We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oscar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison de Julie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entrevaux
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Maison de Julie
Save
You added La Maison de Julie to your Saves list
Place Ste Marguerite, 04320 Entrevaux, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Entrevaux B&B and Inns
Barcelona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“oscar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We are a couple with two children ( 2-6) from Barcelona (Spain) and spend six days last august. Very nice, "charme" and clean room with a fully guest kitchen. The best: the Carole's breakfast.Thank you very much for doing our stay more agreeable to us.

Oscar and Cristina

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonJulie, Propriétaire at La Maison de Julie, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Oscar and Cristina,
we all ( humans of course, but even our cats and dogs ) were really happy to receive your lovely family : that was our morning pleasure to watch your children's eyes and smiles !
And we think that to like to discover our region too : Verdon, Parc Alpha ( with wolves ), etc ...

Please give a kiss to your children from us !

Christian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I took my mother to this region for her 70th birthday. She likes to be somewhere self-catering and Maison de Julie worked out perfectly. Carole's breakfasts lasted us half the day and we prepared nice dinners in the fully-stocked guest kitchen. It was such a pleasure to eat on the terrace looking at the stunning scenery. Carole and Christian were extremely accommodating about picking us up and dropping us off with all our baggage. We stayed several days without a car. It is quite easy to sight-see taking the train from the little station (Plan d'Entrevaux), 10 mins walk from Maison de Julie. The trains end by 8pm, but Carole picked us up from the town of Entrevaux one evening when we were out. Carole and her husband were good company, very friendly, and helpful with WiFi set up. The furnishings were pleasant, the accommodation was clean and spacious, and the bathroom was impeccable. Its true the rooms got very hot, but keeping the blinds shut in the day made it bearable even in the July heat. Hope very much to return. A lovely find.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonJulie, Propriétaire at La Maison de Julie, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thanks a lot for your nice contribution Jane !
That was a pleasure for us to make your stay as nice as possible.
You came with our old "Train des Pignes" ( Fire cones train ).
There are different trains : historic steam train, traditionnal ones and modern ones ( see on : www.trainprovence.com ) and that's a marvelous way to visit our region !

Looking forward to seeing you again !
Carole and Christian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were four bicycle touring fellows who spent a night at Maison de Julie. We loved the spacious rooms, the quiet surroundings and the breakfast was one of the best. The service was friendly and understanding. The location is a little hard to find but you can ask anyone and they will help you find the location. I highly recommend this B and B.

Room Tip: The upstairs room is smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonJulie, Propriétaire at La Maison de Julie, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much !
We remember : Entrevaux was a stage on the new ( clean ? ) "Tour de France".
I wrote in a precedent message that our region was a "paradise" for motorbikers, walkers, ... and i think it's a lovely place for mountain and road bikers too !

Looking forward to receiving you again.
Christian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

There really is nowhere to stay in Entrevaux itself. La Maison de Julie is several kilometers outside town, on a hillside. You certainly need a car to get there or to town. The fort of Entrevaux is one of a string of forts in the region and worth the walk up the steep hillside. It is not restored, but one gets the sense of how it must have been. The town is not very entertaining. We stayed the night en route to seeing a lot of fortresses, as my husband is a military history expert. The proprietors, Christian and Carole, are very friendly and helpful, and breakfast on the terrace was lovely, with homemade pastries and yogurt. The rooms were quite hot in June, though, with tiny windows that were not screened, and no fans. One window wouldn't open at all. My kids in the loft were baking. Screening the windows against bats and a few fans would really help. The bathroom was tiny but adequate. Everything was clean and inviting but too out-of-the way for our taste.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonJulie, Propriétaire at La Maison de Julie, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thanks for your advice.
Just one word about the castle : the volunteer workers who restore the fort, are military and history passionate persons too who spent 20 years in working during their W-E and their holidays, organizing each year medieval parties to earn money ( because financial help is very hard to obtain in France with the size of our heritage ), to buy materials, etc ... and we know that there's a lot of job to do again !

Christian.

PS : we used to lock the loft window for the young children security and we'll do the necessary in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I had booked for 7 nights and as time was approaching, I was anxious about staying there for so long.

We stayed in “Julie’s room” from May 28th to June 3rd.

The room itself was spacious and decorated with taste, in a typical Provençal way.
The bedding was very good and everywhere was very clean.
The bathroom was a bit small, but adequate. Soap, shampoo and shower gel were provided.

We had a nice little balcony overlooking the garden, the henhouse, the fields and the mountains.

Adjacent to our bedroom was a big lounge, again well decorated.
We had some of our breakfasts there (when the weather was bad) and it is also where we sometimes spent a few hours in the afternoon. This room was also very pleasant, mainly because of the French windows all around.

Going via outside stairs, a kitchen was available to guests. This was a nice room, complete with fridge, microwave, hobs, sink, kettle, coffee machine and cupboards. There were plenty of plates, dishes, cutlery, cups, glasses, etc.

Weather permitting, Carole would serve us on the terrace with breakfast, which was plentiful, varied and healthy.
There was fresh bread, freshly baked pâtisseries, home-made jams, yogurts, fruit salad, orange juice, coffee or tea.
One morning, we even had the nice surprise to be presented with some “choux” (pastries) from the cake they had at one of their children’s communion. What a nice gesture it was!

As the lounge is contiguous to the owners’ habitation, at first I did not feel very comfortable about it, especially knowing they had two young teenage sons (their daughter is only there at weekends).
We soon realised our “fears” were unfounded.

For several days, we almost doubted they had two children. We never ever heard them, never saw them, let alone being disturbed!

In the morning, we would see Carole when she served us breakfast. She was never intrusive, had a great sense of humour and we had some really good laughs with her! She also gave us some good advice about the area. The only thing I reproached her with (tongue in cheek) is that one day she said that going up to the citadel would take us 20 minutes. We did go, but OMG! Not only was it very tiring, but it must have taken us just under one hour to get to the top!
Having said that, it was worth going. The view was magnificient!

We had a few chats with her husband, Christian. He was a very pleasant and interesting man too.

I do not want to forget the gorgeous dogs. The male Bernese mountain dog and the female Beauceron are absolutely lovely and so friendly! And, more to the point, so well behaved and obedient! Once I tried to entice the Beauceron in the kitchen. She would not have it because she knew she was not allowed in!

Just like for the children, this is all to the owners’ merit.

It is a place I would definitely recommend. Charming hosts, very pretty B&B, so peaceful and relaxing!

Room Tip: Each bedroom has a lounge. I believe "Julie's room" is better as far as the lounge is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at La Maison de Julie, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind contribution ... and for all my family ( children and dogs ) !

All my friendship to you and your husband.
And see you soon.
Christian.

PS : I persist : the access to the Citadel, is made in 20-25 minutes normally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

A quiet spot out among small farms a few KM from Entreveaux. Rooms nicely redone from old farm buildings.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at La Maison de Julie, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Very nice advice for Carole's work ( decoration, cleanliness and service ).
Thank you very much !
Christian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We found this through TripAdvisor when looking for accommodation for Entrevaux. They're actually at the next stop when travelling from Nice by the Train des Pignes - La Plan, which is a discretionary / request stop.

Regardless, Carole and Christian will almost insist on giving you lifts to or from their Chambres d'Hote residence to and from Entrevaux, even waiting up late if you want an evening meal before returning. If you want to make your own way, avoid walking the stretc of road immediately after Entrevaux as it's a fast blind corner - better take the train to La Plan or, after 8pm ( the last train ), walk there along the railtracks.

Both Carole and Christian are hugely welcoming, friendly and helpful. We had the upper room, which was a lovely rustic double with a separate low-ceilinged mezzanine floor containing two more single beds ( great for kids ). There is a two-seater settee at the top of the enclosed external stairs, and one evening we just sat out there watching the sunset as the fireflies came to life.

We cannot compliment the room or our hosts enough. We fully intend to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonJulie, Propriétaire at La Maison de Julie, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thanks a lot !
We're aren't doing that for this kind of nice advice on the web ... but finally we're very happy if you loved Entrevaux ( and also our house ).
Looking forward to receiving you again.
Christian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison de Julie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de Julie

Address: Place Ste Marguerite, 04320 Entrevaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Entrevaux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Entrevaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Build near the medieval city of Entrevaux during the 18th century, La Maison de Julie continues the local tradition of hospitality : with charming rooms as well as gourmet breakfasts, that reflect the scents and flavours of the Haute-Provence South Alps. We hope to see you very soon.Carole, Christian and the children. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison de Julie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.