We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new definition of hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Granada Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Granada Beach House to your Saves list
The Granada Beach House
Cebu South Road | South Granada, Boljoon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boljoon
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A new definition of hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Wow....what a hotel! A beautiful small private hotel on the beach, gorgeous snorkeling place, close to the whale shark watching, with delicious meals provided, and in a great environment.

The owners are more than hospitable. They are extremely kind, helpful and welcoming.

I tremendously enjoyed my time there and wouldn't hesitate a second to go again. It's a jewel among many hotels I've seen.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

it advertises to be a botique resort, not quite, maybe butiki (tagalog for gheko). To start with the rooms have an a/c unit, but are set at low cool and the control knobs removed (to avoid changing the setting).. To make matters worse, the main door is a folding louvred door that lets all the cool air out, at the end of the day the room is only 0.1C cooler than the outside temp. Since its summer the external temp is 34C, so just imagine paying for an airconditioned room thats just as warm as the outside, basically you have a glorified electric fan room not an airconditoned one.

It does not end there. You have to look for the staff if you want anything, I ran out of toilet paper and they brought me a half used roll. Time to shower and I find the towel was stained, the water comes out of the shower in trickles, thats until someone downstairs turns on the tap, then your out of water. At night your eaten my mosquitos since the rooms are not screened and there is non moquito nets and to think Cebu is the dengue capital of the philippines.

The food is edible to say the least, the menu......what menu, this is not a botique resort, you eat what your served. Selection of beverages is sorely lacking and the bar shuts at 8.

Hotel 101 you make money on drinks by giving guests what they want anytime of the day.

In terms of location its off the beaten path nop signs on the road show where it is, so you will get lost till you ask a local where the place is, it does have a great view. Its such a waste as you can see the concept of what was supposed to be but is not, because the execution was just awfull.

The beach is coarse sand and it does not extend to the water. The "beach" by the water is just rocks and corals

I've been to worse places, but what really got me was the rate they were charging was not comensurate to what I got, at 4K/night thats the rate for a real hotel room with a/c, basically highway robbery, not to mention false advertisement..

I would definitely recomend this place to people I hate.

The only thing that made up for all the deficiancies was I was with great company and got to dive with the whale sharks.

Room Tip: sleep outdoors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granadabeach, General Manager at The Granada Beach House, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hello Jinx d

We took over the management of Granada beach hotel on 1st September and we found your review very informative, thank you for being so honest. We have taken many of your points on board and will work on improving these elements as soon as we can.

We have started some refurbishment work, repairing the doors, hanging heavy duty curtains to keep the cool air in and the sun out, mosquito nets on the beds, new linen and towels......we are working very hard to improve the standards of the hotel over the next few months. It would be great if you were willing to take the risk and come back to visit us again next year, please make contact with us through our website if you are interested.

Kind regards
Keira & Jacques
The Granada beach house management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapu-Lapu City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have been to South Granada Resort twice and would still keep coming back. It's like your home away from home. Mr. Gould, the owner, and the staff are all very friendly.

Thank you Mr. Gould for building this resort. I hope it will continue to stay that way - just a place for pure relaxation and nothing else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We just got back from our wonderful 4 nights stay at this place and we had a wonderful time. We would HIGHLY recommend it if you are looking for a great and peaceful place to relax. It has a great panoramic view of the mountains and the ocean all around, great landscaping and you can even watch the stars at night anywhere outside from the pool or up on the deck where you can enjoy listening to the sound of the ocean waves on the background. It is a perfect place to spend time with family, friends or your significant other (very romantic place). Nearby is the beautifully renovated watch tower where you can also enjoy the same great view. Our host Stu & Antoinette were great, they served us very delicious local and American breakfast which are always more than enough for the three of us. We didn't have time to eat dinner there because we were always invited to our friends and relatives for dinner. Up front is a great place for diving and snorkeling. It is also not far away from the town of Oslob where you can swim with the Whale Shark and about 10 minutes tricycle ride to the main town of Boljoon. We really had a great time and we would go back there in a heart beat...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

What is so amazing about this place is that it can never get crowded. They only have limited rooms for guests enough to accommodate private vacation. They have century old watch tower where you can see wider view of the ocean. The resort is situated by the cliff so everything you see is panoramic! I did dive here twice and it's a marine sanctuary! Full of surprises. On our last day, there were about 8-10 dolphins dancing in the ocean back and forth and we were so entertained. Definitely not my last time to be there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This came highly recommended by a friend. I've stayed in Cebu for 8 years and was frequent in the South but this place has all the recipe of a best vacation spot.

