We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to stay with your other half” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Alquimista Yoga & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added El Alquimista Yoga & Spa to your Saves list
El Alquimista Yoga & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Domicilio Conocido S/N, Colonia Roca Blanca | Fin de Playa, Zipolite 70904, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Zipolite
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A place to stay with your other half”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stopped at Cabanas el Alquimista with 3 friends for two nights last December during our road trip trough Mexico. After a late arrival at night, the surprise was in the next morning when the sun and Pacific ocean woke us up in this great decor.
This is probably the best hotel I ever stayed in even if I didn't use much of the services offered. The athmosphere is very peaceful and you barely see other guests.
One personal negative note is to noticed: this place is too good to stay with friends, this is the perfect place however for a lover gateaway! ;)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    43
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
106
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Este espacio te crea como una burbuja . Es como
si tee encapsulara dentro de un espacio de paz,
tranquilidad, armonia del cual no quieres escapar.
Las cabanas estan increibles, el lugar es magico,
su personal te brinda un excelente servicio.
El hotel cuenta con clases de yoga q hacen de
tu estancia un complemento maravilloso.
Segun me comentaron estan por abrir un Spa
tambien asi como la alberca. Genial!
La comida del restaurant es excelente.
Voy llegando y ya quiero volver. Ese lugar me atrapa y
me encanta. Te desconecta del acelere de la ciudad
y te conecta con la naturaleza.
El dueno encantador , te hace sentir como si
estuvieras en casa.
Rosy Zozaya

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

El Alquimista cabanas are located in the most beautiful cove of Zipolite. The cabanas are right on the beach and each of them has a hammock on the front porch. Although baths could have been cleaner and better equipped, the cabanas interior is generally lovely with excellent beds. Waking up there with the view of the ocean is an unforgettable experience.
The food is also great. The restaurant has also many hammocks and beds right on the beach and is a perfect place to chill.

Overall - an excellent place, would definiteley come back there and would not hesitate a second when choosing location to stay in Zipolite.

Room Tip: every cabana is great, even the one which is cheaper as it supposedly has a partial view of the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

A cabana on the beach was ideal for convenience, view, and relaxation! When we opened the door to our cabana, we were literally on the beach, front row! So incredible to have our porch with a "hamaca" right there, almost surreal. Listening to the Pacific's powerful waves crashing was such a sweet lullaby. Tears came to my eyes upon arrival at the beauty and majesty of the views. You just could not get more convenient and beautiful.
Of course, though, the bathroom in our room could have been updated to be fresher but you just get used to the different ways over there anyway, brushing teeth with our own bottled water, etc. And sharing the walls with a few lizards even got acceptable, although you might not have thought so on my first night of noticing their cohabitation with us. After hearing that they help by eating mosquitoes and we closed our mosquito net around our bed, which felt like sleeping in a safe haven, all was well.
I think maybe big bottles of water could be provided, that would help too.
But, my bottom line, is that this place, El Alquimista, was like paradise for its setting and views. It was like alchemy for my mind, transforming me to a complete state of peace.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Really great location we had a cabana right on the beach front (there are only 2 like this). The rest of zipolite is really disappointing it looks like a bomb has gone off here I think a lot of places have closed down or something as the sea is encroaching at high tide along the centre of the beach.

Food was great at el alquimista and really reasonable. Rooms were a bit dirty and the bathroom we had was really grubby. But like I say it's the nicest place in town and we still really enjoyed it. But make sure you book well in advance. While we were here watched a lit of miserable looking people being turned away with the prospect of staying at one of the hovels down the beach hanging over them.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

Zipolite is a cozy boutique hotel at the end of the Zipolite beach. I´ve been there 3 times and always enjoyed a lot. It is one of the "upscale" places to stay in the area. They have both beach cabins and backward lofts (with private terraces overseeing the Pacific), all are vey clean and with a stylish decor. The restaurant is also excellent, great place to dine at the light of the candles on the beach. They serve amazing wood-oven pizzas and sea food.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to El Alquimista Yoga & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Alquimista Yoga & Spa

Address: Domicilio Conocido S/N, Colonia Roca Blanca | Fin de Playa, Zipolite 70904, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Zipolite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Zipolite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Alquimista Yoga & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and restaurant in Zipolite, Mexico Located in the Oaxacan coast, on the Pacific, 5 minutes from Puerto Angel. Zipolite offers the ideal vacation for the single traveler. In the far north end of the beach, they are the restaurant and cabins The Alchemist. The restaurant has an excellent international food and breakfast, lunch and dinner under the stars in their prime location on the sea is served. The cabins are regarded as the best accommodation on the beach be located a few steps from the sea and finishes and top quality design. The pool is available to guests except for children under 15 years, as it is in the area of the spa and yoga center, making an environment of relaxation and tranquility is maintained. No alcoholic beverages are allowed in the pool area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your El Alquimista Yoga & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas El Alquimista Hotel Oaxaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Alquimista Yoga & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.