We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sigiri Holiday Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sigiri Holiday Inn to your Saves list
Sigiri Holiday Inn
Sigiriya Road, Inamaluwa 21120, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Inamaluwa B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“quiet place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Quiet place, located a bit far from the town. The only one annoyance is monkeys. In the morning they run around the hotel and try to steal something, and also they are aggressive. The room was OK. We ordered food in the hotel and it wasn't tasty.
To stay for 1 night on your way around Sri Lanka this place is a good deal.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

When we arrived here we were really happy to be told our double room would be 2000 rupees without aircon and 2500 with. We chose the without option which included driver accommodation. The room was pretty tidy except for a heap of dead ants. We had dinner with them which was unfortunately the worst and most expensive food we have had in Sri Lanka. Tasteless fried rice and bland fried noodles which we chose as they didn't have the curry and rice option available. When we went to pay in the morning the young man said the room was 2500 rupees and that he had never said it was 2000 as the day before he quoted us in USD, this was ridiculous as we don't even know what the USD conversion is so would have asked for a rupees price if he had. Both my partner and I were there and he was definitely now changing the price. Such a shame it turned out this way because it could have been a lovely place to stay. If you do stay here I suggest you pay at the start when they five you a price or get it in writing. They had also put a service charge on the 1100 rupees we paid to have awful food dumped on our table. We paid the bill he was asking for to prevent anymore confrontation but it really ruined our day.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Good budget guesthouse to stay for a night to explore Dambulla and Sigiriya for only 2500 rupees (triple room, excluding breakfast). Cleanliness was average. Be careful while walking up to the second floor rooms as the stairs are steep. Wifi switches off after 11pm and only available from 8am onwards. Shower power very weak. Ambience wise, there is a "kampong / village" feel - surrounded by greens. Good value for money for backpackers!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I spent there only one night and it was good night. Rooms were big with nice bathroom (not special, normal one). Every room has got some kind of terrace so you can sit outside and have a rest. There is a small restaurant with tasty and fresh local food (soups are great). Breakfast is western (tosts, butter, egg, jam and tea/ coffee) but you can ask about local one which is much more tasty. You can buy also a beer.
Hotel has got internet cafe with reasonable rates. There is also Wi - Fi zone but it didn't work when I was there.

Rates are low and quality is high - I strongly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sigiri Holiday Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigiri Holiday Inn

Address: Sigiriya Road, Inamaluwa 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Inamaluwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Inamaluwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sigiri Holiday Home is an eco-friendly family resort located between Sigiriya and Dambulla within Sri Lanka's world famous culture triangle of Kandy - Anuradhapura -Polonnaruwa. Sigiri Holiday Home is an ideal base from which you can explore the many picturesque sites famous for their historic and cultural importance, such as Anurahapura, PoIonnaruwa, Sigiriya, Dambulla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Sigiri Holiday Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sigiri Holiday Inn Sri Lanka/Inamaluwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sigiri Holiday Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.