We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting food!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of El Palacio Chino

El Palacio Chino
Mesones 57, San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
(415) 154-5360
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disgusting food!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Completely disgusting food!!! The kitchen has the septic tank top, can imagine how unhealthy this is? I do not understand why Mexico's health authorities (SSA) do not monitor these restaurants, and as SSA allowed to open a restaurant that has a septic tank in the kitchen! PLUS, the attitude of the waiters is terrible!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Liars and really bad Chinese foold”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was visiting San Miguel and wanted a change of menu, so I tried Palacio Chino. At the entry they have advertised "Now in San Miguel de Allende" and referenced their association with China Palace in Pittsburgh, which is a top rated and award winning Chinese Restaurant, which I had frequented and was happy to see that they somehow expanded to Mexico. The courtyard dining was lovely and surrounded by very interesting galleries (not owned by Palacio Chino). I was expecting world class Chinese cuisine and they brought me rancid oil rice, some odd creation of sweet and sour, and just generally inedible food. When I returned to New York where I currently live, I contacted China Palace in Pittsburgh to complain, and what a surprise, they have never heard of Palacio Chino, have no association with them, and were very bewildered as to why Palacio Chino is claiming to be associated. In the end, these people are liars and have no business running a restaurant, and less business trying to steal the success of a well deserved restaurant who shares nothing more than a similar name.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“horrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Nothing good to say about this restaurant, wish I had never tried it

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morelia, Mexico
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“An Oasis in Centro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I love this place. I'm not passing any judgments on how authentic this Chinese food may or may not be, but I do know that it's consistently well above the mark. I've probably eaten several dozen times here, and I've never come away disappointed. The location is just right, the atmosphere cheerful and comfortably, and the service outstanding. It's head and shoulders over most eateries in the Centro Historico.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very few customers, but surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

As a Chinese girl, I was ACHING to eat something that reminded me of home--especially after five months in San Miguel de Allende without eating good Chinese food. El Palacio Chino is not as good as at home, but it hit the spot, and the food is very tasty. I wish the fried rice had more ingredients in it, but the muscles with garlic and chili appetizer was really good, and I enjoyed the Chicken mushu lettuce wrap

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Palacio Chino also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to El Palacio Chino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Palacio Chino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.