We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Frontera

La Frontera
Stirling Dickinson | Plaza Pueblito Local #7, San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
415 1524265
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Weekly specials along with a Mexican-American Comfort Food menu. Wine, Beer and Margaritas are available. A casual atmosphere with indoor-outdoor seating and game area. Convenient location and lots of parking.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food and price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We just we found this place and we love it! Great lunch, food was fresh and delicious, service was good too. I also like that there was easy parking and we didn't have to go downtown.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    10
    7
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Food and Nice People”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I've been to La Frontera several times now, as I live here in San Miguel. I have never been disappointed and highly recommend it! It's the kind of place that one wants to make into "my neighborhood hang out". The prices are good, Noren, the owner, is a wonderful cook, and yes, it is often comfort food. The mac and cheese is to die for. But don't get the idea that you have to fill up on carbs here, that's not the case...the salads and salmon, the steak...it's all delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Remember the Burito Bistro-she is back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The owner has moved around a bit in SMA, Now she is out of el centro and is aiming at locals to make it work. Same great food in a nice out of the way place. All good!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefontaine, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved Friday Night Tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Just returned from Friday night tacos at La Frontera. Delicious, and very affordable. I tried the fish tacos. Excellent. I tried the shrimp tacos. Excellent, or even better. I have eaten here several times before and have always had delicious food from Noren's kitchen. No disappointments. My favorite was the drowned burrito until I tried the tacos. Now I have two favorites.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Drowned Potato”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I love the Drowned Potato so that's all I've ordered but their specials a great too. My friends had salmon one evening that was excellent. I would rate this restaurant excellent for food. The wine selection could be improved but this is a casual place with emphasis more on the food.

As mentioned, it's a little south of centro tucked away in a small plaza. Any taxi driver will know the Sterling Dickenson location. Try it you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Frontera also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to La Frontera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Frontera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.