We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Monet

Cafe Monet
Zacateros 83, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
415 154 8348
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Lake Tahoe
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The perfect place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

To just relax over a cup of coffee...with a hot cinnamon roll...or eggs benedict...or lunch. Very attentive waiters, reasonably priced, good food. What more can you ask for.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    41
    11
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Very reasonable prices -- two people can eat here for what it would cost for one person to eat in most SMA restaurants. All the food was good, nothing special -- an omelet and an egg salad sandwich -- but it was easily as good as a lot of more expensive restaurants provide. Comfortable atmosphere, plenty of room, no one tries to rush you away, service was good. Will definitely visit again because I believe there are some very delicious great deals to be found scattered throughout the eclectic menu.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent - atmosphere, breakfast, lunch, Dinner and Movie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The best Eggs Benedict I have had in Mexico. Lox and bagels, wonderful salads. Dinner and Movie is great value and good movies - well presented. Sometimes they are swamped on Sundays - It is not a fast food place - we are in Mexico the waiters are gracious,- most importanct to me. Wonderful place to meet people

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food & atmosphere @ reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The main attraction here is the antique-filled, cozy atmosphere. It's a great place to hangout for awhile and read over a cup of coffee. I've had breakfast here once and lunch three times. The value is excellent. Most recently I met a couple of friends here for lunch. I had soup, salad with a complimentary basket of sourdough bread and iced tea for around 65 pesos (5 USD). It's centrally located on the south edge of Centro on the cusp of Colonia San Antonio along a bus route and an easy walk from El Jardin. Friends tell me that dinner here is very good, too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Going down hill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Last time visited it was good. Today, a Sunday we arrived at 10 and seated ourselves. Took forever to get service, the food was passable, but the wait and the mistakes with order made the visit such that we will not return. The owner hides in the back, does not do anything to help the staff. They do not take credit cards either.
This could be a good place, but the owner needs to get his act together or before long he will not have a business.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Monet also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Cafe Monet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Monet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.