We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt a bit rushed ordering” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Finestra

La Finestra
Canal 21, San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
(415) 152-8093
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Lincoln, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Felt a bit rushed ordering”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

No smiles, no chit chat, just get down to business to take your order. The place seemed relaxing. On the board was the chef's suggestion, which had 4 items. One would think right away that everything was included but apparently you just choose one. I felt rushed and pressured to choose. I don't know what it was, maybe the demeanor. Not very friendly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    26
    8
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Enter at your own risk!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stopped in for coffee and was walked through the retail shop to the lovely outdoor courtyard. I was seated alone at a table for 4. In addition to the garden plants and flowers, they had these huge ceramic urns around the tables in the garden. Getting up from the table after paying my check, my handbag brushed the topside of one of them - they were empty and unbalanced - it rolled over, cracked and broke. The price tag was over $200 USD! The owner told me I had to pay for it, that it was one of a kind and he was giving me "a good deal" on it, even if it was now in many pieces! I left, in tears, much poorer! Very, very unhappy with this scam. I swear this was a set up. No honest cafe owner would position an empty "ancient" urn 2 feet from a cafe table where it could be easily bumped. Beware! That coffee may be wayyyy more expensive that you think!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Dissappointing for a high ranking TA restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Let's be fair here... there is nothing wrong with this place per se, all I'm saying is that this place is average at best, nothing to write home about (I had a salad, ravioli and a limonada... meh...) and with so many other options in town, I really don't think I'll be coming back.
I checked it out because of the positive reviews on TripAdvisor, ranking in the top 20 and all... not sure it belongs in that category -- sorry I don't mean no disrespect

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in centro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Tucked in away from a major street, facing a lovely elongated patio you'll find La Finestra, a charming glassed-in cafe with a pleasant and relaxed bistro vibe. There's a rack of magazines in Spanish and English, inviting one to stay awhile and enjoy the atmosphere, whether it be for sweet bite with a good cup of coffee or something more substantial. We've not yet been disappointed in a meal here. Pastas are good and reasonably priced (we've sampled the arrabiata pasta, veggie and meat lasagnes, all tasty) and crepes are well-prepared and delicious. The vino tinto de la casa is inexpensive and quite good. Be sure to leave room for the gelato: It comes in many yummy flavors such as cardamom, coconut and mango. The chocolate gelato is delightful and not terribly sweet, a nice surprise! Service is friendly, efficient and unobtrusive. We've found it to be great place for a light and delicious meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“lovely lunch . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Excellent service and very good food - we enjoyed a wonderful lentil soup and other dishes including an apple strudel for dessert. Also good coffee/espresso. Will return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Finestra also viewed

Minatitlan, Veracruz
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
Coatzacoalcos, Veracruz
 

Been to La Finestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Finestra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.