We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Don´t care about the negative opinions - Highly recommendable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mansion Tarahumara

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mansion Tarahumara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mansion Tarahumara
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Juarez 1602-A | Municipio de Urique Barrancas del Cobre, 31000 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 hotels in Copper Canyon
Mexico City
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Don´t care about the negative opinions - Highly recommendable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Although we are speaking spanish, I am writing in English because it seems that english speaking guests had some problems with this hotel. Definitely cannot understand why.
It is a rustic place with a lot of atmosphere, comfortable, clean rooms in wooden "Cabanas" and an incredibly friendly service. The food is excellent, everyone takes care of you and Maria, the owner, welcomes you personally. When leaving, she enters the bus to personally say goodbye to everyone.They offer a number of tours with a very friendly, competent emplyee who patiently answers to all questions you might have.
We cordially wish Mansion Tamahumara all the best and many more guests who appreciate the very special atmosphere in this beautiful surrounding.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    28
    15
    13
    1
See reviews for
18
25
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We two night in ths nice hotel. Theree are not too many options in barrancas de cobre. I was told that the food in the famous el mirador hotel was quite bad so we chose the next best one and we weree quite surprised. The hotel area is quite big and like a castel. But taseful. It matches the suroudings. They have single cabins, suites with luxury views over the canyon and simples suits with view ofer the village. We stayed ina simple room and it was quite enough. It was very clean and big. The bed were unbelievably comfie! Breakfast is served as buffet. Lunch and dinner is a fixed menue with soup, main dish and desert. The soups are delicious. And the food in general is very "rico".
The picks you up at the train station and also drives you back to eat with no extra charge. We took a walk to a indian village and went the next morning to the "tirloesa" tour, which was great. But we were back for lunch and had nothing to do in the afternoon. We could have already left for creel. But since we had booked to night we stayed. Which was quite relaxing, because the air and weather is perfect we just sat in the sun and read our books. You can also explore the upper areas of the hotel. You will be surprised of the views ov the canyon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is an adventure hotel and not for the faint of heart. It is a multimillion dollar resort complex spread out over a hillside. There are stairs everywhere so it is not recommended for disabilities. The hike up to the rim suites involves the equivalent of eight flights of stairs. The recreational area looks good in the brochure but was not functional during my stay. There are activities planned for your entire 24 hour stay. They pick you up at the train station, after you are settled in there is a guided walk along the canyon rim, Awl inspiring! Next get ready for a wonderful dinner in the castle like dining room, with a raging fireplace. After drinks around the fire you are ready to turn in. (I, personally, found the cabin interiors stark and uninviting.) Each cabin is different. In the morning a cook to order breakfast is waiting. Next a driving guided tour of the area including but not limited to the adventure complex. Where there are cable cars across the canyon, zip lines, mountain climbing and overlooks. This is why you came to copper canyon. We also went to the Divisadero train station with its busy Indian market, food stands and overlook. (The train also stops here but only for a few minutes.) I asked for a tour of the other hotels in the area and the guide was happy to oblige. After the tour, it is time for lunch and to pack up for the trip back to the train station. These 24 hours were the highlight of my entire trip. The staff was remarkable. When you include the activities and food, the price is quite reasonable.
Now on a sour note. The main reason that I chose this hotel over the others was the Jacuzzi spa. I was assured at check-in that it was functioning and HOT. It was cool enough that I would not get in. The steam room, sauna and massage area were not functional at all.
All in all I would recommend this place as a wonderful stay at the canyon. Please read the room tips for this hotel, very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Even though we arrived at the Mansion (or, more aptly, El Castillo) unannounced, we were welcomed by the decisive and motherly manager with the question "have you had lunch yet?". We would have liked to see our room first, but first things first.
After a nice (but somewhat western oriented) lunch, we were taken to our room. This turned out to be at the very edge of the canyon, and if we weren't already out of breath because of the few stairs and the height, the view would have left us breathless.
The canyon-rim rooms have big sliding doors, and we could have easily spent the rest of the day just looking out. The room itself was very comfortable, with a good hot shower, nice amenities and a little gas heater (very useful in the mountain climate).
The design of the rest of the hotel is 'interesting', with the main dining space resembling a medieval German castle, and the service is very thoughtful and friendly.
The price seemed steep, but since it includes three meals (and did I mention the view?) it is well worth getting off the CHEPE train for.

