We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, great food everytime from a great chef” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Contento

Cafe Contento
Hernandez Macias #72, Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
+52 415 154 8020
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Description: Cafe Contento is a Mexican Bistro serving simple modern food in a sophisticated but casual environment. Service is friendly and personal. Food is competitively priced and offers great value. The cafe is a daily destination for our customers.In addition to the restaurant, Cafe Contento has store that carries artisanal Mexican products.Cafe Contento offers on-site event services for birthdays, weddings, business meetings and other special occasions. We also offer off-site services for those who want the Cafe Contento touch at their home or business.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wow, great food everytime from a great chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Once we tried Cafe Contento we were hooked. It is now a favorite for us. Each dish is well balanced and beautifully presented for a reasonable price, in a great outdoor environment.

We were able to chat with the owner, Douglas, and the chef, Chef Bossuet, while enjoying our mole, sopas, and coffee. As former executive chef for former Mexican President Vicente Fox, Chef Bossuet knows how to please the pallet, and Douglas is a really friendly guy with a long history in Mexico and a love of food

We have tried at least 10 different things on the menu, and all are excellent. Try the mole (brought in from Oaxaca), the quiche poblano, and the sopes with chorizo and egg

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    15
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Revisited and disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Must be a recently new change of hands at this once popular spot.
New menu
New servers

I find this place to be overpriced
The menu is uninspired
The bread is, well, much like eating a boogie board. And what a shame since one of the best bakeries in town is just behind the restaurant. Serving a basket of their bread would make all the difference in the world.

When you are asked if you would like mas cafe, be prepared to pay for it.

So many other wonderful places to have breakfast in town. You won't find me here again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chefbossuet, Propietario at Cafe Contento, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Andrea Thomas,
We appreciate your comments, and sure if your experience at CC wasn't not the best in your point of view. The menu is a all day menu that many people love!, I would like inform you about the bakery because is not my business, if you desire buy bread go directly to the bakery. And talking about coffee in the menu you find 2 cups of coffee by 25 pesos! we are honest and clear!.
Culinary regards, Chef Bossuet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant place for an outdoor breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Relally about 3.5. Have only tried breakfast there, and the setting is pleasant. Their oatmeal is better than most and their espresso coffees are very good. Good and friendly service, but a tad pricey I think. A nice place to stop if you're in the area (across the street from Bellas Artes).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
2 reviews
“Cuisine de Mexico is here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Yes, Cafe Contento is the place to meet friends, have a good cup of coffee, breakfast, lunch - a place to rest your feet when walking around Centro as you sip one of the traditional flavored waters. However, to participate in one of its very special dinners is to experience the cuisines of Mexico. The owner and chef create incredible meals focusing on various parts of Mexico. Included is the anthropological history of the ingredients, with the meal a delicious example of how those ingredients taste when prepared the correct way. Be sure to ask about these special, reservation only dinners. They are worth every peso and more. San Miguel de Allende is extremely fortunate to have Cafe Contento here. Be sure to ask about the traditional ingredients for sale in the back by the kitchen. I just purchased Oaxacan chocolate with almonds for traditional hot chocolate. (I said I visited in November, but I have been there many times)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende
1 review
“nine-course Guanajuato cuisine dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I really enjoyed the tasting dinner of different traditional dishes from around Guanajuato state at Café Contento a few nights ago. The portions were just right ... each one left me looking forward to the next! The salsa, soups and meat dishes were all very different, and delicious. The highlight was enjoying the ceremonial corn tortillas with purple designs (made with plant-based dyes) made from the personal family molds of the different Otomí women who came to share with us their culture. This dinner was part of a series about different types of foods from around Mexico. In December Café Contento will host posadas with piñatas for the kids and traditional snacks and beverages.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Contento also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Cafe Contento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Contento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.