We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolated , dangerous . Rutted dirt track” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Escondida

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Escondida to your Saves list
Villa Escondida
Playa Zipolite | Pochutla, Zipolite, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
“Isolated , dangerous . Rutted dirt track”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I don't recommend anybody to stay at Villa Escondida. It's isolated and you can easily get assault at night . To get to the Villa Escondida, you have to walk a rutted dirt track and on Sundays there are drunk Mexicans men lying on the floor. Few weeks ago there was a robbery too, So I decided this place wasn't safe for me and left. Trying to get my money back now, cos I paid half to reserve it. The owner told me that due to the cancellation policy she is keeping 1450 Mex . I got a deal for 1 month and Giulia told me to cancel with booking.com. (i did my booking firstly with them). Thanks to this bad decision Of cancelling with booking.com , my holidays are ruined cos not gonna have enough money for the rest of the month.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
7
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laredo, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Maybe it's me, but I thought the descriptions made it sound like it was a stroll to the beach and restaurants. Granted I could hear (not see) the ocean in the distance, but a stroll it's not, especially at night when you have to negotiate rutted dirt roads in the dark. Overall I found the atmosphere surly and the surroundings seedy.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed in one of the bungalows for six weeks and it was clean, compact, and had a nice little kitchenette. I felt well looked after and liked the location (6-7 minutes walk from the beach) as it got me away from the loud music from the beachside bars.

However, I found the villa itself to be extremely noisy and when a friend came to visit we paid to stay somewhere else because my friend could not stand the noise that prevented us from sleeping properly. My bungalow was next to Guiliana's place and would often here talking very loudly (yelling) at people over the phone or coming by to talk to her. Her dog would also bark at the slightest provocation and there was another dog behind the property that barked until 2 or 3am some nights. That was all topped off with roosters on the villa's property that would start crowing at 4am some mornings and having a screaming child on the balcony next door to us. it was a good night if I managed to get a few hours sleep.

i had an okay experience but would not return to Villa Escondida. It is a beautiful place with a great location but the incessant noise within the property was not conducive to a pleasant vacation for me or my friend.

Room Tip: Avoid the bungalow next to Guiliana (Bungalow #13)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Villa Escondida is off the beach, and that is a good thing! The beach in Zipolite can be noisy, both the party scene and the waves crashing. Many of the beach rooms in Zipolite are really substandard. After a long day in the sand, it is wonderful to take that 5 minute walk to Juliana´s paradise. The compound is completely enclosed in a tropical garden so your security is absolute. Some rooms have an ocean view, they all have access to a private kitchen or a communal one, they are immaculately clean and well appointed. The common area is a great place to make new friends. The staff is friendly and accomodating. Their price point is really on the low side, and if you stay a month or more like many of us do, the published price is slashed!
I have been in and around this area for 7 years. It really is the best deal in town.

Room Tip: Numbers 1 and 6 have two floors, a bed, desk and dresser in each. Very private for two pals who are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Guliania has spent decades building & improving her residencia, Villa Escondida. The Villa has a lot charm - beautiful terraced stone work & landscaping overwhelm the 1st time visitor. She rewards long-stay guests w/ 1/2 prices. Turi, the general manager & evening cook is great - warm & welcoming. Guiliana is stern & demanding, but if she didn't run a tight ship, Villa Escondida would be as dysfunctional as the rest of Zipolite - a bad thing. And lastly, we should remember the Villa is a (for profit) business - not a commune.

Room Tip: Book early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zipolite
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

The place is nice: it's on top of the hills surrounding Zipolite beach, just 10 minutes walking far from the beach.

Rooms are clean, almost everyone has bathroom and some of them also has a kitchen. We stayed in bungalow with a beautiful view of the ocean, where you can see amazing sunsets.

Internet connection is quite good, there is a restaurant open until 14 (but if you ask Turi to prepare something for dinner, maybe you can taste something special), satellite TV and a common, big kitchen. In front of Villa Escondida there's also the Solstice Yoga Center, that I strongly recommend.

If you are looking for a peaceful place where to spend your workingholidays, I think that Villa Escondida is the place you are looking for.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

If you expect fresh towels on your bed everyday and a perfectly sanitized room, this is not the place for you. But if you like funkier hotels, with a little soul, good light, and decent price, this is a great option. It's a short walk to the beach, the only noise that could keep you up is a nearby rooster. Rufina, the cook, laundress, and soul of the place, is terrific, and helpful. She makes amazing food, and is a real presence. The owners of this place have less presence, but Guiliane is helpful. If you're looking for beachside elegance and a little smoother-around-the-edges, Loma Linda is a good option.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Escondida

Address: Playa Zipolite | Pochutla, Zipolite, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Zipolite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Zipolite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ofrecemos habitaciones con bano y terraza y bungalows con cocineta tambien. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Escondida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Escondida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.