We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real meaning of " Mi casa es su casa"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de la Cuesta

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Miguel de Allende
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de la Cuesta
Save
You added Casa de la Cuesta to your Saves list
Cuesta de San Jose #32, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brazil
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The real meaning of " Mi casa es su casa"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Since we arrived till we leave, all the moments and "vibe" were great! Bill is an excellent hostess, kind and very funny :-)
Breakfast really delicious with the music... by the way im listening now hehe
Few steps away from the food & craft fair/market and also from downtown where every thing happens.
Enjoy and send a hug to Bill!

Room Tip: i got the big one with the terrace and top floor :-) its good for the nights you got home late and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    12
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
200
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Casa de la Cuesta is certainly a unique place in several aspects: decoration, view, style, food (outstanding breakfast) and very importantly hosted by Bill (we did not meet Heidi since she was travelling). In addition, Bill is a serious collector of Mexican masks and has a museum at the back of the main house. You cannot miss his personal tour to the museum - it is an exceptional cultural treat. Bill is a wonderful host and a chat with him was always delightful; we can only imagine his wife Heidi to be the same. Consider that the house requires a few up-hill streets to get there (just a couple, not bad at all), so plan your days wisely. The walk is worthwhile the view once you get there. We stayed at the Colibrí room, with exceptional view, and our kids at the Escondido, well selected so one of my sons could have quite time and space for studying. Our outmost recommendation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Again, won't regurgitate what other reviewers have stated but yes, it's really great. Staying at Casa de la Cuesta is like staying in a museum. Everything here is a very well oiled machine (housekeeping, instructions on how things work, etc.) I've stayed at all different ranges of places in my travels and for the price point this B&B is really great.

We stayed in the San Miguel room which is more like a suite. The other rooms sit a little back off of the road and might be slightly quieter, however, most of these are large single rooms. I really think you can't go wrong staying in an room, as the rooms facing the center courtyard are gorgeous. The San Miguel room is equipped w/ a small kitchenette (no stove) but beautiful glassware for you to enjoy wine from one of the two private patios/decks. Perfect for a peaceful afternoon enjoying the panoramic view of SMA and soaking in the hot Mexican sun.

The views from everywhere in the house are outstanding -- obviously a LOT of thought went into building the house.

As the other reviewers say the breakfasts are incredible. We had breakfast w/ another couple who is going to have their wedding there at Casa de la Cuesta -- yes, it's that beautiful.

Bill also offers complimentary admission to the Mask Museum which is incredible. It is arguably the best museum in all of SMA, right in the back of the B&B! I wish I had gone back to look at it once more.

You really can't go wrong staying here. There is currently a summer promotion going on -- stay 3 nights for the price of 2 - a killer deal.

Room Tip: All rooms are great -- San Miguel and Garden Casita are closer to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I traveled to San Miguel for a personal get away... been dying to go for 15 years. Luckily, I landed at Heidi & Bill's. They are the best at making you feel like family. I ate the best food, (huge, authentic mexican breakfasts) I had while in SMDA... amazing breakfasts that will lasted me until dinner. Bill & Heidi provided lists of things to see and do, great maps and personal recommendations. I really feel like I got to see the best of SMDA. Thanks, guys!!!!

Room Tip: My room, Colibri, had french doors that opened up to an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This was a great B&B, the owners (Bill and Heidi) make you feel at home. Wonderful view, great rooms, and a mask museum all in one place. I recommend Casa de la Cuesta to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

At first I thought this place was a little bit too expensive for my vacation in Mexico but it actually worth every penny. In fact, a stay at Casa de la Cuesta alone almost worth the flight flying to San Miguel. The house is absolutely gorgeous. It is one of the most romantic places that I've ever stayed and therefore, highly recommend for couple. The room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast is big and delicious. Most importantly..the hosts were very friendly and thoughtful.

On the bad side..the bed is hard, the house is not in a good neiborhood and bit of a walk to the main town square (but the taxis are cheap here). However, I still go back to stay here in a heart beat if I was in San Miguel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My friend and I have never felt so welcome, comfortable, and well-fed in a B&B. Heidi is a warm and helpful hostess, the rooms are large and beautifully furnished, and the breakfast is amazing. We loved the museum of masks, beautifully displayed and annotated, as well as the Mexican art displayed throughout the house. This B&B is a national treasure! Carolyn and Homero

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de la Cuesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de la Cuesta

Address: Cuesta de San Jose #32, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warmth of traditional Mexican Colonial architecture, comfortable bedroom suites each with access to outdoor living areas, plus a uniquely personal environment created by Casa de la Cuesta's fine collection of Mexican folk art and crafts. Choose between one of Casa de la Cuesta B&B's six special suites, each with its own artistic folk art theme. Our personal attention and pleasant atmosphere makes Casa de la Cuesta one of San Miguel Allende's favorite destinations. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de la Cuesta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.