We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in Centro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Palacio Chino

El Palacio Chino
Mesones 57, San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
(415) 154-5360
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Morelia, Mexico
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“An Oasis in Centro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I love this place. I'm not passing any judgments on how authentic this Chinese food may or may not be, but I do know that it's consistently well above the mark. I've probably eaten several dozen times here, and I've never come away disappointed. The location is just right, the atmosphere cheerful and comfortably, and the service outstanding. It's head and shoulders over most eateries in the Centro Historico.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very few customers, but surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

As a Chinese girl, I was ACHING to eat something that reminded me of home--especially after five months in San Miguel de Allende without eating good Chinese food. El Palacio Chino is not as good as at home, but it hit the spot, and the food is very tasty. I wish the fried rice had more ingredients in it, but the muscles with garlic and chili appetizer was really good, and I enjoyed the Chicken mushu lettuce wrap

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The street dogs turned it down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Absolutely a disaster in every way. Six of us ordered take out and returned to our house to enjoy chinese food. As each of us took a bite, we looked at each other, made the obligatory, "OMG THIS IS HORRIBLE" face and all decide to give our lunches to the street dogs, unfortunately, they would not eat it either. Better to go a block and a half up mesones to the two chinese guys who offer real chinese take-out.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san miguel de allende
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“excellent hot and sour soup and combination fried rice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I frequent this restaurant for their take out, consistantly good food and reasonable price, service is ok wish it could be better, one of the best chinese food in San Miguel.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Inedible, a disgrace.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We ordered out on a rainy afernoon to the tune of 450 pesos and were appalled at the poor quality of the food. The brown rice was fried, for some reason, in rancid fat. The egg rolls also tasted somewhat rancid. The eggplant w garlic sauce was tolerable, but not spicy as expressly requested. The steamed pork dumplings were okay, but overcooked and we were afraid to add them to the evil-smelling broth. Chicken w vegetables was boring and greasy. Finally, we tossed the unfortunate fortune cookies, which were way below minimal standards. I am not a food snob, nor am I a regular contributor to Trip Advisor -- in fact, this is my first review. My sense of outrage prompts this report. By contrast, as a regular customer of the friendly folks at the large food cart on Mesones near the Plaza Civica, I can verify that there you will find tasty, fresh food for ONE-FIFTH the cost of this abomination of a "Chinese Palace". Oh, and I asked for a menu that never arrived, which saves me the trouble of wadding it up in dusgust and heaving it in the garbage with the brown rice and egg rolls.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Palacio Chino also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to El Palacio Chino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Palacio Chino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.