We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely First Class !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tyn Rhos Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tyn Rhos Country House to your Saves list
Tyn Rhos Country House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seion, Llanddeiniolen, Caernarfon LL55 3AE, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanddeiniolen
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely First Class !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had the pleasure of eating at Tyn Rhos on an 8 course gourmet evening. The food was excellent as was the hospitality and warm welcome. A great choice of wines and fabulous local produce. The rooms are first class and views are amazing. It doesn't get any better than this!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    43
    15
    7
    10
See reviews for
28
157
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Having worked in North Wales a lot recently I have had the displeasure of the usual Travelodge and Premier Inns but this gem of a hotel will be my regular pad from now on. Superb location, comfortable and clean rooms with excellent staff and quality food plus the all important reliable wifi for work this hotel has it all. It's so good I'll be returning with my partner on a private trip. By Jez, Natural Resources Wales.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stopped here for two nights at the end of February and I have to says the place was excellent. We had upgraded to a superior room and was given room 19 which is in a block of two and was beautifully furnished and was the quietest room we have ever stopped in. We ate in the restaurant on both nights and the food is to die for. I had the best lamb I have ever tasted and we managed to squeeze down three courses on the first night but struggled with only two courses on the second. As previous reviewers have said this is a family run business of father, mother & daughter, who have many years of experience. We will definitely be returning the next time we go to wales.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a family run business the proprietors are highly experienced and clearly have a good team in place supporting them to deliver an excellent experience for guests.
We arrived early and were warmly greeted. We stayed in one of the external rooms which was very well presented and comfortable( a welcome haven from the winter weather).

We had booked to attend the St David's Day dining event. The food and wine were magnificent.
We has a great stay and plan to return again. The location is great offering peace in a rural setting but with the benefit of many attractions just a short drive away.

We hope to return in the Autumn.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was not our first visit (5th and rising!) and we have never been disappointed. We have previously reviewed here and am pleased to say that things are still of a consistent high standard.

The excuse, as if we needed one, was to celebrate St David's Day with superbly cooked food and a different Welsh wine for each course. A small and intimate gathering for about 20, it was enhanced by the presence of Deiniol, their wine supplier with its owner giving a background to the wine chosen for each course. There are other such 'gourmet nights' organized during the year. Go on spoil yourself, you won't regret it. Just don't go if you started a diet like me!

Our newly refurbished ground floor room was comfortable and very relaxing.

Ignore the few negative comments as we have never experienced or witnessed anything other than flawless service, hospitality and a warm welcome.

We will be back, again (and again.....)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed for one night as we headed for the Holyhead ferry and really enjoyed it. We were put in one of the chalet rooms (19) which is newly decorated and had a great shower. Clean, well appointed room. Polite and friendly staff, they look after you very well. Breakfast was excellent, the best of our trip which included 2 luxury five star hotels, Europe Hotel in Killarney and Shelbourne in Dublin ! Quiet location is great for walking and outdoors but a little distant from town.

Room Tip: Ask nicely !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We booked into this hotel as part of a long weekend in north Wales, staying for one night here with another spent on Anglesey. The deal we got provided accommodation, a meal and coffee, as well as a breakfast.

The room was comfortable, the bed was very comfortable and everything was clean and well-presented. The only slight issue was the bathroom - it could probably benefit from an update, but we had no complaints with it, everything was neat and tidy.

Having arrived late-afternoon, and with a wet and horrible gale blowing outside we enjoyed an afternoon relaxing and headed down for our meal. Having stayed at 5-star hotels before, I was expecting a limited and uninspiring menu, full of the usual suspects. I was very nicely surprised by the range and impressive options, and the (locally-sourced) lamb that I ultimately went for was probably the best I have ever had. We left the evening meal genuinely as full as we have ever been - always a bonus for a guy who likes his food - and when the cuisine is so well presented and prepared, you sometimes expect to be faced with piddling little meals. This was emphatically not the case!

The staff were attentive and courteous throughout, giving us some local information, tips and tourist pointers as we enjoyed a pre-meal drink at the bar (including the helpful tip not to even try getting up Snowdon in February - which we were planning for the next day...!), and the service was first class throughout.

Breakfast next day was everything you'd want on a Sunday morning, we somehow managed to squeeze in a 'full Welsh' before checking out. Again, all local produce and it absolutely hit the spot.

Staying when we did, in late-winter and after the usual Valentines kerfuffle had died down, we experienced a really peaceful and tranquil environment, in an ideal location for exploring north Wales and Anglesey, as we had done over the course of the weekend.

Overall, fantastic value and top-rate service and accommodation, topped off by a brilliant meal. We'll definitely look to stay again, and would recommend for couples looking to get away and enjoy a staycation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tyn Rhos Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyn Rhos Country House

Address: Seion, Llanddeiniolen, Caernarfon LL55 3AE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Llanddeiniolen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanddeiniolen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tyn Rhos Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Tyn Rhos Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyn Rhos Country House Hotel Llanddeiniolen
Tyn Rhos Country Hotel
Tyn Rhos Country Llanddeiniolen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tyn Rhos Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.