We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building and ambience music” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Esquina Mexican Toy Museum

La Esquina Mexican Toy Museum
Nunez 40, San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
01 (415) 1522 602
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Portugal
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful building and ambience music”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The exhibition itself is nothing major but the building is great.
Guess for what they offer it should be free entrance.
Museum shop is overpriced.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    12
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

You don't have to be a kid to thoroughly enjoy this museum. Toys from the past accompanied by fabulous paintings by Soledad Tafolla. Don't forget to go to the roof top for some great picture taking views.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“With or without children, visit the toy museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This unique museum of Mexican toys is definitely worth a visit. Will take less than an hour and modest entry fee. The renovated building is light filled and lovely. A fun museum.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This museum has lots of old kids toys. My brother and I really liked it, but I wish it was bigger so we could have seen more. All in all, it was fun to see what kinds of toys Mexican kids used to play with.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an hour or two in SMA!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The toy museum is a unique find--not every city has one, let alone every city in Mexico, and you'll learn a lot about the Mexican culture just by looking at the toys. This is a fabulous collection--everything from corn husk dolls to hobby horses to a miniature train that winds its way around a glass atrium. I've been to this museum twice, and enjoyed it both times, but would like more information in English (for the history and detail that I don't understand with my not-quite-fluent Spanish). Also I felt a bit uncomfortable being followed by the guards through every room. They weren't smiling. Very much a "don't touch" environment, which is a shame, but I'm sure many of the toys--most of which are displayed behind glass--are quite valuable and easily damaged by handling. I'd suggest to the owner that she hire multi-lingual docents who can really bring the toys alive for guests. But I'd recommend the museum to families with kids, and to anyone interested in toys and in Mexican history. It's all laid out for you here in a delightful way!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Esquina Mexican Toy Museum also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to La Esquina Mexican Toy Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Esquina Mexican Toy Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.