We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous setting, careful of the surf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Alquimista

Save Saved
You added El Alquimista to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Alquimista
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Domicilio Conocido S/N, Colonia Roca Blanca | Fin de Playa, Zipolite, Mexico   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Kitchener
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting, careful of the surf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This set of cabanas and rooms right on the beach in Zipolite has many excellent ingredients. Definitely it makes sense to pay a little extra to be in one of the cabanas higher up the hill--they have lovely views and more privacy, are brighter and somewhat more luxuriously decorated. All in all, there is a nice attention to detail here--simple decorative details, local art, local materials that all fit the location. The infinity pool is lovely and often not occupied, so many quiet swims were had here, especially in the evening under the stars. The yoga classes were very good and the yoga room was lovely (overlooking the ocean--beautiful views!). The restaurant is very good, with excellent service. Rooms are clean and well-kept, but the cabanas closer to the beach are a little dark and don't offer a lot of privacy.
The beach is pretty, if you don't mind the sight of a large number of middle aged male nudists strutting their stuff. The surf can be very dangerous, though, and we witnessed a terrifying situation where a couple who couldn't swim well nearly drowned, almost pulling down a very fit and courageous English traveler who gamely (and perhaps rashly) jumped in and attempted to save them. Several local surfers who are experienced with the currents (serious rip tides) were able to bring the two to safety, but it was a cautionary tale. Apparently the Lonely Planet mention that "drownings are depressingly frequent" here is very true. It would be useful if there were much better sign-posting here in both Spanish and English, and the presence of safety flotation devices (buoys, ropes, etc) for rescue purposes wouldn't be hard to procure and have at the ready for such situations. But really--why do drownings have to happen so frequently in such a place? There should be more safeguards in place.

Room Tip: The higher up the hill you go, the brighter the rooms are and the more privacy you get. Also, terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    30
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
68
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stopped at Cabanas el Alquimista with 3 friends for two nights last December during our road trip trough Mexico. After a late arrival at night, the surprise was in the next morning when the sun and Pacific ocean woke us up in this great decor.
This is probably the best hotel I ever stayed in even if I didn't use much of the services offered. The athmosphere is very peaceful and you barely see other guests.
One personal negative note is to noticed: this place is too good to stay with friends, this is the perfect place however for a lover gateaway! ;)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

Este espacio te crea como una burbuja . Es como
si tee encapsulara dentro de un espacio de paz,
tranquilidad, armonia del cual no quieres escapar.
Las cabanas estan increibles, el lugar es magico,
su personal te brinda un excelente servicio.
El hotel cuenta con clases de yoga q hacen de
tu estancia un complemento maravilloso.
Segun me comentaron estan por abrir un Spa
tambien asi como la alberca. Genial!
La comida del restaurant es excelente.
Voy llegando y ya quiero volver. Ese lugar me atrapa y
me encanta. Te desconecta del acelere de la ciudad
y te conecta con la naturaleza.
El dueno encantador , te hace sentir como si
estuvieras en casa.
Rosy Zozaya

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

El Alquimista cabanas are located in the most beautiful cove of Zipolite. The cabanas are right on the beach and each of them has a hammock on the front porch. Although baths could have been cleaner and better equipped, the cabanas interior is generally lovely with excellent beds. Waking up there with the view of the ocean is an unforgettable experience.
The food is also great. The restaurant has also many hammocks and beds right on the beach and is a perfect place to chill.

Overall - an excellent place, would definiteley come back there and would not hesitate a second when choosing location to stay in Zipolite.

Room Tip: every cabana is great, even the one which is cheaper as it supposedly has a partial view of the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

A cabana on the beach was ideal for convenience, view, and relaxation! When we opened the door to our cabana, we were literally on the beach, front row! So incredible to have our porch with a "hamaca" right there, almost surreal. Listening to the Pacific's powerful waves crashing was such a sweet lullaby. Tears came to my eyes upon arrival at the beauty and majesty of the views. You just could not get more convenient and beautiful.
Of course, though, the bathroom in our room could have been updated to be fresher but you just get used to the different ways over there anyway, brushing teeth with our own bottled water, etc. And sharing the walls with a few lizards even got acceptable, although you might not have thought so on my first night of noticing their cohabitation with us. After hearing that they help by eating mosquitoes and we closed our mosquito net around our bed, which felt like sleeping in a safe haven, all was well.
I think maybe big bottles of water could be provided, that would help too.
But, my bottom line, is that this place, El Alquimista, was like paradise for its setting and views. It was like alchemy for my mind, transforming me to a complete state of peace.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010 via mobile

Really great location we had a cabana right on the beach front (there are only 2 like this). The rest of zipolite is really disappointing it looks like a bomb has gone off here I think a lot of places have closed down or something as the sea is encroaching at high tide along the centre of the beach.

Food was great at el alquimista and really reasonable. Rooms were a bit dirty and the bathroom we had was really grubby. But like I say it's the nicest place in town and we still really enjoyed it. But make sure you book well in advance. While we were here watched a lit of miserable looking people being turned away with the prospect of staying at one of the hovels down the beach hanging over them.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

Zipolite is a cozy boutique hotel at the end of the Zipolite beach. I´ve been there 3 times and always enjoyed a lot. It is one of the "upscale" places to stay in the area. They have both beach cabins and backward lofts (with private terraces overseeing the Pacific), all are vey clean and with a stylish decor. The restaurant is also excellent, great place to dine at the light of the candles on the beach. They serve amazing wood-oven pizzas and sea food.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Alquimista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Alquimista

Address: Domicilio Conocido S/N, Colonia Roca Blanca | Fin de Playa, Zipolite, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Zipolite
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty lodging in Zipolite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Alquimista 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your El Alquimista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas El Alquimista Hotel Oaxaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Alquimista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.