We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tacos Don Felix "En la Casa"

Tacos Don Felix "En la Casa"
15th Fray Juan de San Miguel St. | Col. San Rafael, San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
cabo
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Its difficult to know where to start! Definitely an authentic Mexican restaurant, family run. Gloria is in the kitchen cooking the most delicious Mexican food we have ever had, Felix is front of house making everyone feel welcome and providing excellent service. We went two days running for lunch on our 4 night stay. When you sit down you are served an 'antojito' of shredded pork in green sauce (out of this world). Drinks are promptly brought and then comes the decision time: what to have!! As it was Independence week-end they had a special of Chile en Nogado and as that's my favourite I ordered it and it was sublime, mild poblano chile stuffed with a mixture of ground beef, fruit and spices (almost middle eastern in flavor) smothered in a creamy walnut sauce and garnished with pomegranate seeds). The rest of the group had Ribs (melt in the mouth), filet with 2 sauces (mushroom and blue cheese), the special enchiladas, Flank Steak, house salad. Everything was perfect. The restaurant is also so pretty! as you enter through the covered courtyard you are greeted by chirping birds, then you enter the main restaurant which is beautifully decorated, colourful and charming. This place is a must!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    26
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Collingswood, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Pefect Authentic Mexican Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Tacos Don Felix is my absolute favorite restaurant in San Miguel. From the lovely atmosphere to the singing canaries in the courtyard by the bubbling fountain to the beautiful paintings and artwork inside the atmosphere is superb.

The cusine is authentic Mexican with upscale steakhouse items and fresh fish. Don Felix and his family operate this gem and you will feel the family's warm embrace the second you walk in the door.

Even if I'm only in town for a week we hit Tacos Don Felix at least twice!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Very good food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I each ordered a garden salad and they were large and excellent, Felix even called for a taxi to pick us up from our hotel and then take us back, anyway back to food we each ordered a margarita and they were really good, my wife ordered the 7taco sampler and she liked them all very much, I ordered the flank steak, enchilada with rice and beans an they were all very good and a nice size portion of the steak, overall the food was excellent as well as the service. Highly advise to check it out in this awesome beautiful town. The restaraunt also has great atmosphere and is beautiful inside.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best food and margaritas in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Family ran restaurant with the best food, drinks and service you will receive. I dined here with several friends and we all ordered different entrees and each were excellent. I highly recommend you try this restaurant and see for yourself.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Highly recommended despite one-time service breakdown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Although we had a bad experience with the service during our last visit, you typically can not miss with Tacos Don Felix. As always, the food was excellent. The ambiance is interesting and the prices are very reasonable. The menu is short, but everything is good.
The service was terrible on our most recent visit (even though the place was empty). We weren't even sure who our waiter was or even if we had one. The main person waiting on us was young and had a severe attitude problem. He does not belong in any business involving the public. Eventually the owner assisted, as did others.
We still highly recommend this restaurant and will write this one episode off as an aberration. We have rated the service based on our past visits.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacos Don Felix "En la Casa" also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Tacos Don Felix "En la Casa"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tacos Don Felix "En la Casa", register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.