We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“go cheap!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chihuahua al Pacifico Railway

Chihuahua al Pacifico Railway
Mexico
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Railroads
Activities: Group tours/train
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: One of the most scenic train trips in the world, it plunges travelers into 85 tunnels and over 37 bridges through Mexico's Copper Canyon.
Missoula, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“go cheap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I took the ride from Los Mochis to Chihuahua and then on to Jaurez in 2003 with a three day layover in Creel that was one of the greatest adventures of my life. I stayed at a Hostel and found them a real treat. Of course I didn't take the tourist train, as usual I traveled the same way the locals do. I spent much of the trip hanging out in the vestibule with the crew drinking and smoking. The trip through the canyon was exciting enough, everything mentioned in these other reviews and more. However the greatest part of my adventure was between Chui and el Paso! There was a series of HUGE thunderstorms and the track was washed out in several places. Not to worry! At each break the crew would jump off with their picks and shovels and tear up rail behind the train and reassemble it in front and away we went! It turned what was supposed to be a 14 hour trip into a two day adventure. We finally met the southbound repair train loaded with rail when we were about an hour and a half south of Jaurez. Would I go first class next time? Not even if I win the lottery!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    20
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“The best ride for spectacular views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is the best way to explore the canyon. I must emphasize start your trip from Los Mochis Sinaloa and make sure you request seats on the right side to get the best views. The price of the ticket is a little price but is the only way you can actually get to see everything. It has a pretty good dining cart, we had the enchiladas verdes with grilled chicken. You must get to the train station real early the train departs on time at 6:00am. It is a long ride so be ready.From Mochis to Posada Barrancas it took approximately 8.5hours from Posada to Creel 2.5 hrs and from Creel to the city of Chihuahua 6.5 hours. Do not expect any luxuries like some of the European trains. This train is pretty basic first class and second class. Overall I had a great time with the Chepe Train it was an experience I will cherish forever!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Saw both sides of the Train - Primera and Touristico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Arrived at the station at 5:45 am to purchase our tickets. Unfortunately, the Touristico train did not run on this day, so we had to purchase a 1st class. (Bit into the budget a little) we purchased a full length ticket - Chihuahua to Los Mochis but were spending a week in Posada. The ticket seller on the day spoke excellent English, which was a great help divided our ticket to indicte wwhat choices we had made, and we were soon on board. The first several hours were nothing much but then we started to get into the scenic sections. Passengers were allowed to stand in the access doorways for photography purposes.
The dining car for us, was over the top, but hey there were many others enjoying themselves. At Posada, we alighted and spent our week. We finished our trip yesterday (Mar 14) re connecting to 1st class at Posada. The train staff were efficient in getting baggage on board and getting customers seated as quickly as possible. they also informed us of when significant bridges, tunnels etcetra were coming up so we could be a little prepared for photos. We thoroughly enjoyed our time on Chepe. Again a small negative was the time the train arrives in Los Mochis . . . It makes for a long day.
Whilst we stayed in Posada we grabbed the opportunity to purchase Touristico seats on a train and went from Posada to El Fuerte, stayed overnight in a little hotel and then caught the train back the next day. We were a little worn out by the end, BUT the views from both ways, at different times of the day caught different mountains at different lights and created very differing Vistas. Our only disappointment with this trip was that we did not get enough time to even see a glimpse of El Fuerte. Touristico was a different ride. Many more locals, which was great to mingle with, and a dining car better suited to our comfort and taste, but in the end we were glad we finished the trip to Los Mochis in Primera.
A fantastic train ride which ever class you take.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent train and staff service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

When we arrived in Chihuahua at the train station we had five seniors and two under 65. The policy for most places in Mexico is proof of age (Mexican Gold Card). Enter "Fernando".....between him and the clerk behind the glass they were excellent. They gave the five seniors the senior discount and were most polite and courteous. The only downside was the Mexican credit card readers are not yet equipped to read "chipped cards" so they initially asked for our secret pin number which of course we would not give out. English barrier but they finally let us into the back room to try the pin code which the machine would not accept so make sure you have cash. I really want to say how professional both Fernando and the clerk were that helped us on Feb 12/2013 as we readied to board the El Chepe railway. The train trip itself is so comfortable and unalarming even though you may be aware that there are armed militia on board the train who try to be as 'unseen' as possible. The seating is comfortable and spacious and the view and scenery is breathtaking. Fernando traveled aboard the train that day and explained in both Spanish and English the various sites and gave us notice of picture taking points. The food on board is good but expensive. The coffee is watered down and awful. This was our second trip aboard El Chepe and touring the Copper Canyon. We had absolutely no problems making reservations, getting on and off where we wanted. The train goes through very remote and wonderful areas of Mexico, the type most tourists wanting "just a beach" may not be looking for. There are excursions and side trips all along the way and the people are gracious and kind. There was nothing about the El Chepe Pacifico Railway that was not the best. If you are a train buff this is a must see and do. We made all our reservations on line without a single problem or glitch. Don't expect to find WIFI or telephones or beaches. This is an amazing trip into remote Mexico where the Tamahura Indians live in caves and small abodes.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“El Chepe - Chihuahua al Pacifico Railway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you enjoy travelling by train this is one journey you must take! We travelled from El Fuerte to Barrancas on the train. As we were part of a tour we had a private carriage. It was very comfortable on board. The windows in the train are large and it is easy to see the views - they are good from both sides but perhaps the views from the right handside are marginally better! What can you say about it when the views change constantly and each seem better than the last? We ate lunch on board. Quite a good meal. The first part of the journey is through lush deciduous tropical tree landscape and finally through pine and evergreen oak as the railway line climbs ever higher. We crossed bridges over beautiful rivers and also went through many tunnels. What a wonderful train journey.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chihuahua al Pacifico Railway also viewed

 
Chihuahua, Chihuahua
 

Been to Chihuahua al Pacifico Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chihuahua al Pacifico Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.