We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Mexico...the way I love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Contenta

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Ayala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Contenta
Save
You added Casa Contenta to your Saves list
Avenida del Estero 244, | Riveria Nayarit, Los Ayala 64726, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Los Ayala B&B and Inns
Duncan BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mexico...the way I love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Lin and Jim are hosts extraordinaire. The place is well kept and well-loved by all involved. Other reviews extoll the virtues of the colours and architecture of Casa Contenta and do a much better job than I could. Suffice it to say that even after reading those reviews we were still blown away. Lin's attention to detail is amazing and Jim is the consummate host.

Mexico has many faces one of which if you are lucky enough to experience involves being taken in and made welcome by someone that lives there. Casa Contenta made us feel welcomed and part of the community. A way different experience than one would have hanging by the pool at large resort. Genuine people. Genuine experience.

In closing part of the experience were the other guests. The type of folks that are attracted to Casa Contenta were diverse yet had common traits of our hosts: respectful of privacy and at the same time, inclusive, welcoming and caring. Case in point we arrived late, close to day's end. Long story ending with us arriving without cold beer. Our upstairs neighbour, overheard us mention this to Lin as we checked in. Jim offers us his last beer. I open it, feeling my love for Mexico. I turn around there is our neghbour holding out a cold 6 pack of cold Corona from his fridge.

I loved this place from the moment we arrived. Its rejuvenating nature will be its legacy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linchimes, Owner at Casa Contenta, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your review! Yes, I have to agree with you....Casa Contenta seems to attract caring and interesting guests from many diverse backgrounds. We feel fortunate to spend some time with each and every guest and share our love of Mexico with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sun Valley, Idaho
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stunning artwork everywhere, flower-filled gardens and rich Mexican colors. Everything about our stay at Casa Contenta was perfect. The suites are immaculate. Each one is uniquely and beautifully decorated, has a fully equipped kitchen and private outdoor space. There is a lovely, communal grassy space at the edge of the charming beach for reading in a lounge chair or swaying in the hammock. Jim kindly oriented us on our second day by driving us around Los Ayala, Guyabitos and La Pineta. We became friends with the other guests, had lovely cocktail parties and explored other villages and sights together. We also had plenty of quiet time. Lin invited us to attend yoga classes with her. She and Jim warmly included us on trips to the markets, visits to Sayulita and San Pancho and lunches and dinners in surrounding restaurants. One evening I was tired and decided to stay in, and Lin thoughtfully brought me a container of tortilla soup. Clearly Lin and Jim are respected and appreciated throughout the region for their commitment to the health and rescue of hurt and stray animals. Casa Contenta is a treasure in every way: visually stunning, clean and safe with a warm and friendly spirit.

Room Tip: Loved the decor of the Casita! Would love to stay in the Terrace Suite next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Casa Contenta is a beautiful Mexican style, clean, comfortable, spacious, quiet place to stay, right on a gorgeous beach. Equipped with on-suite bathrooms and fully equipped kitchen. We had a covered deck off of the beautiful Vista Suite, as well as large sun deck with loungers, or go up the stairs to a stunning rooftop, overlooking the ocean. Lin and Jim are great hosts, very friendly and welcoming. Should a problem arise, they take care of it promptly. We only had 6 nights there, but wish it had been longer. I love that they are 'dog friendly' and have (very friendly) rescue dogs of their own. I was able to bring my sweet little Chi. It was great to meet the other nice guests as well. Out of the way of the hustle and bustle, but close enough to walk to everything or grab a cheap bus or cab. We would definitely recommend staying at Casa Contenta, especially if you enjoy peace and quiet. We would like to stay again someday! Thank-you, Lin and Jim for your hospitality!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, B.C.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Casa Contenta is a beautiful little place with lots of Mexican artwork, a beautiful sandy beach and crystal clear water. If you stay at least 30 days you get a very good rate. Jim and Lin are wonderful hosts - they will do anything they can to make your stay more comfortable. Usually upon arriving you will find fresh flowers in your room. They are always planning dinners out with entertainment and little side trips for anyone who wishes to go.

Everything works and if not it is fixed right away. They have thought of all the little things - from bottled water container in the bathroom, lots of electrical outlets, good internet connection, soft beds, nice beach towels. The rooms are cool without air conditioning.

I love to cook and the the kitchen was very well stocked - lots of dishes and pots and pans.

Los Ayala has the basic necessities and Guayabitos is just a $1.00 bus ride or a $3.00 taxi ride away.

You get the peace and quiet and yet you're close to Guayabitos and La Penita for shopping and night life.

We would highly recommend this place and booking quite far in advance.

Room Tip: The "Playa", where we stayed, has a private patio with an ocean view. The room stays very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Casa Contenta is an oasis at a quiet end of a perfect beach. We could hear the waves from our charming Casita Suite, a spacious, cozy and breezy retreat after a day on a lounge chair on the sand. You can't beat early morning walks to the fresh fish vendors on the beach, bobbing in the waves, kayaking and reading, reading reading. We were reluctant to leave and to say good bye to Lin and Jim our anfitriones extraordinario. Besides being good company, Lin and Jim went beyond our expectations to ensure our comfort and full enjoyment of Casa Contenta and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had an amazing time in Los Ayala, and loved our stay at Casa Contenta! It was very convenient to be in our two bedroom suite where each suite had it's own bathroom. The kitchen and gas stove were wonderful to cook with, and although it's nice to disconnect from our phones, we did enjoy having free WIFI!

The beach is literally out your front door - I timed it, from the moment my feet left the door of the suite, to the moment my toes entered the water, was literally 1:15 seconds! I am sure if I ran, it would have been well under a minute! You will love the cool colours, the high deck over looking the ocean (this is where my GF and I did our workouts!), and the safe swimming in the calm waters of the bay, sheltered from the ocean.

I would highly recommend Casa Contenta to anyone looking to get out of the hustle and bustle of tourist dominated places, without foregoing the creature comforts we all enjoy!

We will definitely be heading back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camas wa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Unique pleasant experience. The owners make you feel part of the family. All of the rooms are beautiful. Great beach, modest little town. Much smaller & quieter than other nearby beach towns. Book it way in advance or miss out. PS, the owner, Jim plays tennis & golf and his wife Lin is the consummate host. We miss them already.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Contenta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Contenta

Address: Avenida del Estero 244, | Riveria Nayarit, Los Ayala 64726, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Los Ayala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Los Ayala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful beachfront suites on 1 km. long of a safe, sandy beach perfect for swimming. All suites have hand carved furniture, original works of art and talavera tile along with full kitchens, bathrooms and a private terrace area. Kayaks, bicycles, tennis racquets and beach furniture on site. Free Wi-Fi in all rooms. Complementary laptop and cell phone available for guest use. Smoking permitted on outside patios. Complementary tours of the neighbouring towns, the local market (Tianguis). Parking available. Bird watching, hiking, in-suite massage and yoga classes, available. Los Ayala is a charming Mexican town, located in Riviera, Nayarit with close proximity to Rincon de Guayabitos and La Penita de Jaltemba and only 60 km. north of Puerto Vallarta. There are many amenities including grocery stores, restaurants and transportation nearby. Animal lovers welcome! Well behaved, quiet pets who sleep in their own kennels may be accepted with prior consent.Casa Contenta is a proud sponsor of Jaltemba Bay Animal Rescue (JBAR) ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Contenta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.