We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practical, affordable, exceeds our expectation considering the min amount that we paid for.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Dolce Vita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Dolce Vita to your Saves list
La Dolce Vita
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Esterillos Oeste, beach, 50 meters from Bus Stop, Esterillos Oeste 60901, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Las pinas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Practical, affordable, exceeds our expectation considering the min amount that we paid for.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Foods- great - some are better than the well known resto outside
Place - very good , our room was very clean, comfort room was okay but hair blower was not working at Dahlia room.
Price- very reasonable
Staff and crew- very helpful and friendly
Style-semi Victorian with touch of native - very nice
Pool- clean
Wifi - good
Frequency of cleaning- daily very good
Restaurant- almost every thing is there. My fave is tuna kinilaw ( though not in the menu list but they provided) breakfast was also good

Thank you to all the staff of Dolce Vita and to Ms Luz

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    26
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
44
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We booked a room here for a few nights off this gorgeous beach. We arrived in the early afternoon and checked in. The owner is a man of few words, a little hard to get info from and not very friendly. We needed to get some laundry done that day and he and his wife had it all folded and ready for us that evening. I did loose a couple of garments, which could happen even at the laundromat. We had a wonderful dinner that day at a restaurant called "Surf Mi", owned by a couple boys from Colorado that can cook! After dinner upon returning to the hotel, we found alive cockroaches but luckily all our stuff was still zipped. We also realized that the "Sofa bed" listed for our room was in fact a flat ratty futon and we had to pull out and it took up most of the kitchen/living room space and blocked the glass mall-like front doors. I just couldn't bare it anymore so we got our 3 small kids 5 and under and relocated using the only taxi we could find in town at about 11 pm. We relocated to Rancho Coral which was very nice and worth the extra fro a clean floor for my 1 year old to walk around on. We were charged the full amount for the night stay at La Doce Vita. I was sincerely trying to stay there but way too many things didn't seem to work. I could see this working as a crash pad for surfers but I wouldn't take the love of my life here or any families. I'd rather see dead cockroaches than living ones!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Friends thank you very much for your review, this will allow us to improve the experiences of other guests. When you arrived you were welcomed in the usually best way by our staff. They also made a good laundry service for you, as from your feedback. We informed you that the sofa bed was small to host your 3 kids, anyway you decided to book only one room to keep your guys under control.
Every day we clean up and refresh all our confortable apartments and, as you may know, the hotel is working hard to respect nature around and is involved in sustainable Tourism. We try to use minimal pesticide in the hotel, trying to control the insects that come from beside the beach or from the forest and sometime, in this period of the year it is hard for us to eliminate all of them.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marietta GA
Level Contributor
472 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I loved this place!!! But be forewarned - this is not the ritz in any sense. Rooms were clean, but spartan and somewhat worn. The town is somewhat the same way. This is a great alternative from the busy touristy and tacky Jaco up the coast - the whole reason i chose to stay here.
setting was quiet and peaceful - very low key. Managers were very friendly and spoke enough english to get by- but they were very helpful.
a light breakfast is included - but we paid extra and ordered the extended breakfast - so worth it!! my son had pancakes, wife and i had egg platters - all was delicious and delivered with a smile to our patio.
place is right on the beach
had nice small, clean pool.
a few restaurants in the area and a small grocery store all within a quarter mile of hotel

If you like a low key, quiet location - you will love this property.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear friends, thank you very much for your nice and fair comments, We strive to give the best service and make each and every stay magical. We hope you will visit us again soon. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Driving into Estarillo Oeste is a bumpy ride and you will feel like you are lost if you take the wrong exit . There are two exits off the highway. Look for the one that has a sign with the hotel's name. It takes you to the little hub. A couple of restaurants, surf lesson shop, and the small market. Past the market turn right on the 2nd Street and take that to the end you will see the signs at that point. The place is run by a cute couple Emilio and Jasmine. They make your experience there very comfortable. There are about 14 units consisting of a kitchenette with a hot plate, a futon for extra sleeping, 1 bedroom with a queen size bed and a small bathroom with heated water. It also has a nice running air conditioner and a safe in the room. You also have a deck with table and chairs. They have a small kidney shaped pool that is warm like bath water which is great to soak in at night We were there in May and paid $75 a night. If you pay for 3 nights you get a discount of 15%. There is a free continental breakfast in the morning Emilio and Jasmine make out of their own kitchen. And the option to order something else on the menu for breakfast. All other meals are fend for yourself. We took surf lessons at Bretts surf shop and had a wonderful time. Douglas took us out. Walking on the beach in the morning and at night was wonderful. You can also play in the surf. We found it affordable. I would highly recommend this Hotel and would stay again ourselves.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, Owner at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear friends, thank you very much for your lovely and warm review !! We love that you had such a nice experience! and will always try to give the best to each and every of our guests in order to read nice words as the ones that you wrote. We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your time with us and are looking forward for your next trip to Costa RIca !!. Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Its been two years since I stayed at La Dolce Vita but my memories of this small resort are pleasant. On the beach, strong air conditioning. The small staff is high on security and very freindly. Easy acess to the beach and the local shops.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, Owner at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Barbara, thanks for reviewing and having, after one year, still good memories of La Dolce Vita. We are proud we helped you to have fond memories of Esterillos Oeste and of the hotel and hope we will have the pleasure to host you again soon! Best Regards and Pura Vida. info@hotel-ladolcevita.biz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were looking for peace, quiet, tranquility, and friendly, warm waves. La Dolce Vita and the Esterillos area delivered on all fronts :)

The room we stayed in was simple and immaculate. We were able to get food from the local super and cook our lunch and dinners in the kitchenette. The air conditioning in the bedroom was powerful, which was great for us because we were coming from much colder climes. The fridge was full sized and held everything we had. The wifi worked fine and we had multiple people streaming videos with no issues. There was a couch that converted to a full bed that made this a great place for us and our children (ages 10 and 12)

The hotel is like the room: simple and immaculate. There is a small kidney shaped pool that our kids loved to relax in after playing in the ocean. There is a small deck area with partial shade. The rooms are on one side of this area: they are lined up end to end. The surrounding garden is beautiful and well maintained. The hotel borders a camping area, and it can get loud on the weekends, but we were so tired by the end of the day that we didn't notice.

The hotel sits about 30 feet away from the beach, this is about as good as it gets for surfing. I'm an intermediate at best surfer, and was able to get 4-5 hours a day in the water, with lots of long rides, in the morning and early evening. Breakfast is served in the morning with coffee, toast, jam, and amazing fresh fruit.

The waves were chest to head high, but gentle and crumbly on the outside, perfect for longboarding. The waves on the inside were beach breaks, and there were a lot more shortboarders on the inside. I didnt surf on the inside very much, the outside waves gave much longer rides.

Everyone was very friendly on the waves, and during the week the break was completely uncrowded. There were gentle sections that the kids could boogieboard in, and the water was bathtub warm.

Esterillos Oeste is a sleepy town with one main road that has a bar, a place to rent surfboards, a small market, and a restaurant. In the evenings people would come to the beach to hang out and watch the surfers. We were usually too tired after the evening surf to make the short walk 'into' town to visit the bar, but it is a very short walk and everything feels very convenient.

In the afternoons (after the morning surf and breakfast) we would take the kids to Esterillos Centro, about 5 minutes away by car, where there is a beautiful, deserted beach. The tide would be out by this time and the water was 3-4 feet deep on a shallow shelf that went out about 100 yards. Mellow waves would hit that shelf and explode into walls of whitewater, which made for great boogie boarding that the kids absolutely loved.

The caretaker, his wife, and son were very friendly and patient with my terrible Spanish. The owner was very accommodating and did a last minute re-schedule when we found we had not booked the right dates.

I'm back from vacation now and still dreaming about those morning dawn patrols where I was one of four people out on the water. I hope to come back and stay at La Dolce Vita soon, it was an amazing, restorative experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, Owner at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your nice and comprehensive report on "La Dolce Vita" !! We all are very happy to know that you had such a great time with us. We hope to see you soon. Pura Vida !! info@hotel-ladolcevita.biz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tapa, Estonia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed there for 4 nights. We loved every minute. As we came from Europe, time difference forced us to lay down at 8pm and to wake at 5am. We prepared coffee, took mugs and chairs and sat to the beach to watch sunrise. It was awesome! After I run by the beach, wife prepared breakfast and we swam for long time in warm ocean and took suntan. Rooms- kichenette and bedroom- were clean, AC worked quiet, As we had car, we did every day radial trips- to Tarcoles cocodriles watch, to Manuel Antonio and long roundtrip through Cordilleras. We wanted hotel with reasonable price right on the beach and we got it. Good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, Owner at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your review, We all are glad to know that you had such a great time with us and that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to your next visit to Costa Rica and La Dolce Vita. Best regards and Pura Vida! info@hotel-ladolcevita.biz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dolce Vita

Address: Esterillos Oeste, beach, 50 meters from Bus Stop, Esterillos Oeste 60901, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Oeste
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Esterillos Oeste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Dolce Vita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "La Dolce Vita" is located on the beach in Esterillos Oeste, Jaco, facing the shore of the Pacific Ocean. The Hotel, with its seven apartments facing a wonderful garden, is a new, first class construction building offering all comforts. Each apartment has patio/deck, terrazzo-balcony and is smartly furnished, bathroom with hot water, air conditioning, fan, kitchen, fridge with up to 4 beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Dolce Vita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dolce Vita Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.