We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le P'tit Caprice

Le P'tit Caprice
1 chem Chevres, Vouhe, France
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Vouhe
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We ate there a few days ago. Very, very good.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great menu, excellent quality and very good service made for a very pleasant evening all round! I had smoked salmon followed by duck and husband had kidneys followed by eel. All the dishes were yummy.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    17
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charente Maritime, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Don't believe the hype!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We read all the glowing reviews and decided to go there for our wedding anniversary. All that stuff about Gordon Ramsay is fantasy: " The meal that we ate would put to shame any of the £100 per head expense account restaurants in London, including Gordon Ramsay". Suffice it to say that Mr Ramsay may sleep soundly in his bed!

Alarm bells started to ring when we saw the car park was full of white vans, we pressed on regrdless because we'd driven for over 90 minutes in foul weather to get there. The dining room was full of workmen, which is fine, but we felt a bit out of place and wished we'd come in our jeans. The décor is clean and bright but basic with Gifi style nick-nacks and pictures.

So yet again, determined to celebrate, we decided to go for the 25 Euro menu and chose a scallop starter and a monkfish and squid main. A few minutes later, the waitress returned and said they didn't have any monkfish but the chef would make it with squid only, I decided to go with that and my husband changed his mind and chose steak. The starter was very good and well presented but the mains were very unremarkable. The squid was tasteless, like eating lumps of white rubber in a bland sauce with a few overcooked vegetables for light relief. My husband's steak was tender but served with a dollop of pommes boulangère and a bit of salad. I left most of mine and then we sat and looked at our dirty plates for about 40 minutes until they were finally cleared. Meanwhile all around us were served swiftly and their dirty plates removed pronto, we had become invisible.

We had some cheese which took another 10 mins or so to arrive and then I had an ile flottante, which was good and my husband had profiteroles which were also good. We finished with tea and we drank 3 glasses of Sancerre and a beer.

The bill came to 72 Euros.

Our big mistake was to have chosen the 25 Euro menu, we should have gone for the 12 Euro job which looked very good and presumably we would have got better service. We may return but suitably attired and try the 12 Euro menu, but this is most emphatically not fine dining!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were staying at the nearby Clos de la Garenne in Puyravault and needed an evening meal on the Wednesday. We were not disappointed. This is a gem of a place. The menus are very reasonably priced and there is a very good choice. Everything is cooked to order and it must be good because the locals eat there. The owners are delightful people and the service excellent. It needs a web site, but that may make it too popular! If you ate a meal this good in England, it would be at least double the price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Delicious food and friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Incredibly good food and very good value. We stayed in the charente region for two weeks and this was probably the best and most enjoyable meal. The 30 euro four course menu has lots of choice (bring your menu reader if your french isn't so good!).

The seafood was particularly good - the highlight being a scallop and langoustine "gateaux". Go, find, eat!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Really worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have been eating at the Petite Caprice or several years as our son and his French wife live nearby.
What can I say the place is charming,the food is excllent and the patrons and staff lovely people.
The lunch menu is fantastic value starter,main,cheese, desert,wine and coffee with a chocolate 12 Eruos!!!!!
The evening menus 26.50 and17 Eruosare both good value and the menus are interesting and well prepared.
The little terrace is lovely place to eat but tables are limited so book ahead
We eat here as often as we can 3 times in the last 2 weeks and have never been dissapointed

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le P'tit Caprice also viewed

Aigrefeuille D'Aunis, Charente-Maritime
Surgeres, Charente-Maritime
 
Saint Christophe, Charente-Maritime
Surgeres, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to Le P'tit Caprice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le P'tit Caprice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.