We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Brisa Marina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zipolite
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Brisa Marina
Save
You added Posada Brisa Marina to your Saves list
Colonia Roca Blanca, Zipolite, Mexico   |  
Ranked #7 of 14 Zipolite B&B and Inns
Montrose, Colorado, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Home away from home on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Back in Zipolite. Came here a couple years ago, planning on staying a couple days and ended up staying for two weeks. Beachfront rooms are basic, clean, and comfy. And you'd pay $1000 a night to stay in a Hawaiian hotel on the beach and the view is better here.
Welcomed back by Daniel, the owner and Tino and Margareta, his friendly
staff. Daniel can give you advice on anything to eat or do in Zipolite .
Hint: don't come here with an agenda of things to do or see. That's not what this place is about.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We travel with the most current edition of the "Rough Guide" and a old Acer Notebook for further research and make our destination decisions on the fly. This trip was to combine exploration of historical Mexico with some down time. Zipolite is recommended as the best place to do nothing so for the down time a 6 hour bus ride over the mountains got us to the coast and luck to the Posada Brisa Marina.
The Brisa Marina is built on the beach with the best units having ensuite and a deck facing the pristine 2 km beach and a spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean reaching to the horizon. Our room was Spartan, designed to minimize effects of sand and salt air with bathroom walls and floor finished with ceramic tile for cleanliness. No T.V (but Wi Fi), no hot water and no blankets and in the 9 days we spent in this place falling asleep to the crashing of waves and waking with the sun rising over the eastern headlands we didn't feel we needed anything more in our accommodations than we had. Our room had a built-in safe. We borrowed a padlock, stowed our passports and cash and at no time felt security was an issue.
Daniel, owner of the Posada Brisa Marina, is a great host and the people he employs are kind and helpful. We met other guests from Canada, U.S. and Mexico who were repeat visitors and there was a sense of community amongst them. Our guide book had described the laid-back vibe and the bathing -suit optional beach so we were fully prepared to just enjoy the atmosphere as we found it and we found it relaxing and restorative and a heck of a lot of fun.

Room Tip: Up a notch from backpacking? Get a room with ensuite and deck facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We are experienced travelers who who are not looking for luxury. We do appreciate a bit of privacy and beauty in the places we stay. This place has neither.

It is a basically charmless, sterile place is located in the middle of the busy stretch of the magnificent Zipolete beach. We had a basic room with a great view from the terrace. There was not a stitch of decoration and no hot water. Our main complaint is how crowded it felt with the number of people sharing the hammocks and the beach

When we walked along the beach we saw beach-front establishments with more charm and privacy. My guess these places cost about the same price as we paid per night.

While we respect the life the live-in owner has made for himself and the backpacking community, we would not likely return to Posada Brisa Marina.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very much recommended for backpackers!
Rooms are not fancy, the place isnt new but it has everything you need (except for hot water.. but thats normal in the area). We had a room facing the sea with a balcony and hammock.
Daniel the owner is what makes this place shine. Hes super friendly and full of stories. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I found Zipolite just by accident, we were traveling in the south west coast of Mexico and were looking for paradise, oh boy did we find it! A taxi driver suggested us to go to Zipolite. What a wonderful place! We got to Brisa Marina recommended by someone in the town. The owner Daniel is a very nice man that is an English speaker, nice to talk to, the balcony of our room was with ocean view for which we paid 250 pesos that is less than 25 dls per night. The room was clean, with a clean private bathroom, fresh towels and bed sheets, a lady came to clean our room everyday and the location is perfect because is on the main street. Thank you Daniel for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We used to live in Mexico City for two years and as exciting and colourful as that was, my favorite place in Mexico is Zipolite and I miss this place very much right now in the cold grip of a Welsh winter.The owner Daniel is a find and an absolute delight; he subscribes to the philosophy that we are here for a good time and not a long time. His lovely hotel looks over the ocean where the stunning skies and seascapes never fail to mesmerise. The rear of the hotel backs onto Colonia Roca Blanca’s main street where you can find all you need to eat drink and enjoy. The locals are a delight, as are all Mexicans, and friendly to a fault. A more generous people you will not find on this continent. Daniel's rooms are the pace to stay for those who enjoy turning their backs on the hassle of modern living for a spell. If you ever want to get back in touch with yourself, you won't go far wrong by giving Daniel a call and begging for one of his seafront rooms. Hammocks, Mexicans, Daniel, butterflies, azure seas, jaw-droppingly beautiful sunsets. I just decided, Summer 2013 in Zipolite-are you reading this Daniel!!!

Room Tip: Get in touch with Daniel before you arrive and always travel very light
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I got a bad room at Posada Mexico (great place, but just don't opt for the tiny rooms w/o bathrooms right next to the loud partying bar/restaurant and bad mosquito net) so we wanted to change places. I went running and found this great spot!

The owner was super friendly and immediately welcomed me and showed me two rooms. I took the better one, which was on the top floor with an ocean view. AMAZING. We slept with our windows open at night (they had screens in so don't worry about mosquitos with that!) and heard the roar of the ocean. Amazing. We had access to the balcony with hammocks and chairs and sat out there talking, relaxing in the "matrimonial" hammock.

Wifi is blazingly fast, this is a great spot with easy access to everything you need in Zipolite...you know, food, drink, beach, sun, sand, the shops...

I wanted to stay longer and wished we could have. My boyfriend and I already miss Brisa Marina and we left yesterday!

Room Tip: Get a room w a sea view (on the top floor if you can) - it's worth the extra pesos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Brisa Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Brisa Marina

Address: Colonia Roca Blanca, Zipolite, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Zipolite
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Zipolite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Brisa Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.