We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our 6 nights!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosewood San Miguel de Allende

Save Saved
You added Rosewood San Miguel de Allende to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rosewood San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Nemesio Diez 11, Colonia Centro, San Miguel de Allende, Mexico   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now
Vancouver Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“We loved our 6 nights!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We would not normally have chosen a luxury hotel for a 6 night stay, but it was our first visit to SMA, and we wanted to treat and pamper ourselves. We don't regret it in the least.

We wanted a rooftop deck room, and we were given room 302. The room was enormous, and so was the deck. We spent every morning on the deck in the beautiful morning sun, drinking coffee and reading. Almost everything about the room was heavenly, except for a couple of problems. The room was also dead quiet - no nearby construction noise, no maids talking outside the door, no sound bleed for adjacent rooms, no elevator noise.

The gas fire kept going out after a few seconds, however after a call downstairs, workmen were at our door in a matter of minutes. It took a couple of repair attempts, but the guys fixed the problem. The lack of hot water problem never was rectified, but the hotel's response was just as immediate. The head of maintenance was at the door in minutes, and for a refreshing change at a hotel, he was upfront and honest with us about the nature of the water situation. He did not BS us as has happened in so many other Mexican resorts. The hotel rather generously compensated us.

We didn't dine at any of the restaurant preferring instead to go out. We did have a few drinks on the rooftop bar at sunset. Yes, the drinks are pricey, but the view and the sunset are worth it.

I had a very good deep tissue massage from Cecelia at the spa.

Before we went to SMA, a friend said that we would not get a true Mexican experience if we stayed at The Rosewood. Know what? I'm glad we didn't have a true Mexican experience. Many have been anything but happy at other Mexican hotels, particularly those on the Mayan Riviera. At those we have had noise, theft, rudeness, poor service, dishonesty and indifference. At the Rosewood, we had none of the above!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    36
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
45
116
7
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at the Rosewood Hotel in San Miguel for an over the top Mexican wedding, and the location, landscape, people and fabulous room did not disappoint. An oasis nestled within a beautiful, and well preserved colonial town that is meant for relaxation and dreamy afternoons on the plaza.

A big shout out to Mark Faigen, Griffin Travel, who always finds the best hotels and out of the way places.

Room Tip: A ground floor room with a patio overlooking the beautifully landscaped grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I am just finishing up a week long visit to San Miguel. My husband's company had a meeting and invited the spouses to attend. Some of us were concerned about traveling to Mexico, but after visiting San Miguel de Allende, I have forever changed my opinion on central Mexico. I'm sure that there are definitely places that you should not go, but this is not one of them. And if you are visiting San Miguel and are planning a special occasion and have the funds, you will never be disappointed in the Rosewood. Not only is it a beautiful hotel, but the staff is top notch and I have never experienced such a wonderful staff at any resort I have visited. Also, the Sense spa is not to be missed. I had a phenomenal facial that I'm sure I will not experience anywhere else, but also a pedicure that I will never forget. Reclining chairs and lavender scented neck wraps is sure to put you in the ultimate state of relaxation. I am leaving today reluctantly, but I do hope to return some day to this fabulous hotel, and a jewel of a city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We booked private cooking classes at the Rosewood on a Tuesday for a Thursday class. They said that they would teach us to prepare any dish we chose so I asked if we could learn to prepare Chillies en Nogada. even though it was not the season for this dish, Chef Alex made the necessary arrangements to meet our request. We were treated to an outdoor kitchen experience that was unforgettable. Chef Alex was wonderful and full of energy. After preparing the food a special table had been set up for us to sit and enjoy our meal. What a wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here before but this four night stay at the Rosewood San Miguel de Allende was our best yet. We were in room 223 on the east side of the hotel with a view of gardens and neighboring residences. Although it is a basic room it easily surpasses what one gets at other hotels. Their beds are extremely comfortable with great pillows and linens. There is plenty of space, including a spacious furnished balcony. And, especially important in San Miguel, the room was wonderfully quiet--no traffic noise, no neighbor noise, only an occasional church bell.
The staff are all very charming and engaging. We had breakfast twice at the hotel, which was wonderful both times and includes American and Mexican selections.
We had just come from a Four Seasons hotel in Texas, which although nice it was striking how better appointed and better staffed this hotel was to that. Based on this stay I think the Rosewood reputation is deserved.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the rosewood for a week. The rooms are beautiful and very large. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were extra large. All of the rooms have a balcony with nice views. The pool area was gorgeous and not crowded. They have a rooftop lounge with a spectacular view of the city. The only complaint would be the prices of food and drinks at the hotel. They were as expensive as a top tier hotel in the US, which is contrary to the food and drink prices throughout San Miguel. Perhaps that is why the restaurant never seemed very full (when we walked by)
The staff was very friendly and very attentive. I would definitely stay here the next time I'm in San Miguel. It is an easy walk into the centro and well worth the price if the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I spent a long weekend with my wife at this beautiful hotel.

The room itself was well appointed and very large. The design was pleasing and the fireplace was an added bonus when the temperature dropped at night. The staff was all very friendly and most spoke English very well. The food was great and fairly reasonable for a resort. The only thing that kept this resort from receiving the highest rating from me is that, at times, the dining room seemed to be unorganized or understaffed. This wasn't such a big deal, since we were on vacation and really didn't have anywhere to be most of the time. Be patient and enjoy this very peaceful getaway.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosewood San Miguel de Allende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood San Miguel de Allende

Address: Nemesio Diez 11, Colonia Centro, San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#2 Business Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#3 Family Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood San Miguel de Allende 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Rosewood San Miguel de Allende reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood San Miguel De Allende Hotel San Miguel De Allende

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosewood San Miguel de Allende, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.