We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“christmas break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinnitty Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kinnitty Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Kinnitty, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Warrenpoint, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“christmas break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

had a prechristmas break. Unfortunatly the weather was terrible and confound us to the hotel but it was full of real character so we were able to soak up the atmosphere. The only down side was there was no lift to the top floor and there was no wi-fi. the staff went out of there way to accomodate us with our plain eating requirements

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Celfarm,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment of your recent stay at the Castle. We are pleased that you experienced the full character of the Castle and all that it offers. Unfortunately due to the nature of the building we are unable to put a lift in the Castle, but rooms can be requested nearer to Reception and the Reception Team are happy to assist when required.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    109
    44
    22
    17
See reviews for
68
243
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here lately with my boyfriend having attended a wedding. The wedding was a great one and the food was fabulous. The staff were lovely and we had a great night BUT after that things went downhill swiftly. We were staying in the Cormac room. The biggest problem I had was there was a hole in the window which was stuffed with tissue. It was stormy outside and the noise through the window was so loud, kind of like a really loud shredder going on sporadically all night. It was so bad I called reception at about 4am and nobody answered. I called again at 5 because I wanted a member of staff to hear how loud it was but again nobody answered. I got no sleep that night and the following morning there was no hot water. Our room was €130 and that was the wedding rate. I was seriously tired and annoyed the following morning but the bride and groom were at reception so I didn't get an opportunity to tell the staff. Won't be going back here and lots of friends have asked me about it and I told them in a nutshell.....nice staff, nice food but completely sleepless nite and no hot water.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear DeeBrad,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at the Castle. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Wedding that you attended and that the food and staff met your expectations.

Please accept my apologies about the noise in your room, the weather has been extremely blustery in the last ten days and due to the nature of the building sounds do travel. Maintenance are looking at the the window and this will be rectified.

We do hope that you will reconsider and come and stay in the Castle in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

While we were staying in the local area we decided to go to Kinnitty Castle for some bar food one evening . The entrance thru the castle doors was magical with beautiful Christmas decorations & candles glowing. There were only two other customers in the bar area but there was a lovely cozy festive atmosphere with Christmas carols playing softly in the background. The service & staff were friendly & efficient but we did feel that the price of the bar food was very expensive for what we ate !!!!!. A nice place to visit but we won't be having bar food there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Procus,

Thank you for comments in relation to your visit to the Hotel, we are delighted that you got to experience the Hotel full of its Christmas Cheer. We are disappointed that you felt our Bar Food was to expensive but can assure you that these prices are competitive.

We do hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Kinnitty Castle looks like a castle but the staff make you feel like you're in your own home. Nothing is too much trouble and everyone has a pleasant word and a nice smile. The food is very good as well. The general feeling is of old world charm. But make no mistake this is an old buliding with many creaks, groans and drafts. It also reputedly has a ghost or two but we didn't meet them. I imagine they're pleasant and friendly in keeping with the rest of the place.
The castle has great grounds and some excellent walks in nearby forests.
And at weekends there's often a bit of Irish music in the Dungeon Bar

Room Tip: The rooms in the main Castle building have more character than those in the courtyard. If you can ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Michael M,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted that you experienced the charm and warmth that Kinnitty Castle Hotel offers its guests, we will pass on your feedback to all staff who will be delighted with your view.

We do hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
The Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

attended a wedding here a couple of weeks back and it was a fantastic day and night... food was amazing; atmosphere cozy and inviting and staff efficient and friendly. couldnt ask for more.. would love to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Fiona,

Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed the wedding that you attended and you got to experience all that Kinnitty Castle Hotel has to offer.

We do hope to welcome you to the Castle again in the future.

Kind Regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had our wedding here in August, and I couldn't recommend it highly enough. All of our guests commented on the fantastic atmosphere, amazing food, but most of all the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. A special mention must go to Cavan, Simon and Connor. What a great team. We had nothing to worry about and we enjoyed a fabulous day along with our family and friends. Anybody considering Kinnitty for their wedding should book it without hesitation

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Liz H,

Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at the Castle and we are pleased that we could be part of your special day. Your comments will be passed onto all the staff as they take pride in the level of service and the attention to detail that they provide to each individual guest.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Castle again in the future.

Kind regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Had a fabulous time in the beautiful castle we stayed for 2 nights & we were made feel very welcome by Simon & Connor.
We had dinner & wine in the Restuarant & it was delicious, we cannot speak highly enough about this wonderful castle & the warm & special team that work there.
Best Wishes
Gina & Gerry

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Gina and Gerry,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Castle and that you got to experience all that we have to offer, I will pass on your kind comments to the Staff who will be thrilled with the feedback.

We do hope to welcome you to the Castle again in the future.

Kind regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinnitty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinnitty Castle Hotel

Address: Kinnitty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Kinnitty
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kinnitty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinnitty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinnitty Castle, the celebrity haunt, is close to the picturesque village of Kinnitty, Co. Offaly set beautifully against a backdrop of the Slieve Bloom Mountains and is in Ireland's only designated Environment Park. The Castle has a long and turbulent history. Dating originally from 1209, Kinnitty was destroyed and rebuilt not once but twice and yet it retains character and oozes charm. Kinnitty even has its own ghost - a monk, no less! Kinnity is in a great location only 90 minutes from Dublin and is a great stop off point for journeys west or southwards. It is an exceptional place for lovers of good food and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Kinnitty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kinnitty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinnitty Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.