We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and cosseting, almost like staying with friends are sharing their beautiful house to share with you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Locguenole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau de Locguenole to your Saves list
Chateau de Locguenole
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Locguenole, 56700 Kervignac, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kervignac
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Baden Brittany France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Calm and cosseting, almost like staying with friends are sharing their beautiful house to share with you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Once found, it was worth every euro! Such a pleasant reception, tea on the terrace overlooking the water, a very comfortable room and a very interesting table. The little things matter here. The butter comes from the nearby farm, the seafood is very good and very fresh, the personnel are extremely attentive, but discrete. Perfect service! Our last evening we had supper in our room - a delicious creamy soup of scallops and champagne. A perfect memory of a very successful birthday weekend for my husband.

Room Tip: We chose the ground floor as my husband has not been well, so, no stairs! Lovely room, the one in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    34
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
17
66
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

A lovely romantic getaway in October, to this agical place.

Set at the head of a ria (flooded river valley) it reminded us lot of the Helford passage in Conwall.

We stayed in a lovely room with exposed oak exams right up in the gods with stunning views over the sweeping lawns to the sea.

The restaurant is outstanding and absolutely delicious. The food though is extremely rich and quite salty so lots of water to go with your ine nd Calvados.

The grounds have delightful walk down to the sea better to build upan appetite for you goumet dinner!

Room Tip: Go for a basis room in the waves an ke sure you skip lunch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Top Contributor
437 reviews 437 reviews
211 hotel reviews
Reviews in 171 cities Reviews in 171 cities
544 helpful votes 544 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

As other reviewers have said, the hotel is in a splendid position overlooking the estuary and has lovely grounds to walk around. There is also a very nice balcony overlooking the gardens on which to enjoy a glass of wine in the late October sunshine.
Parking is secure and the chateau is a lovely old building with comfortable public rooms.
We reserved two rooms in the attic which were between their standard rooms and their most expensive character rooms. Our rooms were spacious but the abundance of beams, even across the entrance meant you had to take care when entering or, in one of the rooms, even when going to the toilet else you would hit your head and be flat out on the floor!
Internet in the top rooms was temperamental.
Staff overall seemed very pleasant and as a stop off in Brittany you could do a lot worse.
Where do the faults come in? Firstly, I don't expect to arrive at 3.45pm and be told the room isn't ready. The offer of a cup of tea or coffee whilst we were inconvenienced didn't lighten the spirit but I said we would have a glass of wine instead so that soothed the 30 minutes wait to a degree.
The second fault came in the restaurant. The attitude of the staff was fine but, even though we had a fluent french speaker with us, they brought us a starter to share rather than one each as ordered. At approximately £20 for a starter and £28 for a main course, you don't expect this sort of mistake. I wasn't prepared to wait another 30 minutes whilst they made another starter so we shared meaning that my starter consisted of one and a half scallops, or in other words, £5 a mouthful.
The quality of the food was very good but at the prices charged they should not be making basic mistakes leading to a frustrating dining experience.
All in all, it was a pleasant overnight stay but it certainly had its faults!

Room Tip: Seek out the best bargain but it is nice to have the estuary view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is located on the front tripadviser reviews here. I do not agree with this. The location is wonderful, but the equipment for 60 years and has made ​​clear that it was not renewed. The purity can be left to be desired ingredients. We stayed in the attic room. The equipment was poor, impersonal, and it was not clean. The dinner was delicious and the staff is very helpful. However, I think it important to have clarity in the bathroom, as I have candy on my pillow that night.Facilities are a wonderful place, deserves a renovation..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I can't improve upon the review by "GHgrrl", and I agree wholeheartedly with the description of the dining experience. So I will dwell on some of the quirky aspects that prevented me from awarding a fifth star to this establishment featured in the the Relais and Chateau guide. We had a splendid looking "chateau" bedroom. The floors squeaked loudly there, as they did in the corridors, even when treading lightly. Although there is free WiFi, there is not a single electric outlet in our room, so that we had to unplug a lamp to recharge the laptop, cellphone and camera batteries (and you really need batteries, as Brittany is fantastically photogenic). Although there was a large desk in the middle of the room, it was nowhere near any source of electricity at all. There is no air conditioning, and there are no screens, so our bedroom was beset by flies.

