We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chatton Park House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chatton Park House to your Saves list
Chatton Park House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Chatton NE66 5RA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
01668215507 BETTER PRICE
Ranked #3 of 5 Chatton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this lovely traditional country house. Superb friendly service and local advice from Michelle, delicious breakfasts, the bedroom was spacious, beautiful, comfortable with a big bathroom and lovely views of the gardens. It's perfectly located for all the local attractions and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I highly recommend this wonderful B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Alnwick room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChattonParkHouse, Owner at Chatton Park House, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a great review Michelle and I are so pleased you had a good time and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
94
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We have just returned from a four day stay at Paul and Michelle's beautiful Northumbrian country retreat and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend Chatton Park to any discerning traveller looking for an individual, high quality, traditional country house break. The location is perfect for visiting the many great attractions that Northumberland has to offer; the house and grounds are really quite special - the look and feel of the place is one of classic English quality - nothing flashy or ostentatious, but tastefully decorated and furnished in a way that makes you feel very comfortable.
As hosts Paul and Michelle were really helpful and friendly, without being intrusive in any way and made us feel very relaxed and at home. We really looked forward to returning to our room at the end of each day and to Paul's excellently prepared and presented breakfasts in the morning. We rarely stay at the same place twice but Chatton Park will be an exception to that rule.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Alnwick room but had the chance to view some of the other rooms and they all look l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChattonParkHouse, Owner at Chatton Park House, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review Michelle and I are so glad that you had a good time at Chatton Park and we hope to see you again soon.



Kind Regards



Paul & Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eltham, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

If your looking for something with History, centrally located to charming local villages, yet within easy reach of Berwick on Tweed, Newcastle or Edinburgh well this is the place.
Michelle and Paul are delightful hosts, and there attention to detail is a credit to them both. The house boasts much history and beauty.

The room we had being the Chillingham, was very comfortable, great twin beds, and a large well appointed ensuite bathroom. We are from Australia and this Accomodation would certainly rate as 5 star luxury Accomodation in our opinion.
It is not often you come across a property with as high standards as Chatton Park House, and we would recommend to any prospective Aussie traveller that you could not find better.
Michelle and Paul, thank you again, when you start producing your muesli in bulk, we put our hands up to be your Aussie distributors it was the best.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChattonParkHouse, Owner at Chatton Park House, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for your great comments it means a great deal to us that you had a fab time and we will definitely look you up when we come to Australia.
Enjoy the rest of your trip.


Good Day Mate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was our second visit to Chatton, the first time was a few years ago as our first trip as a couple. We said at the time we would come back and stay in the lodge this time so we booked to stay for a few days in April. I have no idea why people have written poor reviews of this saying its 'charmless' as its a gorgeous little cottage with everything you could possibly need. Also the note saying to replace logs is just courtesy, so no idea why someone would write that as a negative (ever heard of a shop?!) . The bed is huge and comfy, the location is to tranquil and peaceful. Lovely friendly host and we really could not think of any negative comments at all. We will be back in the summer. The location is great for places like Lindisfarne and Bamburgh and the perfect place to relax after a long days walking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChattonParkHouse, Owner at Chatton Park House, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your great comment Michelle and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

A wonderful, and very relaxing B and B, with lovely breakfasts and a wonderfully friendly host! The rooms were spacious, comfortable, clean and fitted out superbly. The lounge and breakfast rooms were also welcoming and had the benefit of wonderful views. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChattonParkHouse, Owner at Chatton Park House, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put some great comments on TripAdvisor Michelle and I really do appreciate it.


Kind Regards


Paul & Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed at Chatton Park for only one night on our way up to Scotland and it was just perfect. Paul and Michelle were so welcoming that we felt we were staying in the country house of good friends. The bedroom (we had a twin) was generous in size as was the bathroom, and the sitting rooms were beautifully appointed and comfortable. The breakfast was a real feast with everything you could want, all cooked to perfection. The position (not far off the A1) was quiet, rural and peaceful with lovely views of the rolling countryside. We did not want to leave! We recommend Chatton Park without any reservation at all.

Sue and Martin, Suffolk

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChattonParkHouse, Owner at Chatton Park House, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Michelle and I would like to thank you for your fab comments and we are so pleased that you had a good time at Chatton Park.

Kind Regards


Paul & Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Chatton Park House, arriving on Friday the 11th April, leaving on Sunday 13th April.

We were met by Michelle one of the owners. She was lovely and had a big smile waiting for us. Our room was the Cheviot Room, which had a lounge with TV, drinks fridge, coffee machine and tea. Very soon after settling in a tray of coffee and tea was brought up with a slice of fruit cake each, which was delicious.

The room was warm, cozy and the bed was very comfortable.

Now onto the breakfasts. They were just delicious. I had the kippers which were caught in Seahouses, locally. They were so tasty. The "Full English" on the Sunday was even tastier. Probably the best breakfasts we have eaten. Paul is the chef. We did not meet him, but would have loved to, just to congratulate him on his cullinery skills. There were plenty of other choices for the breakfast, even to satisfy the fussy type.

This is an ideal place for a quiet, relaxing, restful break. You have so much to do on your door step or just choose to do nothing. The Percy Arms at Chatton village is great for pub food and a good atmosphere.

I would recommend this place to people who like quality, comfort, peace and quiet and great breakfasts.

I would return without hesitation.

Thank you Michelle and Paul.

Lorraine and John

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChattonParkHouse, Owner at Chatton Park House, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your great comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.


Kind Regards


Paul & Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chatton Park House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatton Park House

Address: Chatton NE66 5RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Chatton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chatton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chatton Park House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatton Park House is a beautiful Georgian property nestled in four acres of private, tranquil gardens, the backdrop of which offers uninterrupted views over the cheviots. This elegant house was once the former home of the current Duke of Northumberland, whose family seat is in Alnwick Castle. At Chatton Park, we are dedicated to offering the experience of a Country House Hotel at an affordable bed and breakfast price. Amidst spectacular countryside, offering the perfect base for rest, peace and tranquility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Chatton Park House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatton Park House Hotel Alnwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatton Park House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.