Room Tip: Most rooms are cabins centered around the main area, but a few (newer?) rooms have been built on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

After a very enjoyable 24 hours at Mansion Tarahumara, eating their wholesome tasty food, relaxing and sleeping in their quiet, comfortable cabin and enjoying several walks along the canyon rim, we boarded the train for Bahuichivo in the afternoon. Just as the train started rolling I noticed I had only two of my three travel bags! My smallest shoulder bag that contained my wallet with 1200 pesos (train fare for two), ATM card, one credit card, and drivers license plus all my little address books was not across my shoulder as it should have been! Dumbfounded we mulled over as the train wove through majestic mountain and canyon scenery what could have happened. Thinking I must have left it in the Mansion Tarahumara van that transports guests to and from the hotel (I could not have been so stupid as to have left it on the bench of the open air train station where two Tarahumara women were displaying their baskets....), we decided we would call Maria, the family member who manages Mansion Taramhumara as soon as we could. Mario our host at our next accommodation, San Isidro Lodge (see my review), called Maria as soon as we were in a cell phone service area in this very rugged remote area. He and Maria are amigos. No, my blue shoulder bag was not in the van; she personally went out and searched. She would make inquiries for me at the train station. The next day when we were in the regional government seat of Urique on the canyon floor (what a wild ride to reach this very pleasant town!), Mario made arrangements for me to call the banks to cancel the cards at one of the government offices. Just as the clerk was about to dial, Maria called Mario. After inquiries at the train station, they had retrieved my purse from a young boy who reported that a gringa had left it on the bench! All the money, bank cards, and items were intact. Unbelievable. We made an arrangement for Maria to give "the boy" a handsome reward from the funds in the wallet. That night during supper at San Isidro Lodge, Mario came in with a neatly wrapped package and presented it with a "Merry Christmas!" Maria had put it on the train at Possado Barrancas with the conductor, at the Bahuichivo stop he had passed it off to the driver for Hotel Mision in Ceracahui, and Mario's brother picked it up there before driving the 20 Km to San Isidro. Extraordinary! Please let people know that they can have an incredible and safe trip through the awesome Sierra Tarahumara/Copper Canyon areas. The people of the area are as awesome as the scenery.

Room Tip: The rooms that are on the canyon rim are open when there are two or more visitors for a few more dol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Penasco, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We booked this hotel online, thinking the credit card was just to hold the room.
When we arrived we were pleased with the accomodations, service, etc., but......
At checkout we brought out different credit cards to pay, and didn't realize until
we got home and opened our credit card statement that the original booking went
through the same night we reserved and we had paid in advance! No one at the
hotel mentioned that we were prepaid and they gladly ran the charges through again.
Since then I have contacted them weekly to ask for a refund, and it is now three months
later and nothing has been done. There is no language barrier here - owner under-
stands and speaks English quite well. Very disappointed with their professionalism
and /or business ethics! And only because of their lack of response to correct this
issue!

Room Tip: Rooms on the rim are quite a hike up! Not recommended for anyone with health issues, etc., althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corralitos, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

After some of the places we stayed where the plumbing was iffy and there were weird step-offs in the bedroom, this place was like heaven. Very clean, lots of hot water, quiet, we had a good night's sleep. The only drawback is that if you stay on the rim of the canyon, it is quite a hike to the dining room. But Maria will arrange for someone to drive you back up if you don't feel like walking.

Room Tip: The Canyon Rim rooms are not for people with impaired mobility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mansion Tarahumara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mansion Tarahumara

Address: Av. Juarez 1602-A | Municipio de Urique Barrancas del Cobre, 31000 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Chihuahua > Copper Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 hotels in Copper Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mansion Tarahumara 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Medieval castle type restaurant with individual cabins plus a Club House with indoor swimming pool and spa; also have 20 rooms in the rim of the Canyon with a Panoramic Restaurant to admire the best view of the Copper Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Mansion Tarahumara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mansion Tarahumara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.