We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place for a magical trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Frida B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa Frida B&B to your Saves list
Casa Frida B&B
Cuesta de Loreto 24, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A perfect place for a magical trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Casa Frida is an excellent choice to stay and enjoy San Miguel. The place is really nice, comfortable, clean, just lovely; with an amazing view of this wonderful city. Also the staff is always able to help you, they're the best. And the breakfast is delicious, very healthy and complete!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    21
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
61
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Excellent place to enjoy San Miguel. Nice, quiet, clean and comfortable rooms makes you feel like you are in home.
Staff is excellent Luis, Vane & Don Honorio will be always able to help you, very nice and friendly!!!
Good breakfast.
You need to be in a good shape if you walk downtown.

We loved it!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

We had the privilege of staying at Casa Frida last spring. They truly made our vacation the best. Staff were friendly and helpful, our room - and the entire inn - was spotless and comfortable. Really beautiful. A short walk (took a bit of energy as there were steep hills) to downtown. If you don't feel like walking it's a 4 or 5 minute cab ride. Honestly, when we go back to San Miguel we will definitely stay at Casa Frida again. And, I will tell everyone who asks (or doesn't) to stay there as well. Really a perfect setting. A+

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Calm and clean place ,comfortable rooms and nice interiors, about 10 min from downtown(walking) , cheap rates per night, thanks to Luis and Honorio !!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

We found Casa Frida on the internet searching for B&B's in San Miguel. The photos looked lovely and overall the accomodations were okay. We stayed in the Klimt Suite which was large with a nice boveda ceiling. The staff were as friendly and helpful as they could be, but speak very little English, and we speak very little Spanish, so it was a bit difficult to communicate.

The B&B is located at the top of a steep hill with a very narrow road. That's how you get the great views, but one needs to be in good shape if you are planning on walking anywhere.

It was chilly in San Miguel when we visited but the room had a gas heater. We were concerned about leaving the heater on when we were not there (and overnight) because it made such a loud noise and there was an open flame.

When we booked we saw a US dollar rate on the website. However, when we went to pay, we converted the USD rate to pesos at the going rate and were told that the peso rate was more than that. It wasn't alot of money to pay extra and we did, but would recommend that you confirm the rate in advance if you are paying in pesos.

There is a nice garden area and terraces with views of San Miguel. The high speed internet in the room worked well.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Just stayed past weekend at Casa Frida and were surprised to find this small lovely B&B that is very affordable, provides excellent service and very nice decorated and large room (specially the suite we got for under $100). Great location, great view from the top terrace and the staff is very helpful and friendly. Highly recommended and a great alternative to the large despersonalized hotels.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Casa Frida B&B is a real treat ! Great location , quiet and cozy in beautiful settings .
Francois, the owner and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful .The view from the rooftop terrace is spectacular .We had a great time and look forward to another visit .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Frida B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Frida B&B

Address: Cuesta de Loreto 24, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the beautiful city of San Miguel de Allende, Casa Frida B&B welcomes you. The colonial-style mansion with a touch of "Art Nouveau" has 1 suite and 4 rooms. At Casa Frida B&B you'll find a pleasant and laid back ambiance that invites imagination and fantasy; moments with Frida Kalho and the European masters Klimt, Matisse, Mucha, Toulouse-Lautrec and Van Gogh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Frida B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Frida B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.