We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Muy Delicioso!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vivoli Cafe and Trattoria

Vivoli Cafe and Trattoria
7994 Sunset Blvd | Centro, C.p., San Miguel de Allende 90046, Mexico
323.656.5050
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Muy Delicioso!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I can't think of a more pleasant place to eat than Vivoli -- my dad (a restaruant owner) always used to say that you can tell how good a restaurant is by how good the bread is. In that case Vivoli Cafe is the best restaurant in the world! For a real treat ask for a Margarita prepared by Alex -- he has a real gift!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    45
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Mostly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Chicken dish we had here was good, but the pasta was overcooked and the sauce lacked the acidity it needed. Service and ambience are good. The pizza had a good reputation but we did not have it this visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“When a break from Mexican food calls....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Wandering the streets of SMA we stopped for lunch on Monday the day after Easter. The looked inviting with a courtyard or tables inside. We chose the window table inside. It was a little too hot. Typical menu for an Italian trattoria. Since stopped only for lunch we chose a pizza and tomato & mozzarella salad to share. After living in Chicago for 27 years I'm surprised we chose a pizza but the thin crust couldn't have been better. There was not many diners on our visit but again it was at noon the day after Easter so I cannot tell you if it get's bustling or not but I can say that the two tables next to us were local's (American"s). Our host and waiter were both friendly and served our needs as you would expect.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Mass.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food and cozy ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

When you need a change from Mexican food in San Miguel, the Vivoli Cafe can be a good choice. We ate on the covered courtyard and were pleased with the service and the food. The nightly special at 199 pesos is hard to beat.....everything cooked well although the pasta was a bit undersalted. Otherwise, we thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience and thought it was a very good value for the money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The cafe is split between a room and covered courtyard making for a very pleasant dining experience. The staff are very friendly and attentive. The menu prices are reasonable and the food is uniquely presented and very tasty. The beer and mixed drinks list is solid with good prices. The washrooms are clean! The cafe t is also conveniently located to the Zocalo without being in its crush of humanity. We would return to this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vivoli Cafe and Trattoria also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Vivoli Cafe and Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivoli Cafe and Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.