We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Local B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ardmore Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ardmore Country House to your Saves list
Ardmore Country House
The Walk | Birr, Kinnitty, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Kinnitty B&B and Inns
Crowborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Local B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

A beautiful house in beautiful countryside, enabling us to relax before the chaos of a family wedding! Christine catered brilliantly for a family of 6 and ensured we initially found Ardmore Country House after getting slightly lost, displaying brilliant Irish hospitality! The rooms were comfortable and spacious, with fully functioning bathrooms. Breakfast was very good with a wide selection available to suit all tastes. Christine gave fantastic advice on local pubs and places to entertain younger members of the family. We hadn't been to Ireland for over 10 years and the welcome at Ardmore from Christine means we would definitely consider staying there again when we next visit family. A superb B & B

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slievebloom B, Owner at Ardmore Country House, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review. I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your time in Kinnitty. It was pleasure to meet you all. I hope you had a wondeful time at the wedding in Ballyfinn.

Christina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    5
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Like many we stayed here for a wedding in Kinnitty and like many we will probably go back just for a break it was so nice. The house and grounds are beautiful and location is perfect for the village church's with Kinnitty Castle just a short drive or taxi trip away. Christine is Irish hospitality personified, from the moment you are welcomed at the door and offered a coffee and cake. Christine is also a highly professional host and her attention to detail and thoughtfulness were always present. As a celiac I declined the cake but the next day was offered gluten free biscuits instead. The next morning at breakfast, again gluten free bread was on offer. Did I mention breakfast - fantastic, fruit yogurt , a full Irish if required, etc. We travelled from the UK but for anyone travelling to Ireland, or indeed while we were there the guests included local people, this is a real home from home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kin1, Owner at Ardmore Country House, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dave and Michelle,
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay at Ardmore Country House and that I was able to facilitate your dietary requirements. It was lovely to meet you both and thank you Michelle for the lovely present. Hope you return to Kinnitty again soon.
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in this B&B on the 14th June 2013 while attending a wedding at nearby Kinnitty Caste. We were warmly welcomed by Christine and offered tea or coffee. The room was absolutely beautiful, tastefully decorated in period style. The windows had fully operational shutters. The ensuite bathroom was modern and was spotless. The B&B would be ideal for walkers who want to explore Slieve Bloom. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kin1, Owner at Ardmore Country House, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you Mark for the lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with me last weekend and that you appreciated the work that went into keeping the period features of Ardmore Country House. Hope you enjoyed the walking in Carlow on Sunday and perhaps we will see you again with some of your friends to enjoy some of the walks in the Slieve Bloom Mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My family and I stayed in Ardmore Country House on April 26th which was the night before my wedding in the nearby Kinnitty Village & Kinnitty Castle Hotel. We were a group of 10 adults and 2 children. From the moment we arrived we were felt welcomed and comfortable. Everyone was delighted with their room, all of which has a unique charm and character of their own. The morning of the wedding was incredibly relaxed thanks to Chris taking such good care of us. Everyone was well fed and we had no end of cups of tea – she even provided glasses for our Champagne. We were given a great spot off her kitchen for our hairdresser and make-up artist. It really was a home away from home. We got some beautiful pre-wedding photos in her manicured garden. Chris has to pop out in early afternoon before we left for the church, so she just told us to pull the door behind us, leaving us to have some precious family time alone in her home. I can highly recommend an experience in Ardmore Country House for anyone who values true hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slievebloom B, Owner at Ardmore Country House, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Sarah. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of your stay on your pre wedding night in April. It was lovely to have you and your family stay and I am so happy you enjoyed your pre wedding night her at Ardmore. Hope you had a lovely summer in Canada.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed 1 night in this spotlessly clean house,attending a wedding. A nice welcome from Christina with tea and home made cakes on arrival.We had the ground floor ensuite which is also suitable for wheelchair users.The bed was very comfortable and we did use the electric blanket as the weather in mid March was rather cold. Breakfast was enjoyable with all the ingredients sourced locally.
A great place to stay if you are in this lovely part of Ireland

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slievebloom B, Owner at Ardmore Country House, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Sheelagh,
Thank you for the recommendation. Glad you enjoyed the hospitality and the local food which we take great pride in.
Christina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the Ardmore Country House for two nights. Our room was beautiful and clean. We really felt cosy snuggling up in our electric blanket at night! Christine was very welcoming, offering us tea and hot scones with homemade jam when we arrived! She also was very helpful recommending things to do around the area during our stay. Our breakfast was always delicious and there was something for everyone on the menu. I really recommend this B&B to anyone who wants a charming Irish experience. We really enjoy hiking and it is the trails in the area that brought us to Kinnitty. When we return for more hiking we are definitely going to stay at the Ardmore again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slievebloom B, Owner at Ardmore Country House, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. I was delighted to be able to recommend the many looped walks in the Slieve Blooms.Just finished making a new batch of jam from the blackcurrants in the garden. The kettle will be on, just let me know when you can get away for a weekend.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unionville, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My first visit to Ireland was made especially nice by the wonderful accommodations at the Ardmore House. Comfortable, warm and charming, my stay was everything I could hope for.
The Proprietor was knowledgeable and generous with her information regarding the area and provided excellent advice on points of interest.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardmore Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore Country House

Address: The Walk | Birr, Kinnitty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Kinnitty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kinnitty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardmore Country House is a tastefully decorated period country home located in the heart of the Irish countryside,midway between Dublin and Galway, Cork and Belfast. Enjoy a peaceful relaxed vacation, scenic walks, turf fires, good food. Meet the real Irish at a traditional music sessions in one of the local pubs on Wednesday nights.We are near haunted Leap Castle and can arrange a visit for you. Visit the nearby Birr Castle Gardens and Giant Telescope or the famous monastic site Clonmacnoise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Ardmore Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardmore Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.