We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sicilia in Bocca

Sicilia in Bocca
Salida Real a Queretaro # 91, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
+52 415 152 0406
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $13
Cuisines: Italian, Dessert, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Carol Stream, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This place is a little hard to find if you don't know where it is. It is 'up the hill' by the lookout and can be a trek to walk to, but the taxis in San Miguel are a good option if you don't want the exercise. We ate here last year and had a great experience then as well. This time, we went without a reservation on valentine's day and they seated us with a beautiful view none the less. The waitress suggested getting a 1/2 carafe of wine instead of two cups as it would be cheaper and just about as much wine. My husband had the pesto linguine (fabulous!) and i had the ravioli with spinach cream sauce. The raviolis themselves were good, but the sauce lacked garlic for my taste. Delicious garlic bread and tomato/cheese/olives in olive oil is delivered to your table as a pre appetizer and are yummy. The service was good even though our waitress was apparently on her own (on valentine's day!). She was helpful, perky and kind to seat us w/no reservation at a table with a beautiful view. If you want a great view, but don't want to pay Rosewood prices, come here. It's a little more simple, but sometimes simple is perfect.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucerias, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible view and wonderful meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We read the other reviews and were very impressed with the quality of food and of course the best view in San Miguel. We were hoping they were doing something for New Year's Eve with a view for the fireworks but unfortunately they are not. The flank steak and salad were excellent as well as their chocolate mousse, and the house wine was very good. Not a very extensive menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The World
Top Contributor
375 reviews 375 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“We had a very good meal at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Sicilia in Bocca, Salida a Queretaro #91 (Corner of Piedras Chinas), San Miguel de Allende, Gto.,Tel. 415-152-0406. After the rain stopped we drove over to Sicilia in Bocca and parked in the free parking at the Mirador. We had a wonderful meal but we were worried when we arrived. There was a table with 30 people at it that hadn’t ordered yet. The kitchen assured us that they would serve us first (and we didn’t have much choice at that point) so we stayed. We ordered a antipasto for one person and shared it. It was huge and had delicious items. A rolled and stuffed eggplant, an eggplant sautéed in garlic, a slice of pizza, 1 crunchy balls that we have never had before and several other things that we can’t remember. We also had one order of spaghetti with vegetables—eggplant, zucchini, capers and other good ingredients in a tomato sauce. It was very good. We had 3 glasses of the house red wine and we were impressed. We were glad we went. The bill was around M$350 plus tip

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Still Wonderful Value...and the Views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Generous portions and warm welcoming service make this a "can't miss" choice, especially if you are craving southern Italian food at a great price. Before we even ordered our meal, a plate of grilled bread and a plate of tomatoes, cheese and olives arrived. Four of us shared the antipasto plate which was really delicious and more than enough food for all of us to have a taste of everything. (I really liked the grilled zucchini and peppers: very flavourful) Pastas were perfectly al a dente and the meat courses were also good. This food is more rustic and homey in style than places like the elegant Mi Vida, (another Italian favourite in town) but it certainly satisfies the appetite and the pocketbook. And the view is still wonderful. Great place to take first time visitors.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“The most wonderful view of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I came back from this restaurant about an hour ago and I decided to, promptly, write a review before I forget the details. However, first, I need to say that none of my reviews, none at all, has been the result of me having an ulterior motive or interest in any restaurant or any business of any nature in San Miguel, as earlier pointed out by another reviewerin these pages, with the clear acceptance of TripAdvisor, who, to my disappointment, did not even take the time to go through the facts and determine if, effectively, I have financial interests in a restaurant in San Miguel (concretely Vivoli Cafe) or not and simply proceeded to publish the so called "review" without properly evaluating the adversed consequences derived as a direct consequence of the allegations named in the review to the named restaurant and/or myself .

Let me say it very loudly and clearly as I can possibly can: I HAVE NOT ANY INTEREST OF ANY NATURE WHATSOEVER IN ANY RESTAURANT IN SAN MIGUEL AND/OR ANY OTHER BUSINES DIRECTLY OR INDIRECTLY CONNECTED TO ANY RESTAURANT IN SAN MIGUEL DE ALLENDE, MEXICO OR ANY OTHER CITY IN MEXICO OR ANY OTHER COUNTRY. Period.

I look forward for an immediate clarification from TripAdvisor as this organization has, somehow, accepted what another reviewer is saying by immediately publishing a review which they did not take the minimum necessary time to verify in its details and facts and tood it for good, although the content is absolutely false and, evidently, is far to comply with the guidelines of TripAdvisor.

Now, about Sicilia in Boca, let just say that it has the best view in town...by far. No wine list. Just the wine house at a very reasonable price, together with other inexpensive drinks to offer; i. e. margaritas, beers, sangria, etc.

The menu is not extensive and has some good options and, again, the prices are in extreme attractive. I had the Veal Marsala and the waitress was happy to switch the salad as a side dish with pasta and it ended being very good. They have three of four desserts but, for whatever reason, only the chocolate mousse was available tonight and it was very good.

Don't go to this eatery expecting to find high end food. It will be just homemade good preparations within the frame of the most spectacular view of town...and extremely reasonable prices.

PELUCH

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sicilia in Bocca also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Sicilia in Bocca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sicilia in Bocca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.