We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lo Cosmico

Lo Cosmico
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Lo Cosmico to your Saves list
Lo Cosmico
Col. Roca Blanca, Zipolite 70900, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Zipolite
San Marcos, Guatemala
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“What a great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This is a paradise on earth !
The rooms are perfect, the location is great, on top of a cliff with an ocean view.
I had a great time over there, especially with the owner who is very friendly an open-minded.
One of the friend i was travelling with is a "chef", and the owner was happy to share our delicious meals with us.
I remember having awesome conversations at night relaxing in the hamacs.
This is one of the highlights of my 9 months trip across central america.

Room Tip: Pick a room with an ocean view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oaxaca, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

this property is off the beaten path so you have to take a taxi or camioneta. it is secluded and is a good place to take a vacation. but beware the waves are very strong and people have drown. if you are sensitive to mosquitos and other flying insects i would take some insect repellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca, Mexico
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

A shabby, charming little place at the far end of Zipolite, Lo Cosmico offered a great private camping area with amazing views over the ocean. There were lockers for us to use and a little man came by every night to light torches. The owners couldn't have been more friendly and aside from a weird French woman who we ran into in the early hours upon arrival, and who told us that she'd pushed her friend into a fire, everything was cracking. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locosmico, Propietario at Lo Cosmico, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
this terrace you can enjoy unfortunately only in the winter time, the roof is only for sun and not for the rain. We are delighted when our guests enjoy it with us
Gracias y bienvenidos siempre!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The place is in great location but at night is terrible , I was robe one night in the room they broke the door and got in

The owner did not do anything to help us not even apologize about so be careful not security
Nothing is very estranged place

No cleaning never so don't spent house keeping ever

Room Tip: Not a good place at all mush better place around
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have been visiting this place for more than 10 years. The facility is perfect for people looking to make contact with nature. Zipolite is Magic. But, from Lo Cosmico, it is amazing. The place is own for a very nice family that is very nice and helpful to their guests. Lo Cosmico is visited by intelectuals, artists, friends, and nice people from all over the world that every year return to meet their close friends that share the taste of the delicious plates prepared by this family. If you are atracted by a multicultural environment, this is the right place to be. Lo Cosmico is acknowledge for the good service and respect to human beings from any kind of language, culture, or sexual orientation. I strongly recommend this place. If you are fancy or trendy, probably you will not understand a nice place like this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I recently returned from my 5th trip to Lo Cosmico in the last 5 years. The good feeling, hospitality and accommodation I experienced on my first trip prevails today and I am very grateful for that! Located at the western end of Zipolite, the cabanas and palapas of Lo Cosmico flow naturally over the landscape, far removed from the noise of the beach bars down the way. You might hear birds, the crash of the ocean surf only 80 meters away, or the soft laughter and conversation of friends and travelers on the cafe terrace...yes, there is also an amazing cafe at Lo Cosmico! Serving in the morning and afternoon such items as yoghurt, fresh fruit, mexican breakfast dishes and the most delicious crepes in all of Zipolite! And even better, the proprietors of Lo Cosmico, Antonio and Regula, are the most gracious of hosts one could ever ask for. You won't find air-con or t.v.'s at Lo Cosmico, but you will find a restful and tranquil place to enjoy the incredible beach of Zipolite!

Room Tip: Rooms nearer to the beach have a better breeze coming through.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexcico
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2007

First impression wasnt bad, the rooms are dirty but ok... showers/toilets are filthy. We had an option of staying a maximum of two nights. The beach was beautiful but it just rained non stop while we were there and there was nothing to do at all in the hostel and we were the only ones staying their. The guy who ran the joint was sleezy and wierd, didnt enjoy talking to him at all.

We ended up trying to check out at 12 (that is their checkout time) but couldnt find the guy anywhere, cos there isnt even a receptoin and no-one else speaks ANY english. So we sat with our bags packed in our room for two hours and when he finally woke up we checked out. He said that cos we checked out late we had to pay 200 pesos, and that was after barganing him down from 300. We just paid and left...

My recomendation is go stay somewhere more in the middle of the main street. You can get a private room for two or a shared dorm for the same price if not cheaper and in a better location. You have to walk 5-10min from Lo Cosmico hostel to be able to get good food.

PS. The food at the hostel very average, and they dont have shared dorm rooms so be prepared to fork out for a private room...

  • Liked — Close to the beach
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lo Cosmico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lo Cosmico

Address: Col. Roca Blanca, Zipolite 70900, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Zipolite
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Zipolite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a restaurant and cabañas on the beach at the far west side of Zipolite. Our restaurant specializes in crêpes and breakfasts and it's open from 8 to 16 hrs tue-sun. We have a variety of different rooms in a rustic and cozy style with prices ranging from 150 to 500 $ mexican pesos, some with private bathroom and some with shared amenities, some with and some without ocean view, but all a couple of steps away from the beach. We welcome you anytime of year. We wish you pleasant traveling ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lo Cosmico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lo Cosmico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.