Weirdest of all, in our bedroom (with a lovely view facing the water) was the small WC to the right side of the bed, while the bath (with jacuzzi) and sink was in another room on the left side of the bed. In the WC, there was no sink, and not even a waste basket for the ladies' sanitary products. So you must picture the senior male who gets up at night, uses the WC, and then has to walk around the bed, perhaps a total of 25 feet on a loudly squeaking floor, to wash his hands, before retracing his steps (and his squeaks) back to bed. One needs a very tolerant partner. The antique clock in the room was non-functional, and the cabinets were of so-so quality.

We had a two day package and got an upgraded room. For a little more than $500 a night we had room, two breakfasts, and two four course dinners that included a bottle of wine, mineral water and coffee. The food in the Michelin one star restaurant was excelllent, taste and presentation. But, back to "wierd" again, the "menu" (which is what the French call the all inclusive dinner) had no choices, and changes only once a month. It seemed as if we were destined to repeat the previous night's dinner, but the chef created a new meal for us and offered some options as well. Even on the previous night my wife was allowed to substitute a beef dish for the lamb that was on the menu.

During our first night's dinner, we wondered where the constant tinkling of a bell or cellphone was coming from. It was only at the end of the meal that we recognized that when anyone walked on the floor above, the crystals in the chandelier rattled together. On the next night we observed another puzzled couple eventually making the same discovery.

The management was ever present and very courteous and helpful.

So, in spite of the quirkiness, I feel that we had a wonderful experience and, for a featued Relais and Chateau establishment with a Michelin starred restaurant, a lot of bang for the buck (or Euro).

(BTW - it is really in Hennebont, and I was surprised that Trip Advisor didn't list it there, or at least point it to this site from the Hennebont listings).

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if stairs are a problem find out which are the least challenging. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

What a wonderful experience staying at this Chateau. Normally I avoid chain type hotels and prefer to stay in owner operated businesses, but this was an exception. Everything about our 4 night stay was wonderful. Firstly the location is breathtaking, so beautiful overlooking the estuary and surrounded by the forest. The pool is large and well positioned and the grounds are immaculate. The rooms are large (even the smallest) and well appointed. The only problem with our room was that the shower was over the bath which meant that hair washing became a chore. The breakfast room is light and airy with quiet and attentive staff. Breakfast is the typical French continental with fruit, cereal, yogurt, cheese, meats and pastries. Dinner is an elegant affair and truely delightful. I would recommend this establishment without hesitation, and the best part was that it was most affordable -quite surprising given the standard of comfort. I am already planing my return.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake/estuary are the best. Try for a room in the Chateau rather than the manor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and me stayed at the Château for 12 nights in July, a second floor room with exposed beams, it looked out the forest (entrance driver), large room and very good quality of sleep, no noise at all in the night.
Saff very helpful and friendly, especially the two madams at charge of the breakfast, very good choice of breads and breton butter.
Anyway the best of all were the restaurant, we had three dinners there, Olivier is an artist, the plates were delicious, I repeat the cooker is a real artist.
The location is ideal to explore the south of Brittany.
The only bad things were: Wifi connection did not work properly all the time and there are only two kind of beers (Heineken and 1864), I had to buy beers and set them in the Mini Bar.
Besides the squeezed orange juice were not filtered.

Room Tip: If you choose a second floor remember that there is no lifter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de Locguenole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Locguenole

Address: Locguenole, 56700 Kervignac, France
Location: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Kervignac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kervignac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Locguenole 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique in the world: 120 hectares of private forest that overlooks a wide stretch of seaA door leads out to the ocean and a private dock for immediate boarding. Sailing between Lorient and the island of Groix is an unforgettable experience and just one of the many pleasures in store at this historic castle and manor house surrounded by 120 hectares of private forest that overlooks a wide stretch of sea. Helicopter flights over the cliffs of Brittany are also on offer. On returning to the ground, sample the delights of the menu of fresh seafood and Brittany's local produce, followed by a shiatsu massage to finish off a perfect day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau de Locguenole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Locguenole Kervignac
Chateau De Locguenole France/Kervignac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Locguenole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.