We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy, affordable and centrally located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parador San Sebastian

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Miguel de Allende
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parador San Sebastian
Save
You added Parador San Sebastian to your Saves list
Mesones No. 7, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Helsinki
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“cozy, affordable and centrally located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Walked in on Saturday during Pasqua (Easter) and got a twin room for 450 pesos. The following night the room rate fell to 350 pesos. Very cozy hotel with a nice and quiet inner yard. Very friendly staff despite slight language barrier (I really don't speak much Spanish). Location is very central, just a few blocks from where everything is. Well, SMdA is quite small and you could walk every street in the old downtown during one day. Room was clean (and cleaned well every day) simple and nice. Fan system with OFF and 5 different speeds, though my room #17 was located on the lower floor of the inner yard and fan wasn't needed in April. Overall, I would recommend strongly to anyone looking for a walk-in hotel (no reservations possible) with good quality. I did not notice any of the noise mentioned in earlier posts, and this was despite lots and lots of Easter and Semana Santa events going on in the city during my stay.

If they had Wi-Fi access for clients I would give them five stars for the room as well.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    32
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
29
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SMA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Rooms are great, especially those in the older part of the hotel. Service is good too.
They have wonderful roof-top terrace and if you are looking for some peace and good place to read - this is your place.
We like this hotel and stayed there year after year for the past 10 years.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
149 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

Stayed here for one night in a single room with one double bed for 350p. Room was one of the newer ones on the second floor with lots of light. Room was very colourful, although a little small. No TV in room. No Wifi connection. Staff were okay, lady who checked us in was friendly, but then the two people after that were not. We didn't reserve a room, just showed up on a thursday afternoon. Only 1 other guest was staying there during our stay...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
508 reviews 508 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
645 helpful votes 645 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

We had read about the San Sebastian on Trip Advisor and in a guide book and decided to stay here. We read they did not take reservations so it seemed like old time 3rd World travel. We had bussed in to the station and caught the local bus into town. It dropped us off just five minutes away from the San Sebastian at the end of it's run. We were glad also to see that the hotel was only a five minute walk to the very center of town. When you first enter the hotel you are in the most wonderful open courtyard with flowering vegetation and a ton of potted plants that included the second story also. We liked it immediately We looked at two rooms. One was at the back of the hotel where it looked like it consisted of rooms that were added on to the original hotel. Those rooms were exposed to lots of sunlight. The older rooms were a bit darker and we opted for an older room on the main floor. I guess we decided that the older rooms might have more character. A room with one double bed was 350 pesos a night or about $30. A room with two double beds would have been larger at 450 pesos. We intended to stay for two nights for sure and probably three. We paid for two nights right away but did not get a receipt. The next morning a different worker at the front desk inquired if we were staying for a second night and that we needed to pay before noon. We told her that we had already paid for two nights. She refused to believe us and after some discussion she phoned the original worker who had checked us in and discovered that we had indeed paid for two nights. A loss of face for her and she was never friendly after that but later on the original gal was quite nice when she was back on duty. I heard no English there so be prepared to use a bit of Spanish.
Our room was a bit small and included a desk, one chair, and a clothes closet. If you require more room then pay more for a room with two beds. The private bath was fine and very clean. There was always plenty of soap and bottled water on the desk. The room was well lit and there was a light behind the bed which made it easy to read in bed. There was no restaurant or bar but a cooler had some water and soft drinks. The courtyard was very appealing and had lots of chairs on both levels and there was another room with a TV and a bunch of books that had been left behind by other travellers. We did make a book exchange. The hotel was never crowded while we stayed there during midweek and was quite quiet. The roof was an enormous terrace with lots of chairs and room and facilities for a big party and included a barbecue area. The views from the terrace were also nice over the town.
As stated before, you are only a very short walk to the center of town and loads of restaurants, shops, and grand buildings. The very good tourist office was on the main plaza and across from the dramatic cathedral. The wonderful San Miguel library is also a five minute walk. Because of the number of Americans and Canadians who now live in San Miguel it has become an expensive town for hotels and restaurants. The Parador San Sebastian is still at a good price for a comfortable and pretty place to stay. It is not luxurious at all but a good place to stay and we recommend it for budget travel. Get receipt when you pay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina, usa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

I absolutely adore this hotel! Me and two friends stayed a night here for $450 pesos. (around $39 USD) It's very beautiful! You walk into an open air courtyard with big plants and birds chirping! Sunlight spills in everywhere! Our room was towards the back. We had 2 queen beds. The room was big and painted bright yellow, very cheerful. The bathroom was big and hot water and pressure was great. There is a rooftop terrace area, with great views of the city. Only downside is the room was really cold at night! But there are extra blankets in the closet. The hotel is really close to the city center, about a five minute walk, and in a safe area. If I ever go back, I'm def. staying here again!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

The place is easy to find and looks good from the outset. The bathroom in the room was probably the cleanest, brightest and best ventilated bathrooms of any hotel I stayed at in Mexico. The location is great and it has free parking. Awesome.

The only downside is that the staff were thoroughly disinterested in anything and seemed to take it as a personal affront that someone was disturbing their day by wanting to check in, and god forbid you should ask that the door to the garage should get opened to park the car... In fairness, the cleaners were friendly enough.

For the price I would definitely recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

Rooms are very simple, but extremely clean, peaceful and well kept. Very close to the plaza. We enjoyed our stay very much

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador San Sebastian

Address: Mesones No. 7, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Parador San Sebastian Hotel San Miguel De Allende

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador San Sebastian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.