We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cafe de la Mancha

El Cafe de la Mancha
Recreo 21A | Between Hospicio and Terraplen Streets, San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
+52 415 152 7930
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delightful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I noticed this place with just a glimpse through the doorway while walking by and made note to come back and check it out. Funky decor with some comfy patchwork chairs made from pallets. As mentioned in the previous reviews the owner (Paloma is who I met) is lovely with a friendly smile. I only had a panini this time - pleasant and nice presentation - but you can bet I'll be back to try a latte!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice new little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just visited Cafe de la Mancha---and indeed the coffee is great. We're both espresso lovers and the espresso here is very fine, rich, with depth, but not too smoky or burnt-tasting. So far the only food item we have sampled is the panini--- also excellent. The place has a nice vibe, with artwork on display, but it is very small, so be prepared to share space with other clients. The owners are friendly and helpful. And if you're luck, maybe you'll have a chance to meet Huckleberry (Huck), the adorable resident dachshund. This place is definitely worth checking out!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best coffee in San Miguel de Allende”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

If you are looking for excellent coffee (espresso, latte, capuccino, french press, Japanese vacuum, Aeropress, etc,) look no further than Recreo 21A. The owners, Paloma and Christian, are passionate about good coffee and it shows.

Their chai is also excellent and they make some great smoothies. We will try some food soon, but I suspect it will be good as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmville, Virginia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

San Miguel is full of places to eat. On some days it's mind-boggling to contemplate the wide array of different kinds of foods or restaurants to choose from when thinking of your next meal. We found this little place while walking into and out of town, and have enjoyed their food, their coffee, and their very excellent service. The owners are delightful people to visit with as you await your pizza or as they prepare your coffee. Very friendly! And others who stop by to pick up orders or have coffee usually like to join in the conversation with the owners and patrons. The pizza, which is prepared on their homemade thin crust (pan arabe as they call it) is delicious. Try this place some day. It's charming, inexpensive, and we've yet to have anything there we didn't like.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, PA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

This sweet little place has it all if you are near the Jardin. Avoid the touristy places and walk two blocks south on Recreo. There you will find very friendly people, Cristiano and Paloma, with their big smiles, excellent cappucino, and details that make every part beautiful. Cristiano's interest in art (and lots of light coming in from the window) have probably helped make this cafe very attractive in every detail. He also speaks excellent English if you don't speak Spansh. Well worth a trip away from all the centro to discover a spot frequented by Mexicans and foreigners (always a good sign!) They also offer paninis, pizza, brownies, smoothies, and even French press coffee! A very welcome addition to town.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cafe de la Mancha also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to El Cafe de la Mancha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cafe de la Mancha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.