We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“El Chepe - Chihuahua al Pacifico Railway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chihuahua al Pacifico Railway

Chihuahua al Pacifico Railway
Mexico
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Railroads
Activities: Group tours/train
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: One of the most scenic train trips in the world, it plunges travelers into 85 tunnels and over 37 bridges through Mexico's Copper Canyon.
Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“El Chepe - Chihuahua al Pacifico Railway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you enjoy travelling by train this is one journey you must take! We travelled from El Fuerte to Barrancas on the train. As we were part of a tour we had a private carriage. It was very comfortable on board. The windows in the train are large and it is easy to see the views - they are good from both sides but perhaps the views from the right handside are marginally better! What can you say about it when the views change constantly and each seem better than the last? We ate lunch on board. Quite a good meal. The first part of the journey is through lush deciduous tropical tree landscape and finally through pine and evergreen oak as the railway line climbs ever higher. We crossed bridges over beautiful rivers and also went through many tunnels. What a wonderful train journey.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    20
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very very nice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

It definitely surpassed my expectations, which were open to any kind of nature or so, but the whole ride is just impressive, very very nice time no problems at all, very good service on and off board , locals are great, and you get to see lots of different cultural environments and nature is simply fantastic.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“World's most amazing train journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

If only as a feat of engineering, the Los Mochis to Chihuahua train journey is impressive with the train travelling along 405 miles of rails, crossing 36 bridges and going through 87 tunnels. The scenery is spectacular encompassing deep valleys, mountains, forests, sheer drops (not for the faint-hearted if you have the window seat) and waterfalls. The journey takes you from sea-level at Los Mochis to 8,000 ft at Copper Canyon. The train stops a few times en route taking on the locals (adding a colourful flavour to the trip) and food and handicrafts are sold on the platforms.

We stayed in Divisadero, a little town perched on the rim of the canyon with eagles flying outside our bedroom window!

A trip of a lifetime and highly recommended.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A beatiful way to see Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I took the train from Los Mochis to Chihuahua in January 2010. We had an amazing time, the train ride is just beautiful.

We traveled first class and it was a comfortable way to watch the scenery fly by. What beautiful scenery it is too, little towns, lovely rivers, natural vegetation and of course the canyon itself. The train journey is also a great feat of engineering with many large bridges over water, very steep areas and many tunnels through solid rock.

We stayed our first night in Divisadero and the view from our room, right on the edge of the canyon was just breath taking. It's well worth getting up early to watch the sun come up over the canyon! Also some lovely walks from town to explore the canyon. Divisadero is a real gem and it is well worth the time to check it out.

Our second night on the train journey we stayed in Creel, the town itself was fairly small with not too much going on, but we had a lovely car tour through the surrounding area before getting back on the train.

We finished our journey with a couple of nights in Chihuahua and were very presently surprised. Coming from Australia before we only thought of little dogs when thinking of Chihuahua, now with think of a beautiful city with an amazing cathedral, lots of wonderful history and beautiful murals. I am sure we could have found even more delights if we had, had more time!

All in all the Copper Canyon railway journey is a trip I will never forget and would recommended to anyone with an adventurous spirit!

PS. The train is quite a step up to get onto it so heavy suitcases are quite hard to get on and off quickly, packs would be much easier for this!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A Bucket List Item”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just a superb rail journey. One not to be missed by any train enthusiast. A really wonderful experience but do it from El Fuerte not Las Mochis otherwise you will have to get up really early. There area lots of nice hotels in El Fuerte which is also a great place to visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chihuahua al Pacifico Railway also viewed

 
Chihuahua, Chihuahua
 

Been to Chihuahua al Pacifico Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chihuahua al Pacifico Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.