We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Excellent train and staff service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chihuahua al Pacifico Railway

Chihuahua al Pacifico Railway
Mexico
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Railroads
Activities: Group tours/train
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: One of the most scenic train trips in the world, it plunges travelers into 85 tunnels and over 37 bridges through Mexico's Copper Canyon.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent train and staff service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

When we arrived in Chihuahua at the train station we had five seniors and two under 65. The policy for most places in Mexico is proof of age (Mexican Gold Card). Enter "Fernando".....between him and the clerk behind the glass they were excellent. They gave the five seniors the senior discount and were most polite and courteous. The only downside was the Mexican credit card readers are not yet equipped to read "chipped cards" so they initially asked for our secret pin number which of course we would not give out. English barrier but they finally let us into the back room to try the pin code which the machine would not accept so make sure you have cash. I really want to say how professional both Fernando and the clerk were that helped us on Feb 12/2013 as we readied to board the El Chepe railway. The train trip itself is so comfortable and unalarming even though you may be aware that there are armed militia on board the train who try to be as 'unseen' as possible. The seating is comfortable and spacious and the view and scenery is breathtaking. Fernando traveled aboard the train that day and explained in both Spanish and English the various sites and gave us notice of picture taking points. The food on board is good but expensive. The coffee is watered down and awful. This was our second trip aboard El Chepe and touring the Copper Canyon. We had absolutely no problems making reservations, getting on and off where we wanted. The train goes through very remote and wonderful areas of Mexico, the type most tourists wanting "just a beach" may not be looking for. There are excursions and side trips all along the way and the people are gracious and kind. There was nothing about the El Chepe Pacifico Railway that was not the best. If you are a train buff this is a must see and do. We made all our reservations on line without a single problem or glitch. Don't expect to find WIFI or telephones or beaches. This is an amazing trip into remote Mexico where the Tamahura Indians live in caves and small abodes.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    20
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“El Chepe - Chihuahua al Pacifico Railway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you enjoy travelling by train this is one journey you must take! We travelled from El Fuerte to Barrancas on the train. As we were part of a tour we had a private carriage. It was very comfortable on board. The windows in the train are large and it is easy to see the views - they are good from both sides but perhaps the views from the right handside are marginally better! What can you say about it when the views change constantly and each seem better than the last? We ate lunch on board. Quite a good meal. The first part of the journey is through lush deciduous tropical tree landscape and finally through pine and evergreen oak as the railway line climbs ever higher. We crossed bridges over beautiful rivers and also went through many tunnels. What a wonderful train journey.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very very nice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

It definitely surpassed my expectations, which were open to any kind of nature or so, but the whole ride is just impressive, very very nice time no problems at all, very good service on and off board , locals are great, and you get to see lots of different cultural environments and nature is simply fantastic.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“World's most amazing train journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

If only as a feat of engineering, the Los Mochis to Chihuahua train journey is impressive with the train travelling along 405 miles of rails, crossing 36 bridges and going through 87 tunnels. The scenery is spectacular encompassing deep valleys, mountains, forests, sheer drops (not for the faint-hearted if you have the window seat) and waterfalls. The journey takes you from sea-level at Los Mochis to 8,000 ft at Copper Canyon. The train stops a few times en route taking on the locals (adding a colourful flavour to the trip) and food and handicrafts are sold on the platforms.

We stayed in Divisadero, a little town perched on the rim of the canyon with eagles flying outside our bedroom window!

A trip of a lifetime and highly recommended.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A beatiful way to see Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I took the train from Los Mochis to Chihuahua in January 2010. We had an amazing time, the train ride is just beautiful.

We traveled first class and it was a comfortable way to watch the scenery fly by. What beautiful scenery it is too, little towns, lovely rivers, natural vegetation and of course the canyon itself. The train journey is also a great feat of engineering with many large bridges over water, very steep areas and many tunnels through solid rock.

We stayed our first night in Divisadero and the view from our room, right on the edge of the canyon was just breath taking. It's well worth getting up early to watch the sun come up over the canyon! Also some lovely walks from town to explore the canyon. Divisadero is a real gem and it is well worth the time to check it out.

Our second night on the train journey we stayed in Creel, the town itself was fairly small with not too much going on, but we had a lovely car tour through the surrounding area before getting back on the train.

We finished our journey with a couple of nights in Chihuahua and were very presently surprised. Coming from Australia before we only thought of little dogs when thinking of Chihuahua, now with think of a beautiful city with an amazing cathedral, lots of wonderful history and beautiful murals. I am sure we could have found even more delights if we had, had more time!

All in all the Copper Canyon railway journey is a trip I will never forget and would recommended to anyone with an adventurous spirit!

PS. The train is quite a step up to get onto it so heavy suitcases are quite hard to get on and off quickly, packs would be much easier for this!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chihuahua al Pacifico Railway also viewed

 
Chihuahua, Chihuahua
 

Been to Chihuahua al Pacifico Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chihuahua al Pacifico Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.