1. Dive- just a swim from the shore, and the view is amazing
2. Accommodation- value for money. sumptuous full board meals, amazing view
3. Near the whale watching site and Tumalog falls
4. Stu and Anne together with their staff are very hospitable and made sure we were having the best time.
5. Ease in booking, very responsive to email

My friends and I will surely come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

What a superb place to go to for pure relaxation. This is not a 5 star chain style resort. It is like arriving at a friends beautiful beach house and taking a deep breath and soaking up the sea breeze and great views. The rooms on the second level have an amazing shared deck with great views of the ocean and in the evening enjoy a fantastic sea breeze that keeps the humidity at bay.

Our room was spacious and clean. The doors to both our entrance and rear balcony were always kept open so we could enjoy the cooling breeze rather than lying in the air conditioning. From the moment we arrived our hosts Anne and Stu were brilliant. Anne had even organized a birthday cake and presents for my wife which were a brilliant and unexpected surprise. We also had a nice private romantic dinner on the deck with great fresh seafood and a delicious curry.

The diving right in front of the resort is very nice. Great for beginners and more advanced divers as well. The reef has a nice drop off with plenty of nooks and crannies to explore. Nearby the resort is a whale shark hotspot that Stu took us to twice to dive with whalesharks. One one dive we were within a few meters of 3 juveniles and the next dive we had 2 very close by. Also nearby are some other islands with great diving.

The food was plentiful including on one night suckling pig (ordered by another group who were at the resort) which was amazing. You never feel hungry at the resort as the food is great and always topped off with fresh organic fruits. We loved having a few drinks at the rustic little cliff side bar with Stu (including a very strong local dark rum)! Stu has a knack for some great stories both diving and non diving, that keep you entertained.

There are also plenty of little spots around the resort to sit down and enjoy a quiet moment with a drink. Great views of the ocean are everywhere and at night it was great to lie in the pool and enjoy checking out the stars.

We really enjoyed our time at Granada and would highly recommend it to anyone who needs a peaceful break away. Great for divers and non divers alike and especially for people who are tired of the typical 4 and 5 star hotel chains. This place is charming and un-pretentious. Enjoy relaxing!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs have great views from the communal deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Granada Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Granada Beach House

Address: Cebu South Road | South Granada, Boljoon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Boljoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boljoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granada beach house is a secluded eight bedroom rustic property, set on a private peninsula point with 180-degree ocean view. Located 100km south of Cebu city and only 20mins from Oslob, home of the great Butanging (Whale Sharks). Escape the city for a taste of paradise. Relax in the swimming pool or enjoy the small private beach, peppered with coconut trees, hammocks and native umbrella's; with a coral shore to break the ocean waves. Snorkel around the bay and discover the colourful marine life, or scuba dive the house reef and explore the 100ft coral wall drop off. A small boutique hotel with 8 large air-conditioned bedrooms, all with private shower rooms and a balcony to the back, overlooking a mini forest. The rooms are bright and airy with a rustic colour scheme; providing shade from the mid-day sun. All rooms are furnished with a wardrobe and shelves, complimentary water, tea and coffee-making facilities; as well as fresh towels for the shower and pool. The hotel uses a solar system to heat the water in the shower, so they only have warm/hot water from approx. 8Am - 8pm daily. Jacques and Keira took over the management of the beach house in September 2013. The South African / Irish couple have a hands-on approach at the hotel and together with their friendly Filipino team, provide a warm and personalized service to all their guests. Over 150 Whale Sharks have made the bay close to the house their home, local fishermen feed the whales daily from 6am-12pm (no need to book in advance). You can watch and take photos from a boat or snorkel /swim with the gentle giants; it will be the highlight of a memorable holiday in paradise. Free wifi is available in the bedrooms & restaurant area - please note that we use a mobile internet device due to our remote location, so it's not high speed. The hotel now accepts all major credit and debit cards, but please note due to their remote location the card reader can be unreliable; its best to also have some foreign or local currency. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Granada Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granada Beach Resort And Spa
Granada Beach Hotel Cebu
The Granada Beach House Boljoon, Cebu Island, Philippines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Granada Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.