We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation I have ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rancho Coral

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Esterillos Oeste
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Rancho Coral
Save
You added Hotel Rancho Coral to your Saves list
Beachfront | 100 mts Este de Oficinas Acueductos y Alcantarillados (light blue building), Esterillos Oeste, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
East Islip, New York
1 review
“Best Vacation I have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

From the waves to the staff, Rancho Coral is one of the best spots to vacation in Costa Rica. The rooms are great and the food is fantastic. I went to surf and wife went to relax and she loved it too, beach is steps away from your room and the staff does everything to accommodate whatever you need. Been there twice and I can't wait to get back down there again. A+

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Came down with the wife and kids and did not know what to expect, this was our first time to Costa Rica so we did have a back up plan; but there was no need once we got there. When we arrived we were greeted by the owners who speak fluent English and Spanish. That made things so much easier.

Our rooms were spotless, way nice, comfortable with AC , and kitchen accommodations were outstanding. I went to surf and teach the kids how to as well. Rancho Coral had all of the surfing equipment not to mention they took us to the best surf breaks because of their local knowledge of all the breaks, swell direction, wind conditions etc. This was exactly what I was looking for on my trip; no guessing and help from the locals so I could maximize time in the water- they were far beyond great fulfilling this! The nightlife was a blast, their restaurant was always fun and when we wanted to venture out, they also told us where to go for everything; food, waterfall tours, canopy tours, wildlife and more...they have connections to so many activities it was hard to decide.

Breakfast after surf sessions were unreal and the coffee was to die for. They have the costa rica experience nailed. The wife and kids loved it and can’t stop talking about it. The kids had so much fun surfing they are keeping their grades high in school to ensure they get a return trip this summer! They are very close to Jaco which is great for shopping, nightlife, etc…

Can’t wait to go back, by far the best surf trip ever. I could type all day long, without a doubt Rancho Coral is the best Hotel and surf camp down there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Rancho Coral was fantastic. We stayed in one of the garden view rooms I thought the pictures on the website were great but they did not do it justice! It was just like the pictures only soooo much better. We were able so see macaws, butterflies, sloths, geckos, bats, toucans, vultures, iguanas and several friendly cats and dogs while having access to the internet the sunsets are magnificent the hospitality can't be beat, it is a family managed small hotel right on the beach Eva and her Family were great. We weren't sure exactly what we wanted to do in Costa Rica before we arrived and they were very helpful in orienting us on the various activities that the area has to offer. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Once you visit the Rancho once I guarantee you will return every chance you get... The rooms are awesome, the staff is very friendly and attentive to the guests needs. Wake up with some of Costa Ricas funnest waves literally at your front window. I recommend the Rancho Coral to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

The place was great. From the weather, the accommodations, the food and the beach. Truly a dream place to be. I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rancho Coral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rancho Coral

Address: Beachfront | 100 mts Este de Oficinas Acueductos y Alcantarillados (light blue building), Esterillos Oeste, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Oeste
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Esterillos Oeste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are not a bed and breakfast. We are a Boutique Hotel. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rancho Coral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.