We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic hotel in the heart of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casaluna Hotel Boutique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casaluna Hotel Boutique to your Saves list
Casaluna Hotel Boutique
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Quebrada #117 - Pila Seca #11 | Historic City Center, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Romantic hotel in the heart of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

This lovely hotel is situated right in the historical centre, yet it is very peaceful. The old hacienda building offers a romantic setting and unique decor, including a huge bathroom. Service is great and includes free wifi. This is a real gem!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente G, Gerente at Casaluna Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for your comments! and your visit!
we look forward to your next stay with us! and are very happy you enjoyed casaluna!

Kind Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    30
    10
    8
    5
See reviews for
15
75
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leon, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We liked the hotel. Yes, it seems a bit rundown and could need a bit of maintenance but it it still has this old Mexican flair which fits to San Miguel. We were lucky, we had a very nice room, with a roof terrace and an unbelievable view of San Miguel including sun set! Impresionante! We did not sleep that well, because the first night the room was extremely hot because the sun had heated up our room during the day and we just found out the next morning how the windows open :-) (they even had mosquito nets)and the second night a couple next door had a big fight and as the hotel/ house is quite old...you could here every single word. But the staff was very very friendly and as the hotel has no own restaurant they offered to go and get us what ever we needed from the super around the corner, drinks, ice etc. Bottled water was free and everyday new in the room. Breakfast was served in the restaurant Bugambilia in the hotel Casa Linda, which is about 5 minutes to walk from the hotel. We didn't mind the little walk in morning and the breakfast was very delicious. We could choose from a variety of warm dishes, and the breakfast included fresh orange juice or fruits, bread with homemade marmalade and coffee, tea or hot chocolate. There also was some live music accompanying, a very nice men with his guitar and a lovely voice. As the mornings are still quite chilly in February and the breakfast was served outside in the Patio it was a bit fresh. To sum up...for us it was a good choice, we had the best room and really enjoyed....although I would probably try something else the next time we go to San Miguel

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs to have enough light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente G, Manager at Casaluna Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your comments we are happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
we look forward to having you back sometime soon!


Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The hotel is in a reasonably good area for access to major points of interest. It has a nice courtyard. The rooms are dated and pretty shabby and parts of the property show deferred maintenance. Since SMA gives one the impression that Mexico has been taken over by the Swiss and turned into an oldfolks home, this is a bit incongruous.
Breakfast is not available on site, but there is coffee. The staff were very pleasant and obliging.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente G, Manager at Casaluna Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your comments casa luna hotel is going through a major remodeling process which will give even more value to our guests

Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, NY
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I would consider this a 2 1/2 star hotel but I guess if you are in San Miguel everything is overpriced but the hotel is not worth more than $65 for the night There was no heat onle an electric one that barely worked I There was old bathroom disgusting shower nothing special at all

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente G, Manager at Casaluna Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest
thank you for your comments.
Casa Luna is going trough a major remodeling process room by room maybe your room has nor gone trough the process yet, but we are making quite an effort to improve the overall guest experience in the hotel.

We appreciate your comments and look forward to your next stay with us!

Kind regards

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tx
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Incredible personnel attitude! that was the most impressive part. Of course that is reflected on the cleanliness, tips for good restaurant and places. The property is really nice and original, cozy charm place, the room was really clean lighten, warm. the sheets, everything, smell so clean. Very good location!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guerras2, Manager at Casaluna Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments!
we are very glad you had a great time in casa luna!!!

we look forward to seeing you again in our hotel!


Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mari51
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights before our wedding and also housed half of our guests at this hotel. The rooms are very basic. We had trouble with the fire place, door locks and bathroom. But all was fixed immediately by the staff. Breakfast is included, but its at a sister hotel about 5 blocks away (Casa Linda) However, this hotel, is in the heart of downtown and in a very nice location, so we didn't mind walking there in the mornings to get breakfast. We bought sweet bread for our guests in the morning and they loved it. The coffee is great! The place is gorgeous, our guests were very impressed. And the staff was extremely accomodating and patient. We had people arriving at all times, with canceled flights, some had other demands, and they were always very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guerras2, Manager at Casaluna Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We are very glad our staff was friendly and helpful and that you and your guests enjoyed casa luna!

we look forward to seeing you again in our hotel!

Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations. The staff was friendly and attentive consistently.
The hotel is beautiful with many areas to sit outdoors and enjoy the calm. Photos on their site are accurate. Our room and hotel, in general, were meticulous. Located close to the central plaza but far enough away so night time revelers were not disturbing. The urbane manager speaks English fluently and gave us lots of useful advice. We looked forward to coming back here at the end of the day. Do not hesitate about this place.

Room Tip: There are a couple of rooms with access to a rooftop area. Had I known about that, would have asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guerras2, General Manager at Casaluna Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for staying at casaluna hotel boutique we are delighted you had a great time with us! we really appreciate your comments and really look forward to your next stay with us!

Kind regards!

CasaLuna General Manager & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casaluna Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casaluna Hotel Boutique

Address: Quebrada #117 - Pila Seca #11 | Historic City Center, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casaluna Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated "one of the world's best unknown hotels" by Travel & Leisure Magazine. Nestled in the mountains four hours from Mexico City, lies the quaint village of San Miguel de Allende, a Spanish-colonial jewel and designated historic monument by the Mexican government. With narrow cobblestone streets, colorful markets and fiestas, numerous shops, galleries and fine restaurants, San Miguel is a favorite destination for artists, writers and discriminating world travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Casaluna Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel San Miguel De Allende

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casaluna Hotel Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.