We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Matilda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Matilda to your Saves list
Hotel Matilda
Aldama 53, San Miguel de Allende, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have just returned from a weekend visit to San Miguel de Allende. I have been to San Miguel numerous times before, and was looking forward to my first stay at Matilda.

Unfortunately, our visit began with an unpleasant dining experience Friday night. We were seated outdoors right next to a group of about 20 people celebrating with their own music and liquor, which had been set up by the hotel. After suffering through one course, with two different sources of music (this party's as well as the restaurant's) we asked to be moved and asked that the restaurant turn their music off, and our request was accommodated. Upon leaving the restaurant, I noticed that there was an empty table in the main dining area, set up for another large group who arrived just as we left; but we certainly could have been seated at this space. Poor planning on the part of management. Unfortunately, this unpleasant experience set the stage for our weekend stay.

I was staying in a junior suite and it was nothing more than a room with two queen beds and a chair. I have stayed in deluxe rooms, junior suites and suites in hotels both large and small all over the world, and this room was a deluxe room, at best. There was nothing about the room decor which distinguished it from any deluxe room at any reputable hotel chain anywhere in the world. It was clean and the air-conditioner, fortunately (or unfortunately), served as a "white noise" machine, covering up the noise from the restaurant and party below. I would have preferred to have opened the patio windows and had fresh air, but there were no screens and I had been warned about bugs in San Miguel at this time of year.

The continental breakfast, complimentary, was nothing more than juice, coffee and toast. Fruit or cereal or rolls were extra, but fresh and tasty. The other "extra" item was water in the rooms. I spend a lot of time traveling in Mexico, and know not to drink the water from the room faucet. EVERY hotel I have ever stayed at has provided complimentary bottles of water in the room. There were small bottles of water in the room, with an extra charge of US$4.00 per bottle! Upon checkout, I expressed my displeasure to the front desk staff about having to pay for drinking water in the room, and the charge was taken off my bill.

On the positives - this hotel is well situated and the staff are very pleasant and accommodating. The hotel is clean, and common areas are nicely appointed, which I would expect from any hotel of this category.

Unfortunately, overall, the negatives we experienced outweighed the positives, and next visit we will stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Request a room far from the restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Manager at Hotel Matilda, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We were extremely sorry to hear that you weren’t 100% pleased with your recent visit. As you noted, our enthusiastic staff works hard to assure that every guest has a wonderful stay. Fortunately, most do – in fact, just this month U.S. News & World Report named Hotel Matilda to their first-ever list of the “Best Hotels in Mexico.” We hope you’ll consider visiting us again in the future – we’d like you to experience the many reasons why so many of our guests are frequent repeaters.

With best regards,
Bruce James, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    23
    19
    13
    2
See reviews for
25
91
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have been in San Miguel Allende several times, but this time was probably one of the best times. The Hotel , the service , the spa, ........everything was more of what I expected... I really recommend this hotel, the bedrooms are marvelous, quiet, spacious. The Hotel location is just 2 blocks away from downtown. The concierge ( Gustavo) really made everything much better, getting in touch with us even before we showed up @ the hotel.....and the Manager ( Bruce ) is the best. Personal attention was more then enough.... Congrats to everyone .

Room Tip: They do have many different types of bedrooms, and all of them are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Manager at Hotel Matilda, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Lytzia: Many frequent visitors to San Miguel are quite surprised to discover Hotel Matilda – certainly, we aren’t a traditional property. In fact, we quite enjoy being a singular oasis of contemporary charm in a colonial city. Afterall, unexpected discoveries are one of travel’s greatest joys. Gustavo and I thank you for the shout out – and look forward with pleasure to seeing you again soon.

With warm regards,
Bruce James, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Behind this wall is a gem of art, architecture and a relaxing ambiance. The entire staff went out of their way to assist in any way possible. Their English was better than my Spanish. The service here was some of the best I've encountered traveling.

The rooms are comfortable, although the standard rooms are small (and I wished for a second chair). There is plenty of storage for your belongings. Bathrooms featured a dual sink and large tub with shower. My husband did opine for better lighting. Everything was kept spotless. We appreciated the in room safe. Since our rooms were away from the bar and pool, we did not experience any noise.

The food at Moxi was excellent, and the breakfast (@ $10 USD) menu was so filled with tempting traditional Mexican dishes that we ate breakfast away only once. In addition to the dinner menu there is a bar menu offering lighter fare.

Time at the spa is a must. I had the best facial ever! We took advantage of the library/lounge and other intimate seating around the property to relax with our books and electronics. We also enjoyed the stunning pool several times. All this is only 2 blocks from La Parroquia.

One of our group became ill. The hotel has a doctor on call and in a short period of time he arrived, made an exam, and wrote several prescriptions. A member of the hotel staff went to the pharmacy, picked up the medicines and charged them to our room. That is a service I'd like at home!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Manager at Hotel Matilda, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We’re so glad you took the time to experience all that Hotel Matilda has to offer. Our intimate spa is a real gem with some of the best therapists and treatments in San Miguel – undoubtedly the reason that Conde Nast Traveler named it to their Hot List. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. Their genuine concern for every guest results in many return visits. We hope you are among them!

With warm regards,
Bruce James, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our romantic three night get-away at the Matilda in the center of San Miguel. We spent a lot of time eating at the excellent restaurant and sitting poolside in the lovely San Miguel sunshine. It was a perfect place to slowly enjoy healthy, tasty meals with good wine and to have long, relaxed conversations with my wife over drinks by the pool.

The location is great as you are a short walk from the center of San Miguel and near many excellent restaurants including La Parada, as well as many bars, galleries, and other cultural attractions.

We enjoyed a great couple massage in the spa, which is truly first class. The hotel also has a gym with good, modern workout equipment that my wife used in the mornings. The hotel offers free Wifi which worked very well in our room and throughout the property making it easy to stay connected.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for luxury and a great cultural experience right in the center of San Miguel. It is the best and newest luxury hotel in town.

Room Tip: We had a room on the lower level, which offered all kinds of amenities, although it did not offer mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Manager at Hotel Matilda, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We’re so glad you enjoyed your escape to San Miguel and Hotel Matilda. As you noted, ours is the only contemporary hotel in town, and our guests appreciate the eclectic art and upbeat ambience, as well as the acclaimed cuisine of Moxi restaurant. Added to the singular charm of San Miguel, it’s an unbeatable combination! Be sure to check our website for upcoming events and activities – we’ll give you many good reasons to return!

With warm regards,
Bruce James, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico city
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Matilda is lovely, but the food we had last night never rose above the level of mediocrity.
Given the prices, we expected more. The agnolotti pasta was especially disappointing. I was told that the chef was new. "Even worse than the last guy," a local foodie told me.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Manager at Hotel Matilda, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest: Given the many accolades that our restaurant and cuisine have received over the last several months, we found your review quite surprising. In fact, just last week the New York Times recommended Moxi especially for foodies, saying, “An international culinary star has landed in San Miguel.” We are careful to balance substance with elegant style at our both our hotel and restaurant, and hope you will consider visiting us again sometime in the future.

With best regards,
Bruce James, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at Matilda during a weekend trip to Mexico City and San Miguel. The front office team was incredibly accommodating, offering directions and a guided tours of local highlights. The architectural design of Matilda is very unique as it reflects a more contemporary style, something less common in this colonial town.

I highly recommend trying one of the signature therapeutic massages before venturing out on the cobblestone lined streets. Matilda features local artwork and hosts private dinners which allow guests to experience this tight knit yet welcoming community from a very unique vantage point. The atmosphere feels as if you are staying at someones private residence rather than just another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Manager at Hotel Matilda, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for recommending Spa Matilda. The signature massages are very popular, and so is our authentic Hammam. Our Spa Apothecary is unique in San Miguel: We create personalized face and body care products by hand-mixing artisanal ingredients, just for you. We hope you’ll return soon to enjoy an indulgent spa weekend!

With warm regards,
Bruce James, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Te hotel is very well located, a few blocks away from everything. You do not need a car for anything. The service was very good, but I do think it is very expensive for what it is. We had the opportunity to dine at the restaurant on Christmas Eve and it was good, the breakfast if you pay the extras you can eat anything and it is very well prepared. The continental breakfast that is included on the room price was good, they bring you fruit, juice, coffee or tea, bread ,butter and homemade jams, I don't think in any other hotel around the world they would give you more than that for a continental breakfast. The rooms are small and clean. They should change the bathrobes to a One size fits all, my husband is big and he could not fit in the bathrobes. We had a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Hotel Matilda, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Lizette: We’re so pleased that you selected Hotel Matilda for your holiday visit. As you said, our central location is ideal, within walking distance of all the charming sites and attractions of San Miguel. In fact, Conde Nast Traveler named San Miguel the #1 city in Mexico in its prestigious 2012 Readers Choice Awards – and named Matilda the #2 hotel in Mexico! We hope you’ll return soon – perhaps for a Spring visit when the Jacaranda trees are in bloom. We’d love to see you again!

With warm regards,

Bruce James, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Matilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matilda

Address: Aldama 53, San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Matilda is a chic and elegant boutique hotel offering a lifestyle-focused guest experience in a cool and contemporary setting. Guests enjoy an award-winning holistic spa with hammam - the only spa in Mexico named to the 2011 Conde Nast Traveler Hot List; Moxi Restaurant by Mexico City culinary superstar Enrique Olvera; gourmet theater featuring dining events with acclaimed artists and famous chefs; a popular lounge known for its creative mixology and vibrant scene; sophisticated and spacious designer rooms and suites; and a sleek, art gallery-like ambiance filled with dramatic and delightful contemporary art. Hotel Matilda opened in September 2010 in the center of historic San Miguel de Allende, the crown jewel of colonial Mexico and an UNESCO World Heritage Site celebrated for its intact 500-year-old Spanish architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Matilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Matilda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.