We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada to your Saves list
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hospicio 35 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Cusco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

What a great experience! Feels like you are living in someone's lavish home. Staff was superb. Location great. Great romantic getaway. Jose Luis at the Blue Bar is the best. Can't say enough. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    46
    12
    19
    4
See reviews for
54
187
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Beautiful historic hotel in a great location. Everything was great, the only downside was the lack of good quality toiletries in the bathroom and due to it being a period property the shower wasn't very powerful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I have stayed in four Orient Express hotels now, and I don't know how long this one has been owned by them. The rooms probably need a little more updating; the bedding was great and the bathroom worked, but the shower had weak water pressure and some corners of the property were a teeny bit tired. But overall, this is a fine Orient Express property and we had a great two days right in the heart of SMA but not on a crowded square. We walked everywhere, had great support from the staff who walked us to several private homes when we couldn't find them, and the food was very good. Would feel lucky to have the opportunity to stay here again. By the way, ask for Room 352, one of two behind the main dining area in a private ground floor patio. That is, unless you are asking for the Presidential Suite with its rooftop terrace overlooking the City!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I can not say enough good things about this hotel. It was amazing. Everything about it- not one single complaint. The food, the service, the room, the views, everything. We stayed in building 44- they have several buildings around town- we went in the one down by the park but did not see any of the others but I would imagine they were just as pretty. We were very centrally located which was nice. Our room had a deck with a view of the city which was unbelievable. I highly recommend this hotel- we went and visited several other hotels in the area which were highly ranked - all were nice but none had the authentic feel of Mexico like Casa de Sierra Nevada. We will definitely be back!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlawn
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Each time we visit San Miguel, we always stop at the Blue Bar located in the Sierra Nevada Hotel. We love the atmosphere, decor and the comfortable couch seating. But the main reason we come is because of the friendliness, yet professionalism, of Jose Luis!!! He is efficient, friendly, and a superb mixologist! My husband, who especially liked a certain type of peanut snack that Jose always served us (complimentary) asked Jose about them. Jose explained that they were Japanese peanuts and told us where we could find them in the city. Unfortunately, despite great effort, we were unable to find them. Jose surprised us by taking the time to purchase the peanuts for us on his "off" time!!! This is just one example of how Jose goes above and beyond! Whenever you want to relax with a refreshing soft drink, glass of wine or cocktail, in an inviting atmosphere, stop by the Blue Bar and ask for Jose!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there over Christmas and loved it.
+service was outstanding. Had an incident at the hotel and hotel manager was extremely professional, resourceful and understanding
+place is really beautiful and location perfect. Rooms are big, the junior suite was huge and really cute with our own jacuzzi. Really liked it

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Seven days and a delightful experience. Extraordinary staff and excellent restaurant. We had a great suite which was very spacious and comfortable. Probably need to choose rooms carefully, as the hotel is spread out among a few buildings on a busy, narrow, street.
This hotel compares, on a small scale, with some of the Oberoi hotels we've stayed at in India.

Room Tip: Probably don't want to be on the street. Beware of the church bells in the early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada

Address: Hospicio 35 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Business Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#2 Spa Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada 4.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa De Sierra Nevada is a mixture of 16th to 18th century Spanish colonial buildings, located one and one-half blocks from the cathedral and main city square of San Miguel de Allende. Its 37 rooms and suites are spread amongst six colonial mansions.Each casona, or mansion, which features five to seven guest rooms or suites, is unique. Many feature outdoor courtyards with fountains, small gardens and al fresco corridors. Guests do not have the feeling of being in a hotel at all. Rather, they are integrated into the town itself, making for a true cultural immersion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Belmond, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Sierra Nevada By Orient-Express Hotel San Miguel De Allende
Hotel Casa De Sierra Nevada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.