We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Very very nice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chihuahua al Pacifico Railway

Chihuahua al Pacifico Railway
Mexico
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Railroads, Landmarks
Activities: Group tours/train
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most scenic train trips in the world, it plunges travelers into 85 tunnels and over 37 bridges through Mexico's Copper Canyon.
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very very nice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

It definitely surpassed my expectations, which were open to any kind of nature or so, but the whole ride is just impressive, very very nice time no problems at all, very good service on and off board , locals are great, and you get to see lots of different cultural environments and nature is simply fantastic.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    30
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“World's most amazing train journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

If only as a feat of engineering, the Los Mochis to Chihuahua train journey is impressive with the train travelling along 405 miles of rails, crossing 36 bridges and going through 87 tunnels. The scenery is spectacular encompassing deep valleys, mountains, forests, sheer drops (not for the faint-hearted if you have the window seat) and waterfalls. The journey takes you from sea-level at Los Mochis to 8,000 ft at Copper Canyon. The train stops a few times en route taking on the locals (adding a colourful flavour to the trip) and food and handicrafts are sold on the platforms.

We stayed in Divisadero, a little town perched on the rim of the canyon with eagles flying outside our bedroom window!

A trip of a lifetime and highly recommended.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A beatiful way to see Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I took the train from Los Mochis to Chihuahua in January 2010. We had an amazing time, the train ride is just beautiful.

We traveled first class and it was a comfortable way to watch the scenery fly by. What beautiful scenery it is too, little towns, lovely rivers, natural vegetation and of course the canyon itself. The train journey is also a great feat of engineering with many large bridges over water, very steep areas and many tunnels through solid rock.

We stayed our first night in Divisadero and the view from our room, right on the edge of the canyon was just breath taking. It's well worth getting up early to watch the sun come up over the canyon! Also some lovely walks from town to explore the canyon. Divisadero is a real gem and it is well worth the time to check it out.

Our second night on the train journey we stayed in Creel, the town itself was fairly small with not too much going on, but we had a lovely car tour through the surrounding area before getting back on the train.

We finished our journey with a couple of nights in Chihuahua and were very presently surprised. Coming from Australia before we only thought of little dogs when thinking of Chihuahua, now with think of a beautiful city with an amazing cathedral, lots of wonderful history and beautiful murals. I am sure we could have found even more delights if we had, had more time!

All in all the Copper Canyon railway journey is a trip I will never forget and would recommended to anyone with an adventurous spirit!

PS. The train is quite a step up to get onto it so heavy suitcases are quite hard to get on and off quickly, packs would be much easier for this!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A Bucket List Item”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just a superb rail journey. One not to be missed by any train enthusiast. A really wonderful experience but do it from El Fuerte not Las Mochis otherwise you will have to get up really early. There area lots of nice hotels in El Fuerte which is also a great place to visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Doesn't matter much where you sit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was expecting the cheaper seats to be pretty rough but if money was a problem I would certainly not hesitate to sit in 2nd class. The only difference I could see was the dining car. Tourist class you could sit, buy a meal and a beer. 2nd class you couldn't, only snacks and no alcohol

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chihuahua al Pacifico Railway also viewed

Chihuahua, Chihuahua
 
Copper Canyon, Chihuahua
Copper Canyon, Chihuahua
 

Been to Chihuahua al Pacifico Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chihuahua al Pacifico Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.