We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SWEET Life--INDEED!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Dolce Vita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Dolce Vita to your Saves list
La Dolce Vita
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Esterillos Oeste, beach, 50 meters from Bus Stop, Esterillos Oeste 60901, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newport Beach, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“SWEET Life--INDEED!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

Absolutely, HANDS-DOWN, THE BEST place we stayed in Central America--over months and multiple trips. AMAZING staff--Emilio y Jasmina "La Gerencia" not only welcomed us warmly but gave us an INDESCRIBABLY BREATHTAKING and restorative couple weeks at a VERY reasonable price. Their hospitality extended as far as three square meals daily (for an extra few dollars per day), Coco-tree climbing tutorials, and they even showed us how to prepare Crab Soup, which left us more nourished and rested than promised. I'll just say that we've been back multiple times and brought friends and family back repeatedly. La Dolce Vita--de VERDAD, MAE! Friendly locals too as long as you don't snag their breaks, mush their lips or overly gringo-ize their locale.

Room Tip: Esterillos Oeste. Respect the locals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    26
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
44
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

The hotel is located steps away from the beach, and is 20 minutes south of Jaco. We arrived one day earlier than expected and were able to check in. However, the room had a strong odor of smoke and did not appear to be as clean as we hoped (debris on the floor). We thought we could make the most of it, but changed our mind after experiencing the beach heat and lack of air conditioning would make it difficult for my pregnant wife and six year old son to enjoy.

The manager was friendly, helpful and called for a taxi to take us back to San Jose.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevita10, General Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
Dear Guest, We wish to thank you for the frank and useful report you made about your experience. We have decided to stronger implement the NO-SMOKING policy, adding a NO SMOKING sign in each room, in order to prevent the guests to smoke inside the apartments.
Unfortunately, your unexpected earlier arrival,in the high season period when the hotel is fully booked, did not get us enough time to refresh the air of your room, where a previous guest had been smoking without permission.

We have also reviewed with the staff the check-list procedures, in order to get the apartments always clean, fresh and ready to be occupied, even if a guest arrives earlier than expected.
We'll do whatever it takes to make these improvements and satisfy the guests in every
situation. Thanks again for your report and accept our apologies for any inconvenience you had during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo de Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

To be specific the hotel is located 15 kms south from Jaco, Costa Rica in Esterillos Oeste. Hotel is beach front of a beautiful beach, with great surf. The beach and town ambiance is tranquil and full of locals, quaint and safe.
The hotel is a small 7 room hotel with a small pool facing the beach. It is well taken care of, room cleanliness is very good and each room has a kitchenette, AC, a queen size bed, and a pull out bed in the living room. We have visited this hotel 4 times already over the years and cannot wait to go back. The value is excellent. Great price for what you get. You will not be disappointed. There is no better place to stay in Esterillos!!! Don't forget to check out the Copper Mermaid (perhaps the only one of its kind in the world) that sits out in the ocean at high tide and which at low tide you can walk out to. Happy Travels.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penfield NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

My Dear Stefano

I have just returned from my most wonderful vacation in Costa Rica, and La Docle Vita. After my first night, I was tired, the stay was wonderful, just as I had envisioned it
would be as I made my plans.

I am sorry about my first e/m, but with the help of your employees, EMILIO and YASMINA, my wife and I enjoyed our stay at your resort to the utmost. We would, and may, do it again.

The rooms were very comfortable, the breakfast were timely, varied, and delivered to our rooms. The A/C and TV worked well.
The view of the ocean was just as your web site pictured it. We would sit on our private balcony eat breakfast, drink wonderful coffee and watch the breakers roll in. then we would stroll the beautiful, clean beach.
The rooms were kept clean and comfortable. And because it was the tenth day of our total we need to have some washing done well no problem. I simplily asked EMILIO and he arranged with his wife, YASMINA, to take care of my minor problem. In less than 3 hours the wahing was done, folded and returned to our room.

The 4 nights we spent at La Docle Vita gave us the time to see Costa Rica as it is and not as it is in San Jose, Jaco, and Manual Antonio . They were all too busy for us.
>
> We ate at three of your local bar/restaurants ate Costa Rica food, and shopped at the local
> grocery store. I went to church around the corner, plus went swimming and
> walked the beach. All just as planned.

We would give your hotel a 5 star rating.
>
> THANK YOU KINDLY,
>
> Sincerely,
>
> Bill and Jewel Kelley
>
>

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

We have been happy of our staying at La Dolce Vita. The location is wonderful, on the beach, the nature is beautiful and the environment relaxed and friendly. We theink that is a good value for money place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

This hotel was really fun...by the beach and very close to the bars and restaurants area..friendly staff

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

We spent a week at this small hotel on the beach in Estrillos Este. We rented a 4x4 for the height clearance factor major roads were well maintaned. Watch out for the sign toward your right on 34 that says "Marti Gras" below it you will see a very small sign for La Dolce Vita. Make that right by the bus station. Follow the road straight toward the beach. And make a right just before the surf shop. Another small sign. Continue 20 meters and make a left at the fence post. The road coming in is rough on a small car so go slow.

Emillio and his wife prepared a light breakfast with wonderful coffee in large mugs!!! They have a pool, although small, but very nice to have. We stayed in #1 on the second floor. Kitchenette, bath and bedroom. Couch has fold out bed. Nice views of the beach only 50 meters away. Scarlet macaws can be seen and heard out side the grocery store every morning and yes the roosters as well. I would recommed this hotel to anyone on a budget who doesn't mind not being at the Ritz!

Low Tide Lounge 100 meters from the hotel has a fair selection for breakfast and lunch free Wifi. We were there on the off season and realized few options for resturants near by. Best advice is to eat at Soda, these small run eating places are the best at about $4 (4000 colonies) a plate with drink, About 20 minutes in either direction from the hotel. Make sure it says "Soda". There is a small pizza place close by toward Jaco on the left (not bad). Jaco, 30 minutes away has more options for dinners with Quiznos and KFC for lunch.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dolce Vita

Address: Esterillos Oeste, beach, 50 meters from Bus Stop, Esterillos Oeste 60901, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Oeste
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Esterillos Oeste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Dolce Vita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "La Dolce Vita" is located on the beach in Esterillos Oeste, Jaco, facing the shore of the Pacific Ocean. The Hotel, with its seven apartments facing a wonderful garden, is a new, first class construction building offering all comforts. Each apartment has patio/deck, terrazzo-balcony and is smartly furnished, bathroom with hot water, air conditioning, fan, kitchen, fridge with up to 4 beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your La Dolce Vita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dolce Vita Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.