We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“winter fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort to your Saves list
Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort
1771 US Route 201, The Forks, ME 04985   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“winter fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My friends, family andI have been ringing in the new yea at Northern Outdoors for the past four years. The cabins are affordable, clean, and well maintained. The bar, lodge and grounds are also a great time; often offering live music. The lodge has wifi and a small game room, as well as a hot tub and very basic workout room. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell W, Owner at Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Jeanie:
Thanks for staying with us the past four New Year's, we're delighted to have you as our guest and very happy to know that you, your family and friends enjoy your stays with us.

Sincerely,
Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    49
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
62
32
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This was my first guided hunt (and first time hunting in Maine) and Northern Outdoors provided an all around great experience! Everything from the property, the room, the lodge, the food and guide service was outstanding. We stayed in one of the lodgominiums, which were really neat (clean and convenient). I spoke with NO several times leading up to the trip and all of their descriptions were right on! Our guide Jim was especially attentive and our dining hostess Denise was terrific! Staff members Greg, Sonja and Elaine were also extremely friendly and helpful. Although I mentioned that the food was great, let me also say that the on-site micro brewed beer was also outstanding. Although I did not see a deer during my week (did see a moose though), I would love to try again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Went there for a wedding. Everything was wonderful, delicious food, extremely nice, friendly, competent staff. The cabin we stayed in was very nice. On the first floor there was a kitchen, which had everything you could possibly need, nice bar & dining area the living room area had a gas fireplace T. V. and comfortable leather furniture 2 bedrooms & a bath. The loft had a nice sitting area 1 bedroom with a big bathroom that had a Jacuzzi bath tub as well as a shower. Everything was very clean.
Would definitely go again and spend more time there

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

As far as the hunting aspect of the trip, it was beautiful scenery and my first moose sightings while hunting. Although I did not harvest a buck, there was one in camp that someone else got and all I can say is that it was a giant! I had the correct expectations going into Maine for deer. If your looking to see deer behind every tree, stay home. My guide(cant remember his name) was a great guy and did his best to get stands set up and anything we needed. Maine has big deer but they come with hard work, as do all north country deer. You are hunting wilderness not a 200 acre wood lot between two corn fields.. The lodge was very comfortable and had that deer camp feel to it. Our room was clean and comfortable and our beds were made when back for bed time. Food was great and with large portions that I could not finish and I'm a big eater! The place brews its own beer too! I really liked "deer in the headlights". ill give the place another visit next fall.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burley, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Although I did not see any deer I really enjoyed my time at northern outdoors. Food was great company was great accommodations were great made some good friends. Mike the guide tried really hard and did a great job !

Thanks

Dan Gochnour,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed for a weekend in the Cabin Tents. Well worth the money (not expensive at all). So much easier than setting up your own tent and they are much bigger than my tent! plenty of room to park your cars and there is electricity in the Cabin Tents. The bath house was clean and well stocked and had hot water (free). A short walk to the main lodge across the street. So much fun there with the pool, cornhole, arcade, hot tub, great restaurant. Get the brownie sundae dessert you won't be disappointed. The lodge has a great feel to it and it very welcoming. The staff was great and of course the rafting was a blast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Rafting and hanging out with friends was fun. It wasn't until ten days later when I got a letter in the mail saying they charged my credit card $500 for the condition of the room. If you read other reviews you will realize that these are pretty crappy accommodations to begin with.
We didn't leave the room in perfect shape but there was NO permanent damage. When I called Suzie Hockmeyer, the owner, she would not concede a single dollar on the $500 fine. That represents half the cost of the entire trip for no permanent damage to the room.

Sleep on top of the comforters in this dump to avoid a similar situation, or better yet choose one of the other seven companies that do the same thing without bending you over.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell W, Owner at Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We are glad that the reviewer enjoyed his rafting experience. Unfortunately, he felt aggrieved that he was charged $500 for the condition of his accommodation after he had left. In response I would like to offer the following:

Northern Outdoors only charges damage fees in the most egregious circumstances. The group of 6 men left their accommodation a filthy mess. Vomit was found in bedding that had to be replaced, ($100) and the group broke a coffee table ($100). We have a strict no smoking policy in our accommodations, and filtered and “unfiltered” cigarette butts had been ground into the carpet. As stated in our Registration Card and posted in the accommodations, “if any accommodation is found to have been smoked in, there will be an additional charge of $100 per unit per day to the credit card of the group organizer”. (2 nights stay- $200). Also stated in our Registration Card and posted in our accommodations, “If any accommodation requires excessive cleaning (food/beverage smeared in carpet, bedding that has been soiled, etc) the credit card of the group organizer will be billed the additional cleaning charges, and Northern Outdoors will be reimbursed for any loss of use of the property”. We charged an additional $100 for excessive cleaning charges, but we did not charge for the loss of use of the accommodation while the rugs were cleaned and had to dry, and the airing of the smoke- filled accommodation, even though we were in our rights to do so. The total cost of damages - $500.
We emailed the group immediately about the additional charges, but the email bounced, so we sent a copy of the email via U.S. Postal Service which caused the delay in his notification.

We cater to over 25,000 guests annually, many of them wonderful people and who return year after year. The vast majority enjoy their stay, respect our property and those around them. We would end by agreeing with the reviewer that overly rowdy and disruptive guests might be best served staying elsewhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort

Address: 1771 US Route 201, The Forks, ME 04985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > The Forks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in The Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Outdoors is a year-round adventure resort located in The Forks, Maine, only four hours from Boston. The company pioneered Maine whitewater rafting on the Kennebec, Penobscot, and Dead Rivers. Groups, families, and individuals enjoy affordable, fantastic adventure getaways. Relax at the big main lodge, onsite microbrewery, full service restaurant, 28 trailside and lakeside cabins and cottages year-round. Enjoy whitewater rafting, hiking, fishing, ATV trails, team building retreats, university programs, camping, snowmobile rentals and tours, and direct access to miles of trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Outdoors Hotel The Forks
Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort The Forks, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.