margarita and chill! We loved every minute of our stay and would go back in a heartbeat!

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

The Oasis is a wonderful bed & breakfast/hotel - the minute you walk into this perfectly decorated hotel, you feel at home. Each room is unique, spacious and comfortable. The staff is most accommodating, seeing to your every need and the food was excellent.
The proprieter made wonderful restaurant and shopping suggestions, making reservations as needed.
The rooftop garden/patio was a delightful place to have the best margaritas ever!!
The hotel offers all of today's conveniences - computer, internet connections, direct line to US, flat screen TV's, etc.
If you are going to San Miguel, definitely the only place to stay!!

  • Liked — Decor of the hotel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Otel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Otel

Address: Chiquitos 1A Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico (Formerly Oasis)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seductive and mysterious. An address located geographically and emotionally in the heart of San Miguel de Allende. The Suites are luxury-filled spaces and all have charming details everywhere. Limited Edition Experiences are designed to pamper the guest at every moment of the stay: from the gourmet breakfast to the High Tea; with beds in Italian linens, silk coverlets and goose down dovets; as well as exclusive and refined amenities to acompany the hot showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your L'Otel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Otel Hotel San Miguel De Allende
Oasis San Miguel De Allende

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Otel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.