We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rancho Coral

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Esterillos Oeste
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Rancho Coral
Save
You added Hotel Rancho Coral to your Saves list
Beachfront | 100 mts Este de Oficinas Acueductos y Alcantarillados (light blue building), Esterillos Oeste, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Pizza ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We dined at this place tonight, it was incredible. I have been in Costa Rica for 11 years. This is the best Pizza i have ever eaten! I loved that it was not too pricey and is family run. We WILL be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaco, Costa Rica
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I loved this place! It was recommended to me by a friend as I was looking for a peaceful vacation spot for my kids to come visit. It was a wonderful experience! Great room, great food at their pizza restaurant, lovely staff and the beach is soo beautiful! Definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room #1 is great cause it's beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

If you enjoy eating with at least half a dozen dogs at your table begging, this is the place for you. The food was good enough but the dogs were too much. They don't serve alcohol but you may bring your own. So we brought a bottle of wine and a corkscrew with us. My husband was in the process of opening the wine when our server offered to open. We hadn't asked for this assistance and easily could have opened the wine but figured this was a courtesy. Well without the server mentioning it, we were charged $5 or $10 (I don't remember which) on our bill for opening the wine. Good enough food and reasonably priced but we wouldn't return.

Room Tip: We did not stay here but we went to the office to ask to view a room. We could see the owner in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night. We arrived around 12:30, we were told that check-in is not until 3:00 so we said that we will wait at their restaurant but we were told that the restaurant is not open for lunch until 1:00, they suggested for us to drive around or walk to the beach, which is very nice beach but if you are hungry and thirsty and the weather is hot, walk in the beach might not be a good idea, but since we did not feel like driving around we went for a walk and came back for lunch shortly after one. The food was decent, but a tad salty. Their smoothie is awesome.
Our room was average, clean enough but the bed was very uncomfortable. A lot of mosquito inside. Mosquitoes buzzing in my ears all night. Our body was full of bites the next morning. We were glad when it was time to leave.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsterillosOeste, Owner at Hotel Rancho Coral, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
We are sorry about your stay and are always here to help guests have the best possible experience. If there is any problem with mosquitos or bugs you can ask the staff which is on duty 24 hours a day to either spray the room, change rooms or give you some insect repellant. We use premium mattresses. So, we are sorry your bed was not comfortable. In any event our staff would have been more than happy to move you to another room. Our restaurant does its best to accommodate guests as well. If you are not satisfied with your meal or it is too salty send it back and we'd be more than happy to make it again to your liking. Again, we are very sorry for not making your experience a great one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights in the end of the our 14 days travel in Costa rica. Place is really nice and clean, rooms are fully equipped and there is a serf board rent in the hotel. The food shop is just 5 min walk by the beach and there is everything what you need for self-made dinner.
Really great place and staff for the excellent price- we will definitely stay here next time!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Get away from the "sterile" conglomerate hotels. I love this place. Between Jaco and Manuel Antonio (Quepos), I had easy district bus access to both tourist communities, but the tranquility of a private beach. The Pacific is warm and inviting. This beach is well known for surfing, but the jungle and gardens make it heaven on Earth. The people are friendly with bilingual Spanish/English owners with much advice and help regarding excursions and community life. The hotel is on the beach and right in the village center for restaurants, bars, and the convenience store.

Room Tip: There is no pool, but there is a warm Pacific Ocean as a front yard. FYI: Margarita has a quaint &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I love this hotel. It is by far the best value for a beach hotel in Costa Rica. It is beach front! It has many trees and golf course type of grass so it's easy to walk around barefoot before you hit the sand. The rooms are very clean and fully equipped. I love the ranch in the middle of the property, it is a great spot to hang any time of the day or night and it's open 24 hrs.
One of the most important things is the people that run the place, they are an amazing team, super experienced and attentive. They will make you feel like family. The beach it self has amazing sunsets because of the mirror in the water this particular beach creates in the evening. It's a beach for everyone..sun-bathers, surfers, kids and couples. There are natural Jacuzzis at the far right of the beach that are created by the low tide. I deal to relax and to snorkel. By the way... they let me take my dog!!

Room Tip: Reserve ahead of time. Ask for room #1 or #2
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rancho Coral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rancho Coral

Address: Beachfront | 100 mts Este de Oficinas Acueductos y Alcantarillados (light blue building), Esterillos Oeste, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Oeste
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Esterillos Oeste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are not a bed and breakfast. We are a Boutique Hotel. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rancho Coral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.