We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOT CHOCOLATE LOVERS THIS IS PERFECT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Augustin Chocolates & Churros

San Augustin Chocolates & Churros
21 San Francisco, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
415-154-9102
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“HOT CHOCOLATE LOVERS THIS IS PERFECT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This place has several varieties of wonderful hot chocolate . With each cup of chocolate you get churros which are long sticks of sweet doughnut pastry. It is a fabulous place on a winter's day. I also noticed plates of salad and food which will tempt me back for a meal later. The atmoshere
is cosy and comfortable.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    62
    61
    15
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Became a mythic stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

It is small and crowdy but good places are always crowdy. So stop complaining and get in the line because it is worth it. You actually have the choice of waiting for a table, be at "the bar", or have some churros to go. I recommend going there to have a chocolate or capuccino with a churro. You can have churros filled, or "nature". The basic churro is 3pesos the piece, so forget your diet for a moment and enjoy a place created for you by a mexican actress.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Just because she's a movie star doesn't mean it is great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The menu is limited, very crowded tables, packed with tourists on the weekends. Visitors only go there because the owner is famous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Nightcap with Children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Visited this churreria many times. One of the best was late on a rainy night when the streets had cleared and there was no line to get in. The family all had chocolates and the churros were fresh. My favorite is the Espanol, which is thick, rich, and less sweet. The rest of the family likes the Mexicano, sweeter and with cinnamon. We enjoyed our warm dessert in a cozy sanctuary from the rain. I also came here for a quick espresso early in the morning. One day we had lunch as well. I recommend the puntos de res -- muy sabroso! This eatery is busy and can get crowded but is worth a visit. Go late at night. They close at 11. Or try early in the morning.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“More Hype Than What It Actually Is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

It's very popular because of it location and you even have to cue in order to get in. However the food is mediocre to say the least and the service is not very attentive. There are much better places to have breakfast or eat in San Miguel.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Augustin Chocolates & Churros also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to San Augustin Chocolates & Churros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Augustin Chocolates & Churros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.