We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous apartments but get price in pesos when you book” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mia Suites Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Mia Suites Apartments to your Saves list
Casa Mia Suites Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Correo No. 61 Int 1 Col. Centro CP, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Gorgeous apartments but get price in pesos when you book”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just got back from SMA where we stayed at Casa Mia Suites. This place blew me away with how gorgeous and peaceful it was! Our suite with a king bed was more like an apartment- a little living room, a well-equipped kitchen, and all. There was always someone available at the front desk and they were pretty helpful. Location can't be beat- right down the street from El Jardin.

We only ran into one problem. We booked on priceline in US dollars. Our confirmation said that we would be charged in pesos at the current exchange rate when we arrived. Well they didn't charge us at the current exchange rate. The rate was 12.31 pesos to the dollar, and they multiplied our total by 13. Then charged the 18% city tax based on that total. We tried talking to them about it and they blamed it on priceline. Hmmh. I doubt priceline is telling them what exchange rate to use, when they told me I would be charged at the current rate. At the end of the day it ended up being a $40 usd difference so we let it go. But I would advise anyone wanting to book to book in pesos or pay ahead of time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

San Miguel is the most beautiful city in Mexico, and you must rest in a place no less than the city's beauty. Casa Mia is located at walking distance from the heart of the city, the cathedral. It's a newly renovated hotel, boutique style, with enormous amount of details. I loved it. Also, it is quiet at night and the rooms are fully equipped with a full size bedroom, a separate kitchen and also a living room. I paid $124 for the room which is San Miguel de Allende could be considered very cheap. They do not serve meals, but why would you eat at the hotel when you have dozens of great restaurants within a mile radius?

Room Tip: chose on of the junior suites, although I believe all of them are junior suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a party of 7 couples, stayed for a week. The place is nice and well situated and without the thefts worth a 4.

As we checked in and asked for a safe, the receptionist told that they do not have any in the rooms, but there is no reason to worry, the place is safe.
However, mid week we noticed that 2 x 50 USD was missing. I was also missing euro's, but not sure abt the amount. The following day my husband noticed that an additional 2 x 20 USD was missing. I had hidden my euro's to a different place and as a consequence, the side pocket of my carry on luggage (where the money was on Wednesday) was completely emptied, with the whole contents spread around in my luggage - quite an unpleasant feeling !
Also other members of our group were missing money, one for sure 50EUR taken from a side pocket of her luggage and a couple of others having the unpleasant feelign that some money was missing, but not sure.
The manager agreed, after long telephone discussions, to reinburse 60 USD (my husband declared in his excitement only 120 USD as missing) . For my missing euros it was more difficult to ask for compensation, because I was not sure how much was missing, my estimation is between 40 and 120 EUR.
So be careful with your money - personally I got a bit of a bad aftertaste and will probably not go again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We are staying here for one month during Easter, and this place is the perfect balance between being close to everything that is going on, while still being quiet and peaceful. The staff is first rate and really friendly and helpful. As others have said the units are very charming which makes it seem like you have your own home right here in paradise. What I like most about Casa Mia is that they keep everything in great condition and pay attention to the details (while many places in Mexico don't). The people running this place take great pride in what they are doing and it shows.

The patio on the roof is absolutely one of the best in all of San Miguel and is filled with nice comfortable furniture (but I do wish they would get a couple of lounge chairs so you could stretch out and soak up the sun). It is especially nice at night as you can see many of the churches lit up, including a great view of the main cathedral.

If you are staying long term it is nice to know that they have good kitchens, laundry facilities, and a TV satellite system with lots of English and Spanish channels.

Room Tip: A view room is usually very important to us but with the great rooftop patio it isn't important...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The nine days we spent at Casa Mia were special. Our suite was on the courtyard level and had everything we needed. The living area was comfortable for reading, and the entire unit was decorated in Mexican style. The staff was very helpful and went out of their way to make our stay memorable.The location was great. It was a short downhill walk to the Jardin, and taxis were easy to find to take us back uphill after our excursions. There were bakeries and restaurants in the immediate vicinity. And the best part was the rooftop terrace, with a view looking over San Miguel. Sunsets there were stunning!

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so those with limited mobility should chose a room at the courtyard level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

San Miguel is a wonderful small town, with nice people and full of good restaurants, amazing stores and interesting museums.
We were 3 families with kids and finding Casa Mia was a succcess. We were all day long visiting every point of interest -on foot of course- so by the end of the day, the kids where exhausted. Casa Mia is 3 blocks away from downtown, every room has a full kitchen with dining and living room and face the central patio that has a nice table, 2 fountains and a barbecue. So we had very nice evenings with the kids comfortably sleeping in their beds and adults enjoying some drinks (La Europea is a very well provided liquor store -2 blocks away) and we even broiled some nice arracheras bought with the local butcher (that's optional of course :) ).

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice and well decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights during the week (Monday and Tuesday night). Hotel is within walking distance from town center, making this a very good location. Very beautiful and peaceful hotel. Rooms were super clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Mia Suites Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mia Suites Apartments

Address: Correo No. 61 Int 1 Col. Centro CP, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Specialty Lodging in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Mia Suites Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Mia in San Miguel de Allende, Mexico is conveniently located close to the city center and other major tourist spots. Each room it offers is fitted with terrace, private toilet and bath with toiletries, living room, and fully equipped kitchen. Some of its amenities are high-speed Internet access, car rental, currency exchange, and laundry/dry cleaning. While staying here you can visit some tourist spots like Angela Peralta Theater, Casa Allende Museum, and Juarez Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Casa Mia Suites Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Mia Suites